We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Jbs Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
LuxuryCollection
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Hotels.com
$121
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Booking.com$123
Travelocity$121
ZenHotels.com$124
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1808)
360
Panoramas (20)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 1,046 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make ITC Sonar their hotel of choice when visiting Kolkata (Calcutta). Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Itc Hotel Kolkata, visitors can check out Birla Temple (2.2 mi) and Sri Aurobindo Bhawan (2.2 mi), some of Kolkata (Calcutta)'s top attractions.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a minibar, and Itc Sonar Hotel makes getting online easy as free internet access is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Travellers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to Barbeque Nation, Mainland China, or Kewpie's. Otherwise, you may want to check out a Mediterranean restaurant such as Whats Up! Cafe, Mio Amore, or Cafe Mezzuna.

Kolkata (Calcutta) is also known for some great history museums, including Indian Museum (Jadu Ghar), Swami Vivekananda's Ancestral House, and Kolkata Tram Museum Smaranika, which are not too far from Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata.

At ITC Sonar, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Kolkata (Calcutta).

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Valet parking
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
36Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
4266Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,583
  • 456
  • 124
  • 49
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tirtha...Earth is heaven wrote a review 5 Feb
2 contributions1 helpful vote
It's a nice property to visit ... Ambience is really too good ... We conducted a event it was successful one ... Thanks to KATHA,TUSHAR,ABHINAB and the ITC family.they were really very supportive..... Would like to visit again .. and will definitely suggest this property
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your recent stay with us and loved the ambience too. Your kind appreciation has been shared with Katha, Tushar and Abhinav to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Souvik M wrote a review Dec 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
ITC experience is always amazing. All COVID protocols followed. Prompt service. Staffs are super friendly. Room was real pleasant. Located in one of the prime place yet it brings you close to nature with almost no sound of the outside world. Food is real good. Must mention about Mr. Bireswar Mondal from housekeeping. He fixed the room in super less time and have been extremely kind. Such a nice gentleman. Thank you soo much. A couple of things that the management may look into: 1. Check in process can be better. I had to wait nearly 30 mins as only 1/4 counters were in operation. In the busy time you got to operate all 4 counters. 2. Orders at breakfast table at Eden Pavillion can be served on time. I ordered something from live counter which never came.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with Bireshwar to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JITEN K wrote a review Jan 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
I had been for a business trip in Kolkata and stayed at ITC Sonar. I must say, that ITC is now a serious competition to Taj. Very much Indian as well as modern. Happy to see that they are taking sustainability quite seriously. Glass bottles instead of plastic bottles in rooms as well as restaurants. Great to see that as an investor and shareholder. Even more glad to see well trained and warmth in their staff. Some brilliant heart touching moments and happy to share staff who went that extra mile - restaurant manager Dinesh, Jyoti, Sneha & Sonali from front office team. They have a wide range of restaurant options, unfortunately I couldnt experience it because of other commitments. Also, it is directly connected to ITC Royal Bengal, another marvel architecture in ITC brand. Hope to stay there during my next visit to Kolkata. Cheers to the team. We'll done!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience at the during your recent visit with us and are happy with the hospitality too. Your appreciation has been shared with Dinesh, Jyoti, Sneha and Sonali to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abhishek T wrote a review Jan 2023
Doha, Qatar25 contributions22 helpful votes
Just like to thank both of them for exceptional customer service. They are very approachable and pay attention to detail inorder to maximise customer experience. Please pass on my regards and im thankful to both of them for the amazing hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience at the during your recent stay with us and enjoyed the hospitality and the services too. Your appreciation has been shared with Debasmita and Mehtab to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mistu S wrote a review Jan 2023
9 contributions
We loved our stay at ITC Sonar Kolkata. Service received from all staff are just 💯. The only flaw was the floor we stayed needs little renovation. The carpets are old abs has west and tear. But the whole ambience and polite behaviour of the staff are just next level. Will definitely come back for a stay again!!! The pic I am sharing is inside ITC ROYAL BENGAL.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your visit with us. Your appreciation has been shared with the team to whom it will be highly inspiring. However, we have also noted the point where you have mentioned about the floor and the carpet and the same has been taken up with the team and necessary corrective action has been taken. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sk Nawaz wrote a review Jan 2023
Pattaya, Thailand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Firstly I was assisted by Sneha Chowdhury, who was very polite and friendly and service was also excellent overall stay was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and if I would have to rate my overall experience then I will definitely rate 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Your appreciation has been shared with Sneha to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandip Kumar wrote a review Jan 2023
Doha, Qatar6 contributions1 helpful vote
A very very bad experience as far I know ITC hotels standout for luxury & delicious food taste. However ITC Sonar, overrated & outdated Five star hotel not worth the price. Worst worst stay of my life. Although it is a 5 star hotel but it doesn’t feel like. I was staying in this property with my family from 27th Oct’22 and had a numerous services related issues with ITC Sonar unfortunately. Restaurant service is horrible & food taste is not upto ITC expectations and the breakfast restaurant is very small with a limited spreads. The staff will tell you that they are at your service, but when you ask for something you need to wait wait and wait. You need to be patient else you will get frustrated. Mr Sujoy from guest relationship team called me with all sweet coated words however after my negative feedback he never came back with the corrective action. We missed the flight due to hotel front office delays in executing my check out despite I informed them 30 minutes before. Lethargic behavior towards customers! Overrated place.. Not at all recommended & hugely disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid completely this particular ITC property not value for money at all !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! We have noted your feedback with great concern and I sincerely apologise and regret the inconvenience caused during your stay. The points mentioned by you have been taken up with the concerned departments for necessary corrective actions and process training and we ensure that the same is not repeated. Assuring you of our best services at all times. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nandini wrote a review Jan 2023
239 contributions135 helpful votes
We a family of 3 were there on 1st January 2023 for lunch to Dum Phukt and needless to say the lunch went as planned and we wanted , all thanks to Binita For lunch , some of the items included were shorba the yellow daal , Kakori kebab with Sheermal , Awadhi mutton and a mixed vegetable in Spinach. A suggestion - the sweetness of Sheermal was a little less. The yellow daal and the Spinach were ok. The Kakori , Shorba and the Awadhi mutton are some things we never tire of and every time each time they manage to retain the flavour and texture - I could die for these 3. We ended the lunch with the Kulfi and Shahi Tukda. Here too , the latter is my favorite dessert . As for the Kulfi, I wish there was a little more of faluda and perhaps the Kulfi cam be cut into 4 pieces when it is served. Service was good and we enjoyed the leisurely lunch.Thankyou everyone for making it so memorablle. A special thanks to the one and only Binita.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your recent visit at Dum Pukht. Your appreciation has been shared with Binita to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phalguni K wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The food served was scrumptious but the highlight was was the courteous staff. Akhtar da was not only a great help in the selection of the meal but was also an enthusiastic host and his passion for food was exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your recent visit at Dum Pukht. Your appreciation has been shared with Akhtar to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaydip D wrote a review Jan 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Exceptional food and even better service. Akhtar bhai and even others are just awesome! They can make the ambience a little different and better perhaps. Its the same for a long long time now. Deserves an uplift I guess! Food - Kakori and Biryani - is great and has maintained the consistency since inception! All in all, I would rate it 5 star! 😊👍
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience during your recent visit at Dum Pukht. Your appreciation has been shared with Akhtar to whom it will be highly inspiring. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Sonar and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Nitin Bahl Hotel Manager – ITC Sonar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$121 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
itc sonar hotel kolkata (calcutta), itc hotel kolkata
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ITC SONAR, KOLKATA - A LUXURY COLLECTION HOTEL (Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Science City (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Avartana, Ottimo Cucina Italiana, and Grand Market Pavilion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ITC Sonar, Kolkata - a Luxury Collection Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.