We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata

Save
Share
1 Jbs Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$134
Travelocity$134
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1370)
Dining (176)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 30/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata
Updated 30/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 1,009 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the cusp of business district & the city, ITC Royal Bengal is an ode to the region's cultural heritage and lineage. It offers 456 rooms & suites, 82 service apartments, 5 dining destinations, 5,630 sqm of banqueting space & a luxury spa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Walking tours
Babysitting
Valet parking
Shallow end in pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
34Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
1776Reviews10Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,586
  • 83
  • 34
  • 29
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shromona wrote a review Jun 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India176 contributions34 helpful votes
This is our second stay at ITC Royal Bengal. I was really impressed upon entering our suite room as it was nicely decorated with balloons for my birthday. However, the moment I opened the vestibule cabinet for the tea/coffee maker section, I was shocked to find a living cockroach there! We killed it and informed the hotel staff immediately, who called the manager Leena who was nice enough to transfer our luggage to a new room. However, this incident left us shocked and disappointed since this is my first experience at finding a cockroach in a luxury hotel, that too while travelling with a young child! The new room was also nicely decorated with balloons and swan shaped towels. They even provided a complimentary birthday cake, which unfortunately was awful! It looked lopsided and was a chocolate mousse cake, but had no flavour whatsoever! I was regretting not purchasing a different cake for my birthday since cakes are a special part of birthdays. Onwards to night time, when the magnificent bath tub was calling my name. I was shocked to find that when I got out of the tub, the entire bathroom had been flooded because the water had somehow leaked from below the tub!! At 1am, we had to call maintenance and housekeeping to fix the problem and mop up the flood! Furthermore,the Grand Market Pavilion always has dirty, turmeric stained dishes and lipstick stained glasses! The hotel is grand and fancy at first sight, but their operation, cleanliness, and hygiene leaves a lot to be desired. The worst part is despite us having such an awful experience, ITC did not provide us with any compensation of any sort for an experience that is bad enough to shut down the entire hotel for lack of hygiene...no room upgrade, no discount or vouchers of any sort were provided. Only a hasty "sorry for the inconvenience!" Overall, this experience has ruined my impression of ITC and I will not be staying there in future, which is a shame because the staff are very nice and friendly. They help solve problems when it is brought to their attention but the fact that such problems are occurring frequently and are going unchecked is problematic in the first place! The rooms are beautiful and spacious with amazing views, the food is also relatively good, the pool is great, but it's the fine details that real make or break a holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Abhijeet wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed in Dec-Jan 2021, its a grand and fabulous property with good services. Plenty of options to dine as ITC Sonar is connected as well. Staff are humble and keen to serve. If it can add a play area for kids, it will become a complete package for family.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Sonar, Other at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Hotels Kolkata and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Hotel Management
Read more
Ria J wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
“Guest mails are not checked immediately? We cannot check if we have recd your NEFT cause bank is closed. You have to pay again even if you have made the payment once” The hotel has a habit of deleting negative reviews. Such harassment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Priyanka biswas wrote a review Jun 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India12 contributions22 helpful votes
I booked it for myself and my son, since check in to check out I met many people from that hotel and all of them are amazing in terms of their service and behavior. I and my son felt like a 2nd home. every person are very helpful. Special Thanks to F&B Team Shantanu who really give special care toward my son. and reception who made my check in very easily. other team members from breakfast and lunch table are also amazing. Thank you so much to make our stay special. will be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Amit wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Excellent facilities and exemplary services. My wife and I are currently mid way through our stay here and thoroughly enjoying every minute. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful with great attention to detail, with the standard of care that is top notch. Extremely impressed. Would highly recommend the ITC Royal Bengal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Highly recommend the serviced apartments.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ashish Tripathi wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
So this review is on behalf of my father who stayed at this beautiful hotel last weekend. He happens to be one of their 2-decade old customer, first ITC Sonar and not Royal Bengal. This is one such hotel that never disappoints you with its hospitality and delicious food. So my father was on a business trip and he was treated so amazingly well that he has again planned for a visit as we were bound to go again due to some Business requirement. Want to take this opportunity to thank Shantanu, Sumeshwar Tumasp and Kaushiki for their amazing service and hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Sudeep C wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions
Impressive structure and the grandeur of the building. The staff are courteous enough and help when asked. The rooms are decent with a good view but the service needs serious improvement. Doesn’t match up to the standards and expectations of a luxury ITC property.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Sutapa C wrote a review Jun 2022
Berlin, Germany1 contribution
I wanted to organise a surprise for a family member's birthday (they are staying at the ITC Royal Bengal) and send them a gift of cake and champagne through the ITC services. They completely botched up the simple order . The cake was delivered along with their complimentary cake and the champagne was not delivered till later. I specifically asked for both to be delivered at the same time, stayed on the phone for an hour to explain what I want and paid a hefty amount for it as well. The incompetent staff at ITC somehow managed to get it all wrong. The problem is they talk more than they listen and have their standard sentences that they repeat over and over again. I am extremely disappointed and would not recommend ITC Royal Bengal for any special occasion at all. Poor management ruins everything.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Akashdip Mitra wrote a review Jun 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India3 contributions
My wife was completely harassed during check-in by one of the ITC Royal Bengal’s managers with various irrelevant and embarrassing questions. I have joined her in the evening. Later, we came to know that our ‘crime’ was “we are locals”. We had to leave the hotel after that poor treatment and non-cooperation. As their Operation Head clarified me very clearly and loudly that ITC Royal Bengal is welcoming business travellers only. More preciously, they are avoiding locals, means residents of Kolkata. If we can ignore their poor in-room dining service, still Kolkata people should avoid ITC Royal Bengal, at least for staying purpose. Based on this pathetic experience, I’m NOT recommending ITC Royal Bengal to anyone, specially resident of Kolkata.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Pradeep C wrote a review Jun 2022
Havelock Island, India1 contribution
It happened; my friend was planning to celebrate his father's 70th Birth day, and I was residing in ITC Royal Bengal. I suggested celebrating the party in ITC Royal Bengal. In the direction of Corporate Chef Vijay Malhotra, the Hospitality and Birthday party has been excellent and has surpassed all my expectations. The staff was very excellent and catered to my every need. The Birthday Cake was impeccably tasted and great crafted, and all the facilities were in perfect working order. The food in ITC Royal Bengal is the benchmark to all luxury and 5-star Hotels in India.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Great Food and Memorable experience
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ITC Hotels, Owner at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience. We deeply value your relationship with ITC Hotels Kolkata and promise that we will never leave any stone unturned to uphold the high standards you have begun to expect of us by ensuring a seamless experience every time. Assuring you of our best services at all times and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Gaurav Soneja General Manager – ITC Royal Bengal
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
456
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata
Which popular attractions are close to ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Nearby attractions include Science City (0.6 km) and Tangra Chinatown (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ottimo Cucina Italiana, Grand Market Pavilion, and Darjeeling Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata have airport transportation?
Yes, ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ITC Royal Bengal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Kolkata?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.