We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Kolkata, India
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Dear all...I have to contribute my great experience about hotel sonar bangla..darjeeling...the location was excellent...room amenities are perfect...bathroom was great with 24 hours hot and cold water(phone required if not).in house food was also good...view from our room was favoulous.the hotel management was also arranged car for sightseen and airport drop. I visit these hotel on 11th march to 15th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RAHULCHATTERJEE1976
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 28 May 2016

Stayed with family for 4 nights, Hotel Sonar Bangla is great place to stay, located near to Mall road and centre of the town. Staff was courteaus and food was also excellent. Room provided to us had pleasent view of Kanchenjunga peak. Recommend for stay in Darjiling

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suchtraveller
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 7 May 2016

The hotel was awesome and room service was fine. The weather in Darjeeling is so cold that fans or air conditioners are not required, even during summers, but heaters are required during winters. The hotel is a 3 star awesome complete family hotel. basic amenities were provided. The view in and around the hotel is quite good. Location is fine,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mv K
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Kolkata, India
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We came to the hotel on a bright sunny morning and were greeted by very courteous staff, the check in process was also very fast and smooth. the rooms were small but cosy. however we never got the chance to see the snow peaked mountains during our 2 night stay. The food was also very good and reasonably priced. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saurav70
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Darjeeling is a wonderful place in summer time. And hotel sonar bangla is a great hotel in Darjeeling. From hotel sonar bangla you can take a wonderful view of Darjeeling.Also rooms , roomservice, is very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rishavsangita
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for the appreciation .We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us . Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Chennai, India
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

As mentioned the hotel is centrally located, which is a big plus. We were disappointed with the facade of the building. There's also confusion because of the name, misleading you into thinking it has some connection to the ITC group. The plus points are the food is great, we were pleasantly surprised, staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PalomaRao
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear guest our hotel is 11 year old now so may be because of that you might have found the facade of the building a little disappointing and also we do not have much of a frontage so not much could be done with the exteriors. But i don't think there is any chance of confusion regarding connection between the...

Reviewed 19 April 2016

We stayed in Hotel Sonar Bangla, Darjeeling from 9th - 12th April. This is my second stay with Sonar Bangla Group with the first being Kolaghat. The hotel is conveniently located near the mall and bang opposite to Glenary's.Our stay was quite pleasant in this hotel. We had booked the Super Deluxe Room through Makemytrip and it was perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debraj m
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for the appreciation .We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us . Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Kolkata, India
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is overall neat and clean .Food is also good. The location of the hotel is a very big plus. But the best part of this hotel is its staff. Very friendly and cooperative. Minus point is wifi is very poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moupiya_Das
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for all the appreciation.We hope that we could make your stay at our property a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again

Kolkata
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This was our second visit to Darjeeling. We took a train from Kolkata to NJP. From NJP we hired a shared taxi (sumo) to reach Darjeeling. We reached a bit late at around 2:30PM. The check in process was very quick and was allotted our room in no time. The room had a nice view, was very clean including the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LikeToTravel79
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay at our property a pleasant one. Darjeeling being a hill station not many hotels have lift specially the ones that are build on the mountain edge like ours therefore due to the restriction caused by the land on which it is built...

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

The hospitality that is unforgettable .... the cooperation that simply ceases to exist in the corporate society .... the service that any hospitality enterprise will envy of .... the reasonableness that enthral any logical mind .... the name is Sonar Bangla, Darjeeling !!!! I had messed with my bookings .... at a peak season time .... I booked in wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank b0udhayan
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for all the appreciation. We are happy to know that we could make your stay at our property a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you give us a chance to serve you again

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
634 reviews
0.0 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#57 of 95 in Darjeeling
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#15 of 95 in Darjeeling
347 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#50 of 95 in Darjeeling
18 reviews
0.5 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: ₹ 2,506 - ₹ 6,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose rooms in upper floors”
AGKolkata, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if someone wants to have a view from the windows, they should ask for 3rd floor above ground”
sumankar34, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“On each floor only 2 rooms at the end of the passage has mountain view”
212tirthac, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms withview of hills and on upper floor”
mrpandeya, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Super Deluxe Rooms on top floor”
CeruleanInn, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5