We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa

Save
Share
Chamong Tea Garden Pokriabong, Darjeeling 734216 India
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (334)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Updated 13/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 254 hotels in Darjeeling
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Some of the world’s most breathtaking retreats are far from sea level. A getaway nestled in a valley amidst the beautiful Himalayan ranges, that offer visitors picturesque views and a quiet respite away from the hustle of everyday life, is undoubtedly a traveler’s paradise. Perched atop a serene cliff, Chamong Mountain Retreat and Spa is one such Darjeeling luxury resort which offers the best to its guests in one of the world’s most stunning mountaintop locations at an elevation of 4800 ft.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
101Reviews8Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vinee P wrote a review Jun 2022
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Absolutely terrible... There is no proper road leading to this resort. Once we got there the whole place reeked of menthol balls which is very dangerous to health. The views were beautiful but not worth the terrible road. For senior citizens it is too much of a climb to go to the dining room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. We regret to hear that your experience as you mentioned, at Chamong Chiabari Mountain Retreat did not live up to your expectations. Hence, we have taken good note of your feedback and scrutinized it thoroughly. As we have informed your travel agent about the approach road condition of the tea estate before our estate and checked with them if they require a expert driver for your pick-up as all drivers are not comfortable driving inside tea estate roads. We have also raised and resigtered these concern several times with the hills admistration where they finally decided to repair the road condition at their earliest. We have also informed our room positions and our resort layout to your tarvel agent but they want only one big room for your family of 4+1. If they have ever mentioned about a senior citizen we shall not offered you the same family suite room. After you reached the resort and as we found you were accompanied with senior citizen, our team has offered you "in room dining" and we prepared special food without onion and garlic as per your order and requirements. The team has also informed you that they shall shift you to the Bungalow rooms at dining room level after one night as we do not have those rooms free on that particular period. As we are inside a bio organic tea estate, we cannot use certain pesticides/chemicals as they might contaminate the crops. Hence we have to keep certain amenities inside rooms to keep it fresh and pest free for your comfortability during stay with us. Our team has also informed you the same and offered you that they shall re-sanitize the entire room after removing the menthol balls from the cupboard drawers. Honest feedbacks are always important to us as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide all our guests. We are sure that you should have enjoyed your stay with our hospitality, delicasies and serenity if you haven't taken a decission of leaving the property within an hour time after reaching. We still look forward to host you again in future so that you can experience a "True Tea Tourism" with us.
Read more
Rajesh S wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Great place and one of the best heritage properties to visit. staff is caring. Excellent service. make us feel homely. Cudos to the management to have such trained staff. Excellent food. Chef Mahendra at his best. Property has been mantained in excellent condition. Just one minor suggestion: To increase hot water gyser capacity in all the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All 4 rooms are well mantained and in best condition.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with our Heritage property, Tumsong Tea Retreat during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team Tumsong for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable, hence we have noted your recommendation about geyser capacity. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope to receive your experience about your stay at Chamong Chiabari Mountain Retreat also. We are confident that you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong group of resorts
Read more
M Raghu wrote a review Jun 2022
Bangalore District, India57 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Entire team is service oriented and they go to any extent to take care of Guest. Though this is a leisure resort, they ensure they provide everything we need for day long meeting. Cant stop to mentioning, food is really awesome and you will miss once you are back. The entire team is really really good and for them Guest really come first. People with travel sickness need to watch out, some travel will be really pain staking and time taking. Rooms have all basic amenities, since the resort No fertilizer use resort, you need to watch out of centipede etc. Overall its a safe, pleasant place. Minimum of Two nights of stay is required
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try and get the valley view rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong group of resorts
Read more
Mridu wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
+1
I really loved this property .. Its far away from Darjeeling main Mall Road.. which i never want to visit again as it was too crowded .. but this was heaven .. we were living in middle of tea gardens .. so peaceful and beautiful ❤️❤️ .. looking forward to visit again 😍
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong group of resorts
Read more
DR NILANJAN D wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
We visited the place from 26th to 28th May, 2022 (2 nights stay) in Chamong Chaibadi. I do not want to lengthen my review. Overall, the experience was lifetime and celestial. The hospitality and food were excellent. I should mention Mr Praveen, Shubarna, Mukesh and team for their affection and concerns regarding every minute details. The chef was very mindful of our eating habits and took personal consideration of our cuisine. It is nestled in the midst of untouched nature, away from civilization. Only 2 suggestions: to have a small cozy gym overlooking the mountains and to have a kids' play area. It is very difficult to have appetite for such delicious food without workout. Lastly, you must pay attention to the road leading to resort. It is scary while it is raining. I AM SO VERY SATISFIED WITH YOU.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 201, 202, 203
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong Chiabari group of resorts
Read more
Bharat S wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India7 contributions2 helpful votes
20, 21 and 22 may 2022.Pathetic and absolute frauf, paying INR 25,000 rupees a night for a room with a tub and hot water geyser capacity is hardly 2 litres. So paid 75,000 for 3 nights without a proper bath. Bharat Sharma, Advocate and Solicitor.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. We regret to hear that your experience as you mentioned, at Chamong Chiabari Mountain Retreat did not live up to your expectations. Hence, we have taken good note of your feedback and scrutinized it thoroughly. Honest feedbacks are always important to us as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide all our guests.
Read more
Nisha S wrote a review May 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India38 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
The visual delights, comforts & quality of service far surpassed the expectation with which we returned to the Chamong Chiabari Tea Estate, Darjeeling. We were even more surprised at the quality of all the items we ordered from the extremely well-curated menu. Honestly. we were ready to accept a slight compromise in the quality of food given the post-pandemic re-opening but were very pleasantly surprised to find that all items were ambrosial!! One must order the Egg White Omelette for breakfast & definitely the Gulmohar Kebabs, Veg Momos and Caramel Custard during meal times. The service staff whose immaculate attention elevated our experience matched the heavenly location of Chamong Chiabari. I spent a lot of time reminiscing at the quaint old Shiva Temple which helped me consolidate my thoughts which were especially disturbed during the whole pandemic episode. The only thing which I have overdone was packing my bags with multiple packages of their incredible exotic Tea collection: Rosè, Tulsi, Kahwa, 1st. flush, which was all served during our stay. Leaving today very well rejuvenated with a sense of fulfilment and looking forward to returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Chamong, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong Chiabari group of resorts
Read more
Sanjukta Ray wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
A beautiful resort nestled in the lush green Chamong tea estate, calm, serene, picturesque and pet friendly. Spacious room, sumptuous food and excellent service. A small glitch when we were asked to shift to another category room type on the last day of our week long stay, inspite of our prior booking to a higher category room type. The approach road leading to the resort needs better maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Chamong, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Chiabari Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong Chiabari group of resorts
Read more
bishnubajaj wrote a review Jul 2021
Kolkata District, India78 contributions21 helpful votes
A must visit for person who want to explore National Beauty . Awesome hospitality . Superb food . Manager - staff all are great . They made our trip a great one . Kids friendly . Manager Mr. Ahmed was always available to make the trip great one . Chef got a great hand on goods .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Chamong, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 6 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Chiabari Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards General Manager Chamong Chiabari group of resorts
Read more
Hemanta Bhattacharya wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Visited this place on 24 n 25 April,21 for a wonderful stay. I stayed at the nice suite facing the garden with adjoining balcony. The staffs are amazing as they take care of the visitors with choicest menu in food. The food was stupendous, as I had all the meals. The factory tour was an eye opener. The surrounding Himalayas was great n the resort was right inside a tea estate. I would definitely recommend this resort for complete Nirvana with their lovely tea!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from Chamong Chiabari Group of Resorts!!! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us. We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$290 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalDarjeeling DistrictDarjeeling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Sumendu Lake (7.6 km), Simana View Point (4.0 km), and Gopaldhara Tea Estate (8.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Samden Tibetian restaurant, Nesang's Gorkha cafe, and Hotel Annapurna.
Does Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.