We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18 HD Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
$180
View deal
Agoda.com
$162
View deal
Booking.com$189
Hotels.com$180
Trip.com$206
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (841)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (77)

About

#23 of 258 hotels in Darjeeling
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Elgin is the oldest heritage hotel in Darjeeling , built in 1887 it was the summer residence of the Maharajah (King) of Cooch Behar. The property was then leased and run by succession of British families the last being Madame Nancy Oakley . It was then acquired by Mr K.C Oberoi of the Oberoi family of Hoteliers fame in 1969 and has been run and managed by the Elgin Hotels & Resorts Chain to this day . The Elgin brand which now owns and operates 4 Heritage Hotels & Resorts in the region of Darjeeling & Sikkim is headed by its Managing Director Mr B.R Oberoi fondly known as Diamond Oberoi .
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
716Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 336
  • 239
  • 70
  • 40
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Enakshi Adhikary wrote a review 11 Sep
1 contribution
Wonderful experience. Very polite and helpful behavior of staffs and delicious food. Amazing hospitality of this hotel really made us happy. Indian, English both types of food items are served in breakfast buffet everyday. Maintenance and cleanliness of this hotel is noticeable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sir, Our heartfelt gratitude to you ! We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback ! Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ADITYA SEN wrote a review Jul 2022
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
Recently stayed at The Elgin Darjeeling and the stay was excellent. Staffs we very keen to help and thanks to the Front Office guys for considering all our requests. Food was very tasty and were prepared as per our requests. Don't know why there are lots of negative comments recently as per me the property was best for the price we paid. Looking forward to visiting here again during December End.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book deluxe room if you prefer that heritage charm.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Sir, Our heartfelt gratitude to you ! We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback ! Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saptarshi wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Went to Darjeeling 26 to 29 May. Stayed at Attic Suite of Tenzing Norgay building of The Elgin. Rooms were good, staff friendly and property was well maintained. Whole city was visible from the room as were the nearby cloud covered mountains. Food menu though limited was excellent in taste. Best part was the child friendliness including food for children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Dear Sir, Our heartfelt gratitude to you ! We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback ! Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rahul Villian wrote a review May 2022
Siliguri, India316 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
A heritage property as mentioned but maintained poorly. The charm and the legacy of the property is lost and does not give that feel. I arrived in May for 2 nights but had a miserable experience. They gave me room 61 which was on top with a back road view. The room was warm and had a weird smell too. Note there was no AC so during a sunny day you are bound to feel warm. The tarrif for me was approx 14000 per night including breakfast. The room was pretty warm, and we wanted to rest. As we opened the bed blanket we saw a large insect crawling. My first action was to snap and video to show them. I asked them for help to mere ignorance and saying nothing found. From ground floor to the highest, the insect will not be at same position.. I was given the room an hour late than mentioned and then 2 hours of harassment for the issue. My only ask was please refund Il checkout. Because for 14000 Rs this was not the experience expected. They were not cooperating with the travel agent Agoda. As a customer I kept making calls to customer care and to Elgin Kolkata office. At Elgin Darjeeling reception, I was told to talk to Elgin Kolkata office with a lady named Sonali and when I called Sonali she says she cannot help and told ask reception. Poor hospitality was displayed. I also asked them to merely acknowledge what has happened they denied that too. It took me 3 hours of my time to charge the travel agent to push for a full refund. Wasted a day of my vacation. I've spoilt my vacations first day and request you not to. NEVER EVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO BOOK ELGIN DARJEELING.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good at 3000 INR and not worth 10000+ per night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Dear Sir ! Darjeeling is a hill station & if you open up the window, insects may fly inside hence we keep the windows close before the guests arrival. On receiving complain from you end, when we inspected, we found that you have kept the windows open. This was not a hotel fault. Moreover, As per your booking policy, the hotel could have refused any refund but as a good will gesture the hotel has cooperated with you by not charging any retention for no fault of the hotel. The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kaustubh r wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
+1
To start with let me first mention that I am actually short of words to shower accolades on The Elgin, Darjeeling. The moment we walked in, the experience started with a very warm and courteous welcome. The welcome was complete with a traditional scarf and a welcome drink. The way they hand over the keys is so polite. Makes you feel good. The front desk staff, the bell boys, and the dining room staff was amazingly polite, and one could sense that they want you to feel comfortable and feel at home. The rooms were spic and span and meticulously maintained. The colonial archtecture has been preserved, with a blend of modern amenities. Small things, like an umbrella in each room, vouches for the thought they have put in. We had opted for the premium room, with an all meals plan. The premium rooms are located in the Tenzing Norgay Block. The corridors are decorated beautifully with antique colonial artefacts and many photos of Sherpa Tenzing Norgay. The rooms are large. The upper rooms overlook the valley. Ours being on the ground floor did not actually have a very great view The property is located in the heart of the town. The Chowrasta is just a 2 to 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The Mall market is on the way to chowrasta, and the Mahakal market just on the other side of Chowrasta. The railway station is around 15 minutes walk down hill. So one actually does not need a vehicle to reach the city centre from the hotel. The food was excellent. Breakfast and Dinner are set Buffet menus, where as for lunch they prepare as per order. Food was delicious with perfect blend of spices. The service was exceptionally fast and always with a smile on the face. I would like to make a special mention of Mr. Ashok and Mr. Suman amongst the dining room staff. They catered to each and every requirement with a warm smile The car park is relatively small with space for around 3 to 4 cars. But given the fact that it's the hills, one can't expect more. The courtyards were clean with pebbled pathways, pruned grass and beautiful flower beds. There are 2 sitouts where one can just relax, have tea, coffee or a drink and chit chat. All in all it was a great stay. I would highly recommend this property for a grand stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Dear Sir, Our heartfelt gratitude to you ! We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback ! Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJ310B wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India98 contributions30 helpful votes
Got locked out my room on the second night. It took me 2 trips from the topmost floor of the annexe building to the reception to get the problem sorted!!! Why is there no means of communication placed in the passages to the reception? Also found the fire alarm isolated for 2 zones at the reception. Shocking and unsafe !!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Unfortunately, the noise from outside at night is too much in the annexe building. Perhaps a room...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Sir / Madam ! First of all I would like to apologise on behalf of Elgin team ! I have shared your feedback with our team members and we will take the necessary steps to make amends and I apologise for the same. Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tamsin wrote a review Apr 2022
Guwahati, India280 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
This beautiful heritage property belonging to the Maharaja of Cooch Bihar is the perfect space for a cozy enriching stay at the heart of Darjeeling. The staff are courteous and give you the best services. The premium rooms are opulent and the dining hall vintage. Plus point is that Mall Road is just a 5 minute walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Sir, Our heartfelt gratitude to you ! We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members. Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
abhishek10482 wrote a review Apr 2022
New Delhi, India151 contributions72 helpful votes
Everyone knows abt Elgin in Darjeeling, thus safe to say it’s a landmark and pretty old but still well maintained. Wooden flooring is something one needs to get used to. Rooms are ok in size with only left side rooms having city view so choose wisely. Food is good but service at restaurant is slow to arrive
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 9 Apr 2022
Dear Sir, Our heartfelt gratitude to you ! We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members. Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nandita N wrote a review Mar 2022
17 contributions13 helpful votes
We were extremely disappointed checking in to this hotel. The reception area ,the dining area ,the rooms are so old, so dirty,and could see cracks here and there. The toilet is so small n shabby. The towels n bedsheets are so bad. The food is horrible. Serving dishes too had cracks. .. Worst thing is the management pictures put in trip advisor doesn't match with reality. Total cheat. We had to change the hotel after one night stay. Thank god we changed n carried away some good memories from Darjeeling. Would recommend everyone not to visit this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Keep Elgin as last option.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Madam ! First of all I would like to apologise on behalf of Elgin team ! I have shared your feedback with our team members and we will take the necessary steps to make amends and I apologise for the same. Once again we look forward to serving you again ! The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sanjudiwan wrote a review Mar 2022
New Delhi, India84 contributions87 helpful votes
Building of hotel is well maintained.Rooms are spacious Approach & location is very good. Mr. Badal is very helpful. But food is of very low taste even the staff in dining area is like of stupid & slow. Buffet at breakfast & dinner is not like of 5 star with limited choice.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear Sir ! We apologise earnestly that we could not meet your expectations as all our rooms were booked at the time and we couldn't allocate a room with a view to you . I have also spoken to my service team with regards to your complaint. I assure you that these shortfalls have been looked into and will not be repeated . The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one . My Warmest regards, Mr Badal Majumdar, General Manager, The Elgin , Darjeeling, Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227 Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177 The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300 Email - reservations@elginhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elgin darjeeling hotel darjeeling, elgin hotel darjeeling
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalDarjeeling DistrictDarjeeling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Elgin, Darjeeling
Which popular attractions are close to The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Nearby attractions include Mahakal Temple (0.2 km), Happy Valley Tea Estate (0.4 km), and Observatory Hill (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sonam's Kitchen, Tom & Jerry's, and Himalayan Coffee.
Does The Elgin, Darjeeling have airport transportation?
Yes, The Elgin, Darjeeling offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Elgin, Darjeeling located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Darjeeling.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Elgin, Darjeeling?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Elgin, Darjeeling offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Elgin, Darjeeling?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.