Hotel Himalayan Retreat

Hotel Himalayan Retreat

Below Bhanu Bhawan Near Ncc Office Near Chowrasta, Opposite Kenil Worth Police Guest House, Darjeeling 734101 India
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 71 small hotels in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
A place described as the 'Queen of Hills', Darjeeling itself is a very unique place a heaven in the earth with a beautiful snow covered mountains and the Jewel of British crown Hotel Himalayan Retreat
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Nepali

Location

Below Bhanu Bhawan Near Ncc Office Near Chowrasta, Opposite Kenil Worth Police Guest House, Darjeeling 734101 India
67Reviews5Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 10
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Simin997 wrote a review Oct 2022
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A highly recommended hotel, specially for Muslim tourists as they have halal and finger licking good food. The stuffs were very amicable and hospital, specially Mr.Halim, who was constantly at our doors. I would ask anyone and everyone to stay at this hotel to experience proper vacation with eye-soothing views. A 5🌟 for Hotel Himalayan Retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anindya C wrote a review Mar 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Himalayan Retreat. Location is absolutely perfect for easy access to Mall as it is very near to Bhanu bhawan and Mayfair hotel.
The service provided by MD Khurshid was excellent.
The hotel also arranged for sightseeing at nominal rates. Would recommend to come here and stay in Darjeeling.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try to get a room in 1st floor or 2nd floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shubhankar K wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel seems small in size but packs a big punch. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The location is close to market and main Chaurasta area. The food is tasty. Mr.Halim is a hospitality champion. He took care of us right from day 1 and ensured that we had a pleasant stay. We had to wake him at 4 somedays due to our sight seeing or airport transfers but he never complained and helped us with a smile. He even packed us breakfast on the day of departure as it was too early for us. A big thank you to Mr.Halim and team. Would love to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking for personal vehicle might be a challenge here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vijayendra Mishra wrote a review May 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s not a 3-star hotel but rather a lodging service. Location is way too congested to travel to other parts of city. The Manager Bikash is not a man of his words. While checking in he confirmed that he would refund for one night out of 2 as the room he provided to us was not good but later refused to do so. We checked out of the hotel within few hrs of checking in due to this fake promise and pathetic makeshift rooms. They showed us 2 rooms one which was in the middle of construction debris on the terrace on 4th floor with no lift. Other room was behind the dining area in basement where I guess their janitor / housekeeping staff resides in non peak season. Worst part was the cheating nature of the front staff and manager. Not recommended at all!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Do not book, save your hard earned money and time.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bikash Chhetri, General Manager at Hotel Himalayan Retreat
Responded 29 Jun 2023
Dear Sir, Warm Greetings from Hotel Himalayan Retreat !!! Thankyou for your feedback, we would like to inform that we did not charged one night to your agent, so for the refund purpose please contact your travel agent from where you have made the booking. Regards BIKASH CHHETRI
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Achelliss wrote a review Sept 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went there during the offseason 0f late October, I am going to point out the pros and cons
Pros
1. 247 hot water
2. Spacious rooms
3. Clean linen
4. Good food at the restaurant
5. Helpful staff ( specially Ashish, you can give him any work and he will do it in a whim )
6. Great manager
Cons
1. Hotel located in low gradient, so to reach hotel you have to go down a hill
2. No view of kanchanjangha from hotel.

Overall i can give it 4 out of 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joydeep Chaudhuri wrote a review Nov 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst hotel in Darjeeling. Ridiculous room service. You will have to wait for hours before check in. Before check out, you'll have to be chased to check out quickly. Room service is horrible. Even a cup of tea is not available. Never ever book this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashok G wrote a review Sept 2022
North Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A boutique hotel within walking distance of the Mall. Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms could be better as the shower area does not have any curtains making the entire floor wet. Staff are just amazing - helpful and responsive to your needs. Ashish, in the restaurant was amazing amd provided excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Payel M wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice experience! Walking distance from the Darjeeling mall and all main attractions are near. Rooms are clean with cozy bed. Room service is good. Food quality is good. People are very helpfull in the reception. We would love to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ravindra V wrote a review Oct 2022
Hyderabad, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a room with a balcony. The room is of decent size. The staff is very helpful. Food is served to the room and is good. The hotel is located in a narrow space. Do not miss Kanchenjunga viewpoint located at just 10 mins walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rohit m wrote a review Dec 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Darjeeling and stayed at Himalayan Retreat hotel. The hotel was nice specially Mr.Halim who was room manager was very nice. Mr. Halim behaviour was very good and very friendly.He guided us all through our stay at Darjeeling.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shweta bara asked a question Dec 2018
New Delhi, India16 contributions2 helpful votes
What is cost of extra bedding?
Answer from Mohit S
2 contributions
They charge very nominal, but don't know the exact amount
Nilima G asked a question Feb 2018
Mumbai, India263 contributions99 helpful votes
Can car come till the hotel?
Answer from Abhishek S
1 contribution
yes thr is sufficient space to drop by car but u hav to park ahead
Pavan2212 wrote a tip May 2023
Hyderabad, India335 contributions88 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take room in 1st Floor only"
Read full review
Vijayendra Mishra wrote a tip May 2023
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book, save your hard earned money and time."
Read full review
Anindya C wrote a tip Mar 2023
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room in 1st floor or 2nd floor."
Read full review
Shubhankar K wrote a tip Dec 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking for personal vehicle might be a challenge here."
Read full review
sudeep912 wrote a tip May 2019
bangalore401 contributions139 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"corner rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Darjeeling area.
PRICE RANGE
₹3,928 - ₹5,850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalDarjeeling DistrictDarjeeling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HIMALAYAN RETREAT (Darjeeling) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Himalayan Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Kanchenjunga Mountain (0.2 km), Mahakal Temple (0.1 km), and Himalayan Mountaineering Institute (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grains By Udaan Nirvana, Darjeeling, Himalayan Coffee, and Nathmull Tea.
Is Hotel Himalayan Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Darjeeling.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Himalayan Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rabindra Bhavan (13.3 km).
All Darjeeling HotelsDarjeeling Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DarjeelingHotels near Hotel Himalayan Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire