Hotel Combermere

Hotel Combermere

Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (96)
Great Food
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#45 of 162 hotels in Shimla
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Hotel Combermere is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Shimla, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Shimla Heritage Walk (1.5 mi) and Viceregal Lodge (2.1 mi), guests of Combermere Hotel Shimla can easily experience some of Shimla's most well known attractions.

Hotel Combermere is a family-friendly hotel offering a flat screen TV and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. Plus, guests can enjoy a sauna and an on-site restaurant, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Shimla. For guests with a vehicle, there is paid public parking available nearby.

If you’re looking for an Asian restaurant, consider a visit to Cafe Simla Times, Indian Coffee House, or Ashiana & Goofa, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Hotel Combermere.

Should time allow, Jakhu Temple, The Mall, and The Ridge are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Shimla!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Car hire
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Hammam
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

The Mall, Shimla 171001 India
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Shimla Airport
10.8 km
See all flights
Chandigarh Airport
60.5 km
See all flights
541Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 154
  • 255
  • 66
  • 28
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
devesh1967 wrote a review Oct 2021
New Delhi, India
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First things first. It is probably the best located hotel in Shimla. They have their own lift which opens on the mall road. But the lift entrance from Cart Road is about 50 meters inside from the road, and entry is through the crowded public tourism lift passage. There is no point of alighting. So basically you have to get off from the vehicle on the road (Cart Road) itself, walk 50 mtrs / climb stairs through crowded municipal lift passage, and then reach the hotel lift. Parking is not available, although they help in parking at the municipal parking just opposite the hotel. This is a bit cumbersome and irritating. The rooms are neat and clean, service / housekeeping is good and responsive. "Luxury" rooms in new block are very small, with no balcony or view. Windows face the municipal lift and anyone can peep into your room from there. They have a good restaurant and bar, and another cafe (cafe Sol) and bar on top floor. Both are good. The restaurant is very small and expensive, although food is good. They do not reserve tables for their own guests, nor inform when table is available. In house guests also have to wait outside like everyone else, which is very irritating. Would request them to change this policy as I have not seen this anywhere that I have travelled. Even celebrated restaurants in hotels treat their own guests differently and take advance reservations for them. Tariff for lowest category of rooms (luxury) is about 7500/- ($100/-) per night (w/o bf) , which is quite steep for the quality of rooms and overall experience, which is at best average. Had it not been for the location, one could definitely give it a miss.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the public lift. There is no valley view, and no privacy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jimbee.am wrote a review Aug 2022
New Delhi, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This time I visited for Restaurant expecting for its great food experience
Reaching there for a non-resident guest is tough esp. if you are coming from the lift area side with kids and senior citizens with you
First you are not allowed to use hotel lift (it's only for resident guests)
Second, using public lift again a nightmare where you could had a direct access using hotel lift. It goes to the top (by changing lift) and then you have to come down to catch the hotel lift to reach the restaurant. Normally, it takes 25-30 min. time in casual rush hour.

Now on food side, this time it was kind of messy; service and food quality too has gone down than before; only 2 waiter staff for the whole place amde things going slow and messy; couldn't find it worth for the menu price
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gauravchopal wrote a review Jan 2020
Yamunanagar, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Every time I visit to shimla. I always stay in this hotel and every time there hospitality is increasing and increasing. Staff is very cooperative. Mr anil on front office is very nice person. We book our booking this time from booking.com but at time of booking hotel closed there inventory. So we received booking but hotel didn’t get our booking. This is right of hotel that they can refuse us we have booking of 3 rooms. But mr anil said you have small kids we will not refuse you but we will give you only 2 rooms but later on till evening they also give us another 3rd room. We are very thankful for this cooperation. Food quality of this hotel is awsum. In night tym there is live singing lounge it was a quality time we spend here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rakesh Sharma, Sales at Hotel Combermere
Responded 9 Jan 2021
Dear Guest Feeling glad that your stay with us was comfortable and you enjoyed our food and services. Looking forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashish4787 wrote a review Jul 2021
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Hotel Combermere after reading through the numerous reviews as we were going to shimla after 5 years to celebrate my birthday.
The only pros/advantage of this hotel is its private lift to the mall.
cons:
We booked the junior suite room and expected it to be great but the view from the room was disappointing, there was no privacy at all and people walking through the bridge connecting the mall road and the public lift could simply peep into the room. We had to put on the curtains throughout our stay.

The in room dining menu was ridiculously expensive and we largely refrained from ordering food from the menu however, since our 3 year old son traveling along we had to order food at times.At one instance, we requested the room service to prepare suji kheer for the kid but the request was bluntly refused. I personally visited the restaurant and requested the manager, Mr. Chauhan for the kheer but he very rudely refused my request and said that staff is very busy and my request cant be entertained, I asked him if he can do it after an hour or so.. He again refused and told me that sooji was not available in the hotel and it cant be made.We then requested him to make dal without any tadka but they somehow missed the intruction and made the dal with tadka and chillies. We tried calling the room service to make fresh dal but no one picked up the call after repetetive attempts. My son did not eat a single. I called them again the next morning with my request for the kheer but it was again refused. We requested for Khichdi to which they obliged but charged 350 bucks for a bowl of khichdi.
Also, most of the staff members were not wearing the mask.We also faced issue with shower in the bathroom and had to call house keeping to fix the issue
All in all the location of the hotel is great, bang on the mall road and room size is also decent but, attitude of the in room dining staff needs to be changed and they should should be a little empathic. You do not expect such experience after paying around 12.5k per night.We have never faced such behavior during our stays in the past.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not book suite rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rakesh Sharma, Sales at Hotel Combermere
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Feeling bad that your stay with us was not comfortable and got some issues. you just want to kook food for your baby yourself in hotel kitchen which is not permittable. Sorry but we will like to inform that Combermere is following covid protocol strictly and no staff member is allowed without masks . Inconvience highely regreeted and assure you that your concern about attitude noted and will be taken care of...
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pallavi Khare wrote a review Mar 2021
New Delhi, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 4 rooms for our much awaited family holiday after a long year of COVID travelling with 2 infants, 1 kid and 1 senior citizen.

The first night we couldn’t sleep till 3:30 AM because of 9 boys partying in the next room with open doors and loud music with smoke in the entire corridor, the hotel felt like a cheap third grade bar.

After our repeated calls and written complaint to the manager in the night nothing was done for almost 1 hour. We were reassured that this will not be repeated the next night and appropriate actions has been taken and therefore we decided to trust the hotel.

The next night repeat of the issue made it obvious that the manager on duty brushed the complaint under the carpet and on further investigating, to our horror, we found out that the senior management / GM was not aware of the written complaint.

The manger on duty provide incorrect number of the GM when we demanded for it the previous night. This just reflects lack of commitment to customer service or their issues.

Only good thing about the hotel is the location, it’s poorly managed and the rooms are not worth the amount we are paying for our holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rakesh Sharma, Sales at Hotel Combermere
Responded 19 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Feel sad that your stay with us was not comfortable due to some other guests staying on that floor, We talked to you as well as the other guest on that floor to sort it out . After discussion with other party they assured us a disciplined behaviour on next day. On next day after hearing argument noise on floor our FOA rushed to the floor ant tried to calm down both the parties and finally shifted the other party to different floor in between Manager operation also talked to you. Inconvenience caused to you highely regretted.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kartik Garg wrote a review Jan 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a brand name in itself in Shimla but they have provided the worse services ever seen.

We booked 2 rooms from 25th Dec 2020 - 27 Dec 2020.

On arrival, the rooms were not cleaned and were stinky also. This is when they had confirmed the arrival time 3 hours earlier.

On Xmas 2020, buffet dinner was served and it was all cold. Guests had to wait long for the chapattis. Moreover after making you wait for half an hour for the dessert, in the name of gulab jamun they give rasgulla.

On 27th dec morning (cold breezy wind is outside) when there is huge rush at breakfast and guests are waiting, the management didnt permit the staff to accommodate the guests in the covered area instead ask to sit in cold open only.

*In case you complaint about the services , instead of resolving the same they will blame you back. *

*Worst management specially Mr Rakesh Sharma and Mr Chauhan. * Hotel is understaffed.

At breakfast, only 4 staff persons were available who were running to complete the orders. Security guards are made to lift luggage. Moreover they'll don't have there own parking area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rakesh Sharma, Sales at Hotel Combermere
Responded 9 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Sorry for the inconvince ,but you are aware what you have done in the buffet dinner which we don't want to discuses here.We have clarified each and every thing at the time of checkout.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zenful D wrote a review Apr 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty bedding: blood stains and hair
Toilets: Pathetic cleanliness with yellowish towels
Do not book PENTHOUSE: These are rarely used and mostly used for hotel storage as confirmed by one of the hotel house keeping staff. The location of penthouse is right above the hotel club and the loud vibrant music, screams would make your night into a nightmare.
On ground Staff is helpful but managers at the reception are very rude with Zero customer service.
Do ask for dining bills upon check out as when we asked, they collected from their trash bins for us to verify
Bar is good while the food is average. You would find better options right outside the hotel.
Overall: 1 star but their prices are almost like a 5 star
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rakesh Sharma, Sales at Hotel Combermere
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Dear Guest Already replied to your same review but once again want to clear that its all different what you complained in hotel and you shifted to other rooms on 3rd of April. Once again want to clarify that pent houses are one of our best accommodations and well in demand. We have taken your point of concern regarding front office handling seriously and assure you will not be repeated in feature. Inconvince highly regretted.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sachin Shah wrote a review Jan 2020
Vadodara, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s my favourite place to stay in Shimla. Location is perfect near to Mall Road and with own lift.

Service is maintained and it’s very good. I stayed 3rd time here and it’s the only choice in Shimla.

Has good restaurant and bar facility available. Hot water availability is great in cold weather.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HOTELCOMBERMERE, Front Office Manager at Hotel Combermere
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear Sir, Thankyou very much for patronizing Hotel Combermere & glad to know that your stay with us was comfortable and you enjoyed our food and services.Hope you will be keep coming and giving us chance to serve you in feature also.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheDesiTraveller wrote a review Sept 2022
New Delhi, India
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to Hotel Combermere many times since 2008 and this was the most recent trip post covid lockdown. The Best part about this hotel was their proximity to the big shimla parking which is gone now. The parking is squeezed and you can barely find any place there to park. The Hotel seems to be requiring major overhaul to keep up with the newer fancier options available in shimla and while the rooms are well appointed, they do feel aged now. Their buffet is nothing out of the world but their service makes up for it in the restaurant.

If you are in Shimla, you may consider some other properties nearby as well for the price vs. quality you're getting for i'm certain to do that next time i'm in shimla and not just straightaway goto Combermere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Opt for a room that faces valley, you can surely have some good time watching the scenery.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deepakbang wrote a review Dec 2022
Bengaluru, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful place to stay.
service was good for me.

Rooms are good and also have decent view of Shimla from the Balconies.

Located at a brilliant location. Location cant be better.Located at the heart of Shimla in Mall road., so evening walks you will enjoy. If you have elderly people who cant use stairs, Talk to hotel people before booking. Rather when you book for any hotels in Shimla ask for wheel chair support.

Food you will not complain,They have a restaurant , 1 Brewery , 1 bar and a cafe.

They have few games in there but those are chargeable, But anyway you rather spend time in Mall road then in the game room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have elderly people who cant use stairs, Talk to hotel people before booking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rakesh Sharma, Sales at Hotel Combermere
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. Glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the facility along with the food of hotel. Pleasure to know that you found our staff guest friendly Looking forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from HOTELCOMBERMERE
shimla1 contribution
yes you can....
Yash2014 asked a question May 2018
New Delhi, India35 contributions12 helpful votes
Are outsiders allowed at the rooftop bar or it's only for the in-house guests?
Answer from someshpant
Bengaluru, India38 contributions7 helpful votes
Guests + Non guests are allowed
Richa S asked a question Apr 2015
New Delhi, India49 contributions30 helpful votes
Hi I would like to know which room has jaccuzzi facility.. Thanks
Answer from HOTELCOMBERMERE
shimla1 contribution
Only in Pent House .
Machotraveller wrote a tip Jun 2024
Mumbai, India66 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Ridge and the Shimla church is at walking distance from the hotel, once you come out on the mall road which has shops retaurants and banks."
Read full review
Rachna wrote a tip Mar 2023
Jammu, India202 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre-confirmation of reservation required."
Read full review
Deepakbang wrote a tip Dec 2022
Bengaluru, India25 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have elderly people who cant use stairs, Talk to hotel people before booking"
Read full review
SumeetN wrote a tip Sept 2022
New Delhi, India65 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take front facing rooms on 6th Floor else you can hear the dogs barking at night"
Read full review
TheDesiTraveller wrote a tip Sept 2022
New Delhi, India147 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Opt for a room that faces valley, you can surely have some good time watching the scenery."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shimla area.
PRICE RANGE
₹5,858 - ₹8,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
combermere hotel shimla
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshShimla DistrictShimla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL COMBERMERE (Shimla, Himachal Pradesh) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Combermere
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Combermere?
Nearby attractions include The Ridge (0.4 km), The Mall (0.3 km), and Jakhoo Hill (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Combermere?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Combermere?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Combermere?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Combermere?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amayaa, Wake and Bake, and 37 The Central.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Combermere?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Combermere?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Combermere offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Combermere?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Combermere?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rashtrapati Niwas, Mashobra, Shimla (6.2 km), Kotkhai Palace (0.5 km), and Manorville Mansion Shimla (3.4 km).
All Shimla HotelsShimla Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ShimlaHotels near Hotel Combermere
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire