We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Darjeeling 734101 India
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (570)
Room & Suite (131)
Dining (39)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 250 in Darjeeling
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

See why so many travellers make Glenburn Tea Estate their hotel of choice when visiting Darjeeling. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a luxury setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Given the close proximity to Lamahatta (2.2 mi), guests of Glenburn Tea Estate can easily experience one of Darjeeling's most popular landmarks.

Guests have access to room service while staying at Glenburn Tea Estate. In addition, Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel offers free breakfast, which will help make your Darjeeling trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Darjeeling is also home to Tamang Buddhist Monastery, a popular architectural building that is not too far from Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel.

At Glenburn Tea Estate, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Darjeeling.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Massage
Gift shop
Butler service
Laundry service
Secured parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
Hindi
369Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 311
  • 38
  • 9
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
2013Travel_Companion wrote a review 15 May
Mumbai, India246 contributions153 helpful votes
Glenburn has managed to get it all right - hospitality, food, location, value for money. All of it. The cost is totally worth it and when they say all inclusive, they are really all inclusive (all meals, airport pick ups, even laundry!). The food is absolutely fantastic, so well presented, fresh and local. All the activities are personal, so well organised. All the staff are trained to help you in all ways, which is pretty amazing. The camp site stay, village lunch, spa - all highly recommended. They have one of the most beautiful well kept gardens with stunning flowers. Highly recommend Glenburn Tea Estate for a relaxing holiday in the hills. The staff is absolutely fantastic and will take care of everything.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Kancenjunga Room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ravi_raghavan wrote a review 9 May
Mumbai, India9 contributions
Glenburn is all that you would expect from a luxury destination .... and more. The location is remote, which makes for a tranquil holiday, and with sweeping views of tea estates in every direction. The majestic Himalayas loom distant, but on the last day of our trip we were woken up with news that the clouds had lifted and there they were! Glenburn takes food very seriously with idyllic breakfasts and lunches in the open, and dinners in the quaint dining room attached to a well-stocked library (which also doubles up as a make-shift bar in the evenings). In all the three days we were there, Chef Sabin Mukhia offered a wide variety of cuisines -- all to high standards. We stayed in one of the rooms of the Burra Bungalow, which was very spacious and comfortable. A sky-light in the roof ensured we were up at the crack of dawn - not a bad thing considering it would be a shame to idle in bed when beautiful views beckon just outside! Andrew was enthusiastic and eager to please and all of his staff are exceedingly well trained to do our bidding! This was one of the best holidays we've had, and we will be back ... hopefully next year!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in the Planter's room. The bed is high and needs a stool to get on to. For the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sajili wrote a review 3 May
1 contribution
+1
Great hospitality , yum food , happy place , beautiful locale , met some lovely people and within 2 days we became the Glenburn gang ! Thanks to Andrew and his team . Just a word of caution for people with a bad back - take your belt along and be prepared for some rock and roll in the last few kms .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Pratim B wrote a review Mar 2022
Tampa, Florida82 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
Heaven in earth! A secluded tea estate near Darjeeling, is serene with great view, delicious food, and outstanding service. One of the best place we spend 4 nights in the world. There are only 8 rooms/suits in 2 banglows, with lovely view. Will go again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Last 30 min of car ride is treacherous. But it’s worth it.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Alan G wrote a review Mar 2022
Epsom, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
Glenburn is an outstanding hotel. The hotel is in an extremely beautiful part of the world. The food is of an exceptionally high standard. The staff go well beyond any call of duty to provide for the guests needs. They are knowledgable and helpful as they are also the guides for the numerous local excursions to Darjeeling, river camp and walks etc. Some of the staff have been working for the estate for 5 generations and they happily put in extra effort with enthusiasm and a smile. The hotel is managed superbly. The attention to detail is clearly a big key and underlying philosophy. I can see why some say this is in the top 100 of hotels of the world. This is not a "Gin Palace"; it does not have televisions in the rooms etc. and therefore would probably not attract the uneducated wealthy. Breakfast is served on a shaded lawn, lunch on another, afternoon tea wherever, and the guests all join together around a large table for dinner. It is here that the true charm of the hotel, its ambience and spectacular setting appears. The last 5 miles down the road to the hotel is over a very bumpy track (all guests are collected from airports etc. by car). Some guests may complain about this. My suggestion is that altough the road is under constant repair, you will never defeat the effects of the huge rainfall during the monsoon, and as global waming kicks in, the extremes will become increasingly violent. Go for the principles of “Resiliance" and "Graceful Failure", as it is likely that each year another gully will wash away a different part of the road. To the hotel owners, I would say don’t improve the road too much. Those “Gin Palace” guests will always complain about the state of the road, will never appreciate the experience of staying at your hotel, the fantastic staff and food and ambience. So keep them at a distance by the means of this entrance portal and the rest of the guests will be happier! So finally, thank-you for providing such a relaxing enjoyable break.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Smallgoat wrote a review Feb 2022
New Delhi, India339 contributions169 helpful votes
The Glenburn tea estate is perched in the shadow of Darjeeling, with fabulous views of the Kanchenjunga from almost everywhere on the estate. All the rooms are in two bungalows, and are beautifully appointed and very comfortable. We stayed in a couple of suites in the main bungalow (Kanchenjunga and the one right next to it) since we were travelling with a baby and wanted to be close to the dining area. The water lily bungalow has smaller rooms with mountain views and could be a great choice for couples or smaller groups. One room in the old bungalow is very, very small. They offer a 10% discount but I feel that isn't nearly enough. I would have been pretty unhappy if I was staying there. The entire day is built around feasts at breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Only dinner is indoors, and you get a chance to meet other guests. Activities include a morning bird walk (my favourite, though the resident ornithologist and chef will apparently not be running these for long), walks to the river, to an orchard, to a waterfall, to a nearby village, and to a sunrise viewpoint, and of course tea tasting and a tour of the factory. Frankly, the best views of all were from the main lawn: we had 6 spectacular sunrises on all 6 days that we were there. The road is indeed horrible, as everyone has already pointed out, and I assume Glenburn must have some very good reasons as to why it can't maintain better roads on its estate. But if you have the stomach (and back) for 45 mins of lurching around, the trip at the end is very much worth the trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Email ahead to ask for detailed room descriptions
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Husna-Tara Prakash, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate
Responded 15 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your review! I am really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you had some clear views and sunrises during your stay. The road is mantained by the goverment and we are sadly at their mercy when it comes to repairs. We have had many "new" roads that don't last more than a year, this time they are trying to do a good job, but its taking a while, and whenever it rains because its partially dug up, it gets even worse. We hope to have it fully repaired in the next few months. Do spread the Glenburn word as we get the nicest guests through word of mouth! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Mona Sehgal wrote a review Jan 2022
New Delhi, India2 contributions
A quaint little resort nestled in the midst of the tea estate is an experience that not many such resorts will provide. Highest level of hospitality is doled out by the team and the resort manager Andrew always eager to make your stay more comfortable. The welcoming rooms are very cozy and comfortable and have an astounding view of kunchunjenga. Food quality and variety is immaculate and personal attention is given by the chef to please each guests palate. The breakfast is served in the lawns and lunch under the pomello tree laden with the fruit. Dinner is served in the main dining hall wherein one gets to meet and interact with rest of the guests Worth mentioning is the hike to the river Rungeet guided by enthusiastic Andrew and the wonderful barbecue lunch served at the campsite. Every moment of our 3 days stay is full of wonderful memories of cookery lesson by the chef, spa sessions , gourmet food , wedding onderful cocktails , hikes and walks in the estate. Kudos to the team and estate owners for managing such a treasure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Husna-Tara Prakash, Owner at Glenburn Tea Estate
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and mentioning our wonderful Andrew, the team and all the special details you enjoyed. Do spread the word to like-minded friends and family, and we hope you will return for another visit.
Read more
VidhyaShah wrote a review Dec 2021
Mumbai, India48 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
Been to GlenEagles in Scotland n the pandemic made me go to GlenBlurn in Darjeeling And I was suprised !!!!! The place is your typical English country home but on a working tea estate surrounded by hills of Darjeeling town n Sikkim which transform into shinning stars on hills at night Waking up to views of snow capped Kanchenjunga n birds chirping . . Enjoying the bed tea tray as you watch the golden sun hitting the Kanchenjunga . . It was Andrew’s first day heading the place n I have to say he was brilliant n made me realise to head boutique hospitality you don’t need fancy degrees or experience of big brands but warmth in your heart n the desire to go the extra mile to create memories for your guests . . . The staff here is warm n their smiles are so endearing . .the food is delectable kudos to their chef . . . But the real gem of this place is their Travel Consultant Siddharth . . I’ve never explored India the way Sid made me do n I have to say every experience is unique n alluring . . He curates trip that wud be itched in your heart forever . . N our 5 nights felt too short as there is so much more to explore . . Cheers
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
D Banerjee wrote a review Dec 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India47 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
We just came back from a wonderful holiday from Glenburn. This place is amidst one of most famous tea gardens of Darjeeling, remote and with magnificent views of Mount Kanchenjunga. The main bungalow is nicely restored keeping the old British charms and the second bungalow is new. The rooms are elegant and comparable with best luxury hotels rooms around the world. The food is again another plus point of the property. During our stay of five stays, the Chef prepared Tibetan, Thai, Burmese, Italian and Bengali dinners and each day was exquisite. The bakery is just awesome and we had our best hi teas outside London at Glenburn. The people makes the difference here with smiling faces and sparkling eyes. All are simple and eager to make your stay an exceptional one. Definitely one of the finest small boutique estates in India and we look forward to coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Varun D wrote a review Dec 2021
6 contributions
A fantastic getaway and highly personalized service & care! From the moment we (my wife and 2 young daughters) reached and received by Andrew till we were seen off to 4 days of lovely memories, it was terrific! Be it the food which is curated based on individual requests, the day trips (hikes, walks, camping) which the Glenburn team (Nisha, Nischal, Luna, Gopi, Krishna & all) enthusiastically took us for, the trip was beyond expectations! At the onset, the prices seemed steep, but our experience would make me vouch that this is more than value for money! Highly recommended and would try and make this an annual break for my family! ** the approach road is not friendly for the last 30 mins but am told this will be sorted soon
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: View of the Kanchenjunga!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
glenburn tea estate hotel darjeeling, glenburn tea estate west bengal
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalDarjeeling DistrictDarjeeling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Glenburn Tea Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Glenburn Tea Estate?
Nearby attractions include Mahakal Temple (7.8 km), Siddheswar Dham (7.6 km), and Tinchuley Village (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Glenburn Tea Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Glenburn Tea Estate?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Glenburn Tea Estate?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glenburn Tea Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nathmull Tea, Golden Tips Tea Cosy, and Sunset Lounge , the tea bar.
Does Glenburn Tea Estate have airport transportation?
Yes, Glenburn Tea Estate offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Glenburn Tea Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tinchuley Village (6.1 km).
Does Glenburn Tea Estate have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.