We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goomtee Tea Garden Retreat

Save
Share
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (9)
Overview
Hill Cart Road 100 m. from Mahanadi Railway Station on excellent road, Darjeeling 734223 India See on map
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
3.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
65
16
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
65
16
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbadminton nettable tennis tableblissful experienceflowering plantscolonial eracalm placewould definitely stay here againsmall libraryspent two nightsvegetarian foodscenic beautytoy trainhome away from homea wonderful staydarjeeling townashokfactory
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We stayed in this tea garden retreat for one day, the stay was absolutely delightful. It is a serene place with beautiful surroundings (unlike the chaotic Darjeeling city). The experience of guided tour to the tea gardens and tea factory along with the tea tasting...More

Thank neham04
Response from JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Goomtee Tea Garden RetreatResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guests, Greetings from Goomtee Tea Garden Retreat ! Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and taking the time out to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We have acquired Goomtee Tea Garden Retreat under the wings of Whispering Palms, having an experience...More

Reviewed 19 May 2018

We stayed 3 nights in the property. Set amidst almost 500 acres of tea gardens. very close ti mahanadi railway station. This is a 2 hour drive from darjeeling and bagdogra aiprort is 2 hours away. So its like midway. Where as Darjeeling is at...More

Thank venke98
Response from JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Goomtee Tea Garden RetreatResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guests, Greetings from Goomtee Tea Garden Retreat ! Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and taking the time out to share your experience on TripAdvisor! As you have rightly mentioned, we have acquired Goomtee Tea Garden Retreat under the wings of...More

Reviewed 23 April 2018

Within five minutes of arrival, we were on the phone, desperately looking for alternative accommodation. The rooms and common areas reeked of mould and damp, as did our bedding. The towels were dirty and smelled, and there was no hot water in the filthy bathroom....More

Thank suzi701
Response from Goomtee, Owner at Goomtee Tea Garden RetreatResponded 28 April 2018

This comes to us as a big shock, as we have never received a negative feedback of such a strong nature in the past. However, it is an eye-opener for us that the property can be perceived in this way as well. As per our...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018

My friend and I stayed here for one night, although we wish we had planned more! It’s a beautiful old house with the original colonial furniture. It was very quiet and had beautiful views out over the estate. Our stay included a tea estate tour...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola E
Response from Goomtee, Owner at Goomtee Tea Garden RetreatResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you so much! We look forward to hosting you again sometime. :)

Reviewed 22 June 2017

I am writing this review to express my gratitude towards excellent customer service received from Ashok (Goomtee Manager/Owner) in handling our booking/cancellation – which does go on to reflect great hospitality in itself. Summary – booked for 5 nights for 6 people for stay in...More

2  Thank fbdxb
Response from Goomtee, Owner at Goomtee Tea Garden RetreatResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for your appreciation.... we would have loved to receive you and assure a memorable holiday, but it was not to be! We look forward to better days.....

View more reviews
About
Description
The Goomtee Tea Garden Retreat is located inside one of Darjeeling's most serene tea gardens and offers an atmosphere of peace, seclusion and natural beauty. It is not a spa or a fancy hotel but a simple and ...More authentic place to enjoy the soothing ambience and glorious tea. Excellent international vegetarian cuisine (including egg items) and minimalism are on offer here. The silence and serenity may not be for everyone but it is certainly for those who are looking for a peaceful and lazy retreat away from all the hustle-bustle of urban life. If one is looking for quaint and old-style rooms and a kind of a throwback to another time (along with the fresh teas at the tea factory) Goomtee is an amazing place to take it all in. The brilliant flower garden, the reading room with its unique collection of books on a variety of subjects, the long hikes, the waterfalls and the drives to scenic spots all come together to create an experience as enjoyable as Goomtee's teas. Goomtee is special because it doesn't try to be what it isn't; it is an old property - very clean, simple and unique, with an emphasis on nature, its teas, service, food and character rather than modern luxury which can be found in every semi-urban location. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$ 94 - US$ 220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Goomtee Resort
Location
India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$ 94 - US$ 220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Goomtee Resort
Location
India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Photos
Traveller (164)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (10)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 110 hotels in Darjeeling
Kurseong Tourist Lodge
95 reviews
1.67 km away
Allita Hotels & Resorts
54 reviews
3.19 km away
Nirvana Retreat
11 reviews
3.33 km away
Cochrane Place
277 reviews
6.27 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 129 restaurants in Darjeeling
Margaret's Deck Tea Lounge
40 reviews
5.93 km away
Samden Tibetian restaurant
16 reviews
13.32 km away
33 Dream Cafe
22 reviews
4.42 km away
Aastha Hotel & Restaurant
6 reviews
4.38 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 110 attractions in Darjeeling
Castleton Tea Estate
9 reviews
1.67 km away
Ambotia Shiva Mandir Temple
8 reviews
1.67 km away
Deer Park
23 reviews
3.61 km away
Gidhapahar Mandir Temple
5 reviews
4.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
th0rners
24 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from suzi701 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Jo, I'm sorry but I cannot reassure you on either matter. We arrived in the early evening to find that the staff spoke hardly any English and consequently it was difficult to make ourselves understood. Sadly, I'm not... More
0
Votes
velaj
4 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Goomtee | Property representative |
Many thanks for your query. I am always available on 09830053900 or Aditya on 09830089023. Regards Ashok
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Best to choose another hotel."
Read review
"Great view, great home cooked veg food"
Read review
"room opening to the garden is recommended"
Read review
"Tranquil atmosphere, all rooms with a hill or garden view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing