We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla

Save
Share
Jakhoo Road Near Ridge, Shimla 171001 India
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (169)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Updated 08/05/20

About

#22 of 277 in Shimla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Summit Le Royale, among the best hotels in Shimla, is most popular for its great location and cozy rooms. Nestled cozily amidst the snow-tipped mountains of Shimla, Summit Le Royale is located close to the famous Ridge and Mall Road and is one of the most sought after hotels in Shimla. Experience a dreamlike abode with magnificent architecture to charm your way and indulge in a delicious range of food platter with outdoor seating. The rustic property also has its own multi-cuisine restaurant in Shimla - The Leaf, for your gastronomic cravings. The Metta Spa, with its popular massages and therapies, is excellent to de-stress and unwind your body and mind.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Secured parking
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Newspaper
Shared lounge / TV area
Doorperson
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
379Reviews18Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 202
  • 116
  • 31
  • 13
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sumandrita Moitra wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
‼️Alert post ‼️ This is not a travel post . This is an alert post regarding extreme fraud done by renown hotel chain “Summit”. We were 3 couples and booked 3 delux rooms in Summit la Royale, Shimla from 9th to 11th April. We have initiated the booking directly in the central reservation system of Summit hotels from their official website. Advance payments were done on 3rd March. Previously we have visited their property in Darjeeling and Gangtok for several times, so we have complete faith on them.we didn’t expect this was waiting for us. We reached Simla by 10.30am in the morning on 9th April by toy train. From the station we called the lady who was communicating with us regarding the booking to know about the transportation to the hotel.She gave us the number of hotel. We directly called the hotel and get to know there is no booking made by our names. We were literally shocked but still hoping there might be some miss communication. In the mean time the lady stopped receiving the calls and communicating the hotel manager.We decided to go to the hotel. There we get to know the lady forgot to update the hotel about our booking and at that time the hotel was fully occupied. After a long journey this was extremely frustrating for us. I must say there was no fault of the manager. He was very much cooperating with us.But the central management was just pathetic. Firstly they thought we have booked via any travel agency so they just told us to communicate with the travel agent as that was travel agents fault .When we told them we booked directly They were continuously telling us to adjust for their mistake and show them some humanity and they want us to reaccommodate in a extremely cheap hotel. We refused to go their. Already 3-3.5hrs passed by that time. We were continuously tried to communicate with the central management but they were so irresponsible to take the calls at time.Even they suggested the manager to allocate us rooms of the guest who were yet to board and then send them to another hotel. Even one person of the management told us they do overbooking and then send the extra guests in another hotels. even they told us we were not cooperating with them by going to that extremely cheap hotel. When we told them that we will go to comsumer forum, they told us , they will refund the amount. But at that time we were not looking for any monetary benefits. We have already wasted 5hours. We asked them to give us rooms in the hotel or atleast in a hotel of same value, or else we will not move out from here,one management person told us to do whatever you want and cut the phone. After struggling for few more hours finally they allcoted our rooms in Shingar regency. We have lost one full day just for this extreme miss management, not only that their behaviour was worst. Throughout the conversation they just tried to tell us to compromise and adjust. According to them we should understand and adjust for their mistake. Personally i will not gonna book any of the Summit property anymore and will recommend everyone not to do so if you guyz want a good trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alok wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Location is good. Near to "The Ridge" & Mall Road however there is a steep ascent and descent while visiting these places from the Hotel. Being so near to Mall road, taxis will charge Rs. 800-1000 from ISBT Shimla to Hotel as the motorable road is not straight and it has to go all the way back to top of the hill. I think the Hotel is overpriced looking into the amenities they provide. The Room was not so clean, The bathroom was extremely untidy and there was no flow of water from taps. One has to literally wait for 10 -15 mins before you get hot water from taps and another 10 mins to fill the bucket. I booked their premium room and I'm extremely dissatisfied with the room I've been given. I requested them to give me some room on the high floor but they refused. Very basic amenities. Not worth the money that I've paid. The restaurant is nice and the food is good. One can walk to Jakhu temple from the hotel but again you have the capacity to climb steep ascend and descend :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Muhammad Suhail Saifi wrote a review Feb 2022
New Delhi, India7 contributions
I stayed for 3 nights in a Premium room, they offered us room number 203. Room 203 & 303 are the best rooms in the hotel. The view from these rooms is amazing as you can see in the photos & videos. They provide us with free honeymoon decorations which made our stay memorable. Below are the pros & cons: Pros: - Services are excellent you'll never have to call them twice even your request is done just after putting the receiver on the phone - The view from the room was extraordinary - Cleanliness is excellent - Geyser Hairdryer and everything was working perfectly - Location is quite good just 600 meters away from Hawaghar you just have to downstairs 2 slopes & you're at HawaGhar. - Alu Parantha from the Restaurant was delicious - Staff behavior was very gentle - Our room decoration was memorable Cons: - The hotel is situated at a good height, it will cost you another 200 to 300 extra to reach there by taxi because taxis will reach there by going extra 15km otherwise you have to go to the Lift then 1 km steep walking to the hotel. You can go by Lift as well & hire a porter to get your luggage to the hotel. But still it is a good option because other nearby hotels at the mall road will cost you around 4k to 5k per room per night with the same facilities. - We found an empty beer bottle in one of the drawers but we found it at the time of check out so we didn't complain nor did we ask to clean up. Maybe housekeeping forgot to clean that drawer. Feedback for the hotel: - Lighting in the room is not satisfactory only yellowish lighting was there which I find unpleasent. there should be some white lighting as well at the sealing except this everything was good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't forget to keep the windows always closed, monkeys are waiting for your window to remain...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for staying with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your generous feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time with us. It does give us immense satisfaction to know that you were pleased with the services that were provided to you during your stay. As our main concern has always been to provide utmost pleasure and comfort for our valued guest so it very heartening to receive such generous compliments from your side. we truly believe that it will definitely motivate us to set and achieve higher goals in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to be at your service and we shall always be looking forward to your stay with us very soon. Yours In Hospitality, Unit Manager.
Read more
Adventurer824522 wrote a review Dec 2021
Shimla District, India5 contributions
Think of it as your private sanctuary hotel. Here, you won’t just align with the elements, but also with space and time in a manner like never before. A place, where natural beauty is in the offing at every nook and sublime privacy is the preserve of every guest. This one-of-a-kind experience features in its midst spectacular cedar trees and mountains. Camp fire, nature walk captivating Trees adds on tp the unique experience .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank You for staying with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us it was a pleasure to be at your service. It was really heartening to know that we were able to meet your expectation in providing exceptional services and hospitality. As guest comfort and satisfaction are the two main motives behind running our business, I believe that your appreciation will definitely motivate us in bringing the best of everything and achieving new heights in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to have you here and we will be looking forward to your next stay with Summit properties. Yours in Hospitality, Unit Manager.
Read more
Suma Ganesh wrote a review Dec 2021
Mumbai, India3 contributions
This is a good hotel. Very close to Shimla town area. Breakfast was strictly ok, but dinner was pretty good. The rooms are clean and comfortable. View from the window is good. Balconies can not be opened because of monkey menace across Shimla The staff is very helpful and polite. Special mention to Mr.Negi, Mashwak Khan and Babloo for their services 👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank you for staying with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your generous feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time with us. It does give us immense satisfaction to know that you were pleased with the services that were provided to you during your stay. As our main concern has always been to provide utmost pleasure and comfort for our valued guest so it very heartening to receive such generous compliments from your side. we truly believe that it will definitely motivate us to set and achieve higher goals in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to be at your service and we shall always be looking forward to your stay with us very soon. Yours In Hospitality, Unit Manager.
Read more
Mohit Bhasin wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
I think you can go with this hotel without giving pain to your mind. I visited with my wife and a couple. Actually I can say this is a nice and calm visit . You will face very little problem like Geiger is not working properly but hotel manager get repaired very soon by tecnician. Overall all member are satisfied by the hotel service and accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank You for staying with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us it was a pleasure to be at your service. It was really heartening to know that we were able to meet your expectation in providing exceptional services and hospitality. As guest comfort and satisfaction are the two main motives behind running our business, I believe that your appreciation will definitely motivate us in bringing the best of everything and achieving new heights in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to have you here and we will be looking forward to your next stay with Summit properties. Yours in Hospitality, Unit Manager.
Read more
George Aikarakunnel wrote a review Dec 2021
Kottayam, India1 contribution
Least maintained hotel. The rooms have shabby walls and horrible toilets. The premium rooms we were allotted had no proper windows and zero views. No lifts, bad housekeeping and excessive rates are huge let downs. The food however was good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The climb to the hotel is pretty steep. Be prepared
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Dear guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for reviewing us in this forum. On the outset we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, your feedback is really important to us, we have carefully noted down the shortcomings mentioned by you and we assure that it will be worked upon in an effective manner. However, we wish nothing but to be given another chance in hosting you better in the near future again with the improved established services. Regards, Unit Manager.
Read more
Gagan wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Location of the hotel is at worst for the tourists .We faced lot of problems in reaching hotel itself and decided to cut our stay from 3 nights to 1 night. Also decor and bathroom is outdated.Breakfast was only saviour Also we booked 2 premium rooms and got electric bed only in 1 on asking about the electric bed for another room,they said its dysfunction and cant be arranged.the person at reception(Dont Know his name) totally misguided us about the way to hotel as there was no street lights on the way to hotel which is scary for families with children even for solo one.there was no lift in the hotel There was no bunker house available for Cab Drivers as given mostly by other hotels So definitely wont recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 1 Dec 2021
Dear guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for reviewing us in this forum. On the outset we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, your feedback is really important to us, we have carefully noted down the shortcomings mentioned by you and we assure that it will be worked upon in an effective manner. However, we wish nothing but to be given another chance in hosting you better in the near future again with the improved established services. Regards, Unit Manager.
Read more
Nitin wrote a review Nov 2021
New Delhi, India23 contributions3 helpful votes
First you need guts to reach this hotel with your car. It's difficult to go outside this hotel as it is always surrounded by monkeys, who are ready to attack you. Hotel has garden but you can't go there due to monkeys. Never try to go outside hotel during evening. During night time again you wake up number of times due to monkeys. So in all no peace, no views, only fear at this hotel. Staff were good, polite but helpless. Rooms need renovation, doesn't justify the price. Breakfast was ordinary, no taste, should be avoidable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Dear guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for reviewing us in this forum. On the outset we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, your feedback is really important to us, we have carefully noted down the shortcomings mentioned by you and we assure that it will be worked upon in an effective manner. However, we wish nothing but to be given another chance in hosting you better in the near future again with the improved established services. Regards, Unit Manager.
Read more
Sudipto P wrote a review Nov 2021
Bengaluru, India70 contributions11 helpful votes
It is close to the main part of the mall road, but you have to do a stiff uphill climb for hundreds of metres while returning. While coming by vehicle the location is difficult to find, because Google can misguide. You need to do two things to find hotel. 1) Tell your driver that they must drop you right at the hotel, not anywhere nearby. 2) Call hotel for directions. Bathroom had seepage. Toilet seat accessories were loose and half broken and dirty. Wardrobe looked like cheap hotels. Views from premium rooms can be stunning because it is on the ridge and is higher than the mall. Heater and phone were dysfunctional, but the bed heater was a good thing. Will not recommend for older people.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Dear guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for reviewing us in this forum. On the outset we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, your feedback is really important to us, we have carefully noted down the shortcomings mentioned by you and we assure that it will be worked upon in an effective manner. However, we wish nothing but to be given another chance in hosting you better in the near future again with the improved established services. Regards, Unit Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$33 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshShimla DistrictShimla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Nearby attractions include The Ridge (0.3 km), The Mall (0.2 km), and Jakhoo Hill (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wake and Bake, Honey Hut Cafe - Shimla, and Cafe Simla Times.
Are any cleaning services offered at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Summit Le Royale Hotel, Shimla?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kotkhai Palace (0.5 km), Manorville Mansion Shimla (3.5 km), and Gurkha Gate (1.6 km).