We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheel Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sheel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sheel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 20: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A good deal for Mumbai but not as cheap as other reviewers have said - we paid 550 rupees for twin room (shared bathroom) - private bathroom was 1050 rupees. Basic (just beds in a small room) but very well located. The room was clean (ish) and clean sheets were brought for us - though we were a bit started... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mrswonderstuff
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrswonderstuff, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to have served you. Regards. More 

London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Thanks to the other reviews we decided to go with this hotel and were not disappointed :) The rooms are cheap and basic, we paid 400 rupees for a twin room and shared a bathroom (bucket jobbie/squat toilet). They don't serve food but there are plenty of restaurants and streets stalls nearby, so you are not short of places to... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomHPhoto
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TomHPhoto, Thank you for the vote of confidence. Please do recommend us to your loved ones as well. Regards. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This place is CHEAP, there's very little in Mumbai that can even come close to the price. Keep that in mind, because you are going to be disappointed if you think that 500 rupees is going to get you much in this city. However, what this place may lack in cleanliness and appearance, it makes up for in price, location,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IDreamedOfThis
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DreamedOfThis, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Regards. More 

Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I was in Mumbai on 24,25,26,27 September at SHEEL HOTEL I am from Tamilnadu,Coimbatore i booked my stay through Phone from Coimbatore,they confirmed my booking,when i arrived to hotel the room cleaning was going on,but they obliged me, by arranging to have bath and nap further provided a safe place to keep my luggage,after 2 Hrs i was shifted to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank grandben1210
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grandben1210, Thank you for the vote of confidence. We thrive to make our guests feel at home while their stay at the Sheel Hotel. Regards. More 

Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

If it was mentioned in Lonely Planet you would have to pay 800 Rs for a double room and it would be absolutely impossible to find the room there. Thank God LP didn't find them and you can stay there for 440 Rs (double). It is extremely close to Victoria Station so great location, and for small money you have... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank neonn
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear neonn, Thank you for the vote of confidence. We are glad to have served you. Regards. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Cheap rooms cheap value cheap price very very basic rooms not clean and bathroom not clean also

Helpful?
3 Thank Apworldrider
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Apworldrider, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad you pointed out our faults. We will make it a point to never repeat our faults. Regards. More 

Travellers are raving about these Mumbai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Sheel Hotel is a nice hotel and the cheapest option we found in Mumbai. The staff is really friendly and the rooms are clean. It is in a great location, right next to the CST (or VT) train station and across from the Post Office where you can ship packages home. Good value hotel in a great location! I highly... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jwarren525
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jwarren525, Thank you for your kind words. We thrive to make our customers feel at home while their stay at The Sheel Hotel. Regards. More 

Vals, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

After a long search for a rather cheep hotel we finally found the Sheel Hotel. It is not the higher standard than the usual 600 IRS hotels in Colaba (means very small & all with shared bathroom), but when you have to stay a longer time in Mumbai you will be glad having a cheeper option. Compared to hotel prices... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mrgambit
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mrgambit, Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad to have served you. Regards. More 

Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Very attractive prices from USD 10 to USD 24 Per night rooms. Rs.200 for Dormitory but not for foreigners due to security reason,Rs.440 for non a/c common bathrooms,Rs.625 for A/c common bathroom,Rs.1040 for A/c Attach bathroom with TV.Taxes all included. This hotel is opposite to Victoria terminus railway station and 10 mins walking distance from Colaba.

Helpful?
5 Thank Guide_Paul
Management response:

The price were going to rise from the Month of August 2012 from 20 to 50%. More 

Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Excellent stay. As bad luck would have it, I developed pneumonia and checked in to the Sheel not feeling all that great. They were wonderful to me. I didn't leave my room for four days except for X-rays - they sent me food and checked on me - no charge for that either. The room was just fine - clean,... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank cowboymi
Jitin G, Owner at Sheel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cowboymi, Thank you for your positive comments. We thrive to make our customers feel at home during their stay at The Sheel Hotel. Please do recommend us to your loved ones as well. Regards. More 

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Oasis
#163 of 428 in Mumbai
106 reviews
Hotel Travellers Inn
#78 of 428 in Mumbai
569 reviews
Grand Hotel
#111 of 428 in Mumbai
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Benazeer Hotel
Benazeer Hotel
#314 of 428 in Mumbai
16 reviews
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#63 of 428 in Mumbai
445 reviews
Hotel Landmark Fort
#219 of 428 in Mumbai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This property is perfect for budget travelers and backpackers due to price and location. This hotel is opposite to Victoria terminus railway station and 10 mins walking distance from Colaba. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheel Hotel

Address: 23 Manohardas Street on bazar gate road,, Mumbai 400001, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Price Range: ₹ 960 - ₹ 70,601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheel Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sheel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles neonn, 20 May 2012 | Read review
“Seek for room with window.”
 of 5 bubbles jwarren525, 3 Jan 2012 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a window”
 of 5 bubbles mrgambit, 23 Dec 2011 | Read review
“There are dogs,but friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles Guide_Paul, 25 Jul 2011 | Read review
4 of 4