We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
57 Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)

About

#76 of 232 in Darjeeling
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are an old an established hotel centrally located yet far from the crowd with spectacular views of the mountains and surrounding hills.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
Hungarian
34Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 13
  • 5
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Prasun Mondal wrote a review Sep 2018
Bankura, India91 contributions80 helpful votes
I stayed here for 2 nights with friends and family. On the Contrary to the negative reviews, my stay in the hotel was quite pleasurable. We was traveling with our own car, and parking in darjeeling can be a nightmare for tourists. We found this hotel 5 mins away from the main market. The owner was very courteous. He helped us with the parking. The rooms were pretty large and spacious. The rooms were pretty well maintained as well. Bathrooms were clean and large enough. Although water was avail 24 hours. the geysers do not work all night. ( usually water is not needed in the night), but they are turned in at 5 or 6 in the morning. We did not try the food. One thing which could be improved was the lighting of the rooms. although the lighting seems to be designed as per the room decor, but still not sufficient. Specially in the bathroom and dressing table area. There are huge glass windows with provide sufficient light during the day, but in the evening the lighting seems to be dim. Other than this, a pretty good property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: good views, good location,
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sassikala wrote a review Jun 2018
Chennai (Madras), India72 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
Stayed there during high season, when Darjeeling is packed, so my preferred choices had already sold out. Which means you have to go for what is available - and the Pradhan was. I know now why! We were 6 people in 3 rooms of which none was good - and mine the worst. The carpet worn and dirty, as everything in that room. The bedsheets hadn't been changed for sure and we asked for fresh ones. Better hadn't since then we saw what the pillows looked like without their cases.... The wardrobe door hanging out its hinges and the bathroom an experience in itself: A sink without a clean for don't know how long, the same with the mirror and the shower curtain solidly black/brown 10 inches up from the floor. The dirty traces down the wall from the towel hangers... well, look at the pictures, Outside the room (on 2nd floor) was a glass patio where the staff were washing and drying their clothes. Well, they had to as quite obviously not much care is given to them by the managment either. A night 'receptionist' sleeping on the floor behind the reception (as the place assigned to him) was just one indication. How can I expect proper "guest care" from staff if they are "cared for" like this? The motorbike next to reception and staircase was covered more carefully than them, it seems. Nevertheless the staff were almost all friendly and trying to assist with what was needed. Such as an opening of the shutters at 10pm or 5am, since the place gets solidly locked up. Very inviting! Or not??? On the positive side it must be said that the location is good on Gandhi Road, and some rooms and spots offer a good view of the mountains. Provided the weather is clear. Which it was - unlike this hotel: rather dark, damp and sinister. Not my recommendation! NB: At least they lowered the tariff a bit after complaints. But even that was still too high for what one gets.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 13 Jun 2018
We are sorry you did not have a good experience with us, we will look into the matter regarding the room. We do take all feedback very seriously. As you have correctly pointed out Darjeeling was packed and we were overbooked and there being no time between check outs and check ins guests like yourself were Inconvenienced. A night guard sleeps behind the counter to assist any guests at night and open the shutters. He sleeps in a proper bed during the day well covered just like the motorcycle that you mentioned. We do care about our staff contrary to what you have to say or think. I wish the same issues were brought up during your stay where we might have been able to help you/ shifted you instead of a just giving you a discount during the peak tourist season.
Read more
Sanjeev S wrote a review May 2018
4 contributions
I booked this hotel from Yatra.com. Booked 4 rooms at fairly good price. To my surprise, the hotel Manager was not even aware of my bookings. Owner prefers playing tennis rather than serving customers. Came to know after 1-2 hrs that they don't have 4 rooms and can only provide 2. Thos was poor communication between Yatra and hotel, which was never told to me. While hotel had communicated about unavailability of 1 room to yatra, they failed to arrange or communicate to me till I reached hotel on day of check-in. This is the level of unprofessional attitude shown by the owner and the manager. I was at their mercy to get rooms, which was ultimately provided in parts. Thereafter, the exorbitant price of the food provided by hotel should be avoided. Water is scarce and u would be lucky if u get hot water. Highly disappointed and won't suggest others to consider this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, Owner at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 3 Jun 2018
Mr. Sanjeev , Thank you for your feedback which is a little surprising and unfair as you were accomodated even after we had conveyed way in advance that there was NO AVAILABILITY of rooms for your booking to Mr. Subhrojyoti of Yatra , you did get all 4 rooms. My playing Tennis should be of NO concern to you as I have staff to look after my Property and serve you , which they did We do get mixed reviews as we cannot please everyone although we try and we are always open to suggestions , but in your case as I was there in person to resolve the issue I feel I need to put the records straight , We had told Yatra that we did not have accommodation available for your booking of Four Rooms, due to the heavy rush of tourists , however as they could not get accomodation anywhere in Darjeeling and after repeated requests by Mr. Subrojyoti the BD Manager of Yatra , we agreed to accept the booking for two or three rooms which he agreed to and said would inform the guests accordingly. Our Check out time as in most Hotels is 12:00 Noon which is BOLDLY DISPLAYED at the reception as well , however you arrived at the Hotel at about 9 or 9:30 am , you had to wait a little as the guests had not checked out , I met you a short while later and explained the situation and allotted you two rooms immediately , seeing you had ladies and children and after your return from sightseeing your were allotted two rooms subsequently. Darjeeling suffers from an acute shortage of water which is no secret and messages are displayed in all our bathrooms even then we have running water and have sufficient underground storage and in the event the overhead tanks getting empty we pump water into them. You had 13 Members staying in 4 rooms including children. We have individual geysers in every room , however when three / Four people stay in a room the geyser will take time to reheat as we do not have instant geysers so a little patience is required . Our FOOD price is low in comparison to Hotels of our standard and around our area which can easily be verified , however we cannot comment or compete with roadside vendors who do not have overhead costs or Licences . We are in the business of making sure no tourist gets inconvenienced and are made comfortable and we took your booking in good faith but thanks to your review we will have do a review of our good intentions too.
Read more
Suparna M wrote a review May 2018
6 contributions
Worthless hotel and worthless staff. No facilities available. Staff is non cooperative. Water was not available for a long time. No proper lights. Shabby rooms. Towels and bedsheets not cleaned properly. No kitchen of their own. They bring food when ordered from a down graded dhaba and price is high compared to other places. Rude and worthless staff. Don't be cheated by the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, Owner at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 30 May 2018
Thank you for your review and I'm glad we get to share our side of the story as well . Guests travelling to Darjeeling need to understand that the town suffers from an Acute water shortage during the season time and water has to be purchased through Tankers which are allowed to ply from 7 p.m to 7 a.m . We ensure all our Linen is changed before the arrival of guests and if there any issues regarding the Linen , one request and it is changed immediately , after all we do understand Guests check into Hotels to sleep and use the facilities , our views are an extra bonus. We have a specialised Caterer who supplies the food to ensure that guests get good food. . We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but we wish you had bought up these issues during your stay so that we could have tried to make you and your family more comfortable.We are aslo aware that we cannot please everyone and wish guests would talk to us during their stay as the Internet is wonderful place where people can take solace behind a screen and write just as they wish but there is very little we can do to rectify issues after a guest checks out. However we would be happy to host you again complimentary during the off peak time . Just a small question without meaning any offence - We just had a guest check out yesterday who was rude , abusive and threathened and almost hit one of our staff because there was a delay in the water being heated in the Geyser ? We just hope you are not him writing under a different name?
Read more
Dr Anshuman Das wrote a review Oct 2017
Kurseong, India, Asia1818 contributions180 helpful votes
Located centrally. Near the old Everest Hotel. My brother in law Sajid always stays at this place while in Darjeeling. (Him being an ex student of St Paul's). I loved the rooms with good views of the Kanchenjunga range. The service is prompt and the staff are courteous. And it's always great to meet my colleague Dr Pradhan (pathologist) whenever I visit this place. I believe he is one of the co owners.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, General Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind words and we strive to give our best as every Paulite is taught.
Read more
Purrplehaze wrote a review Aug 2017
New Delhi, India22 contributions
It is located in the Mall Road, a short walk from the main market area. It's a plus point that the hotel is situated away from the hustle and bustle of the busy market area. Spacious and clean rooms with stunning views of the Mt. Kanchenjunga, was a pleasure waking up to this gorgeous view. We stayed here for 3 nights, had booked 2 rooms for a family of 5, the manager provided us with extra bed upon request. Service was good, they provided clean linens and towels, staff was helpful with any queries we had. Next to this hotel there is a place called The Revolver, Beatles themed restaurant their food was exceptionally good, north-eastern delicacies a must visit for hunger pangs. We had a lovely stay at Hotel Pradhan,will be staying here whenever travelling to Darjeeling.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, General Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 15 Feb 2018
We thank you for your comments and look forward to having you with us again
Read more
Haina2015 wrote a review May 2017
Guwahati, India25 contributions8 helpful votes
A very old one located 1.5 km from Mall Road, away from the hustle and noise of the market. If you look at the rooms only, then this hotel is a very pretty, cozy and decent one to stay in. But I am giving an average rating because of cleanliness factor. The rooms looked clean but not the blankets and bed sheets. Otherwise the rooms had a very scenic view of beautiful Darjeeling Hills. Also must say they have a very helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, General Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Thank you for your feedback and yes we are a very old and established hotel, we boast of having one of the best views of the mountains and Darjeeling. We have looked into cleanliness and thank you for your feedback once again.
Read more
Charushila B wrote a review Mar 2017
1 contribution
Me and my mother stayed in Hotel Pradhan, Darjeeling for 2 days. The hotel is well furnished and has a very elegant look. The rooms were clean and spacious. The service was also excellent. You should definitely choose this hotel if you are visiting Darjeeling.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, General Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Thank you soo much for your kind words
Read more
phoenixsandy wrote a review Oct 2016
kolkata8 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed in this hotel for 4 days ...but service of the staff is not friendly... Although rooms are spacious with view of Kanchenjunga summit(if no clouds)...but this u will get in other better hotels also...they provided only 2 towels in 3 days...even gave lame reasons for not giving...bedsheets not changed once also in 4 days.. horrible house keeping..lights not working..didn't provide candles when there was blackout...no generator/invertor backup... manger's behavior is rude..old fashioned TV, water heater...no room heater...no in-house restaurant...only word comes in my mind ... BAD BAD BAD!!!!!... checkout other hotels before going for this one...or choose this at your own risk... gud luck
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, General Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Firstly our apologies for the late response as we had some password issues. Sir we are sorry you had such a bad experience, the whole of Darjeeling was suffering from a bad storm at that time which had broken electricity lines and our generators only work till 10pm, we have in invertors as well however, we apologise for the short coming and would request you to stay with us now as our guest and let us make up for your bad experience and we will try and keep the Clouds away this time ☺
Read more
rpnjravi wrote a review May 2016
Himmatnagar, India1 contribution
The Hotel Pradhan is located in peaceful n calm area . It has excellent - spacious - well furnished room with panoramic view of KANCHANJANGA. The distance from main market/eatery is walkable. The adjoin TIPTOP Hotel offers very good Gujarati food with parcel facility. The stay at hotel Pradhan is memorable and I still cherish my golden moment spent with my family . One must stay there to have luxury stay. N.J.Raval [Mo-09428644440] Himatnagar [GUJARAT]
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelpradhan, General Manager at Hotel Pradhan
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Thank you for your comments Sir, it means a lot to us
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$27 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalDarjeeling DistrictDarjeeling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Pradhan
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Pradhan?
Nearby attractions include Himalayan Tibet Museum (0.2 km), Jhandi Dara Sunrise Point (0.3 km), and Lloyd Botanical Garden (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Pradhan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Pradhan?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Pradhan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Pradhan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kunga Restaurant, Gatty's Cafe, and Hotel Lunnar.
Is Hotel Pradhan located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Darjeeling.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Pradhan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tinchuley Village (11.5 km) and Rabindra Bhavan (12.8 km).