We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ashok

TravelocityUS$ 102*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ashok
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

567 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ashok
See the most recent reviews
Showing 515: English reviews
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Where to begin? Stayed here at the recommendation of a local friend who uses the hotel for business. Got a good rate thru him and was looking forward to the experience after reading other TripAdvisor reviews. The Good: My room, 560, was stocked with only two towels. When I called housekeeping they responded quickly and called maintenance for me to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lance I
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lance, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you for your important feedback about The Ashok at tripadvisor. At the outset, kindly accept my profound and sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your recent stay with us. However, the Hotel is known for its timely & class services but I am distressed that we could not match your expectations...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 May 2015

There is nothing that a little soap, water, elbow grease and paint wouldn't improve here except for the internet connection, which is inadequate an undependable. Everything is worn and plain tired. The furniture needs to be repaired. Lighting in the rooms could be improved. The ventilation system is noisy, The stairwell to the gym is unmarked and dinghy. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay23
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Ashok May I, at the outset, proffer my most sincere apologies as it is apparent that we did not measure up. I would like to assure you that we are looking into your feedback with concern and every step...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 11 May 2015

The major advantage of Ashok Hotel is it's location as it at close proximity of Rashtrapati Bhavan, India Gate and the Parliament. The rooms are comfortable however the washrooms are not tidy enough. The service is good although not prompt. You can give this property a pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anshuman89
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Anshuman, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you appreciated about the location of our hotel & we have also taken note of your comments regarding the experience about the...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 28 April 2015

All I could say is that I booked the hotel for old world charm. Have been vising Ashok since it was painted white. Rooms are good, so is the "old world charm" about the entire structure. However that is not all I would look forward from a Hotel. Service standards were really bad. To list a few - 1. No...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gaurava99
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Gaurav, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank You for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We regret that your recent experience with The Ashok was not up to the quality that we strive to deliver at all times. We are concerned to know about the issues you have raised during your stay with us. While we assure...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 24 April 2015

One of the best located hotel in Delhi and an iconic building. Changed its color long time ago as they did not like it . it has huge car parking and close to the seat of power. All road leads to the hotel. But that is where it ends. Wish it could be managed better like any other private hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank devinder s
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Devinder, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on Trip advisor. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you appreciated about the location of our hotel & we have also taken note of your comments regarding the experience about...

Indore, India
Reviewed 5 April 2015

It,s a lively Hotel, you would find it comfortable to stay. The Rooms are big and well made, but upkeep including Bed Linen & Towels etc, need to be improved, Many varieties of dishes are there for Buffet Break fast and You can get satisfied with the food quality; Service however needs improvement. Reception counters are manned well, but action...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank RANJANSANJE
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Ranjan, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank You for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. At The Ashok, we are committed to consistently providing warm & efficient service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. Your suggestions and observations are very helpful & important for us to improve our service standards...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 3 April 2015

One of the largest and best located properties, but disappointingly neglected. Staff is uncouth, ill-trained and bad mannered. Rooms are in a pathetic state of neglect. Light fitting and switches don't work, toilets are not cleaned properly, paint and door panels are chipping off, doors don't close properly, air conditioning makes a racket of a noise and the story can...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ankitruchi
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Ankit, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank You for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. I am disheartened to see your feedback & it is a serious concern to know that your recent experience at The Ashok was not up to the quality that we strive to deliver at all times. While we profer our sincere apologies...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Stayed here twice this year for a business conference. The hotel is a typical govt run establishment with ageing but surprisingly courteous staff, Rooms are old though well maintained however the bathroom shower had problem and loo no faucet or bidet was available. Warm water took almost 10 min to flow. The complimentary buffet is average with the same menu...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SonyAkkara
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Akkara, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank You for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. The Ashok’s grandeur combined with its gracious hospitality will always strive to service our guests in the most effective and efficient manner. However, I apologise for any inconveniences room facilities. Your suggestions and observations are very helpful & important for us to...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 19 March 2015

I was in the Hotel for some conference in which all the dignitaries and businessman of India including PM, FM, Ministers of State etc. were present. I went to the Coffee shop area and ordered Coffee and Pastry. The coffee was nice but as i was enjoying my pastry, i saw a dead mosquito on the pastry,,,,,,,, man,,,,,,,,, i asked...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank manishbansal0359
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Bansal, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you for your sharing your feedback with us on Trip advisor. We offer our sincerest apologies for the incident. It was totally unacceptable and I assure you that it is being dealt with appropriately at our end. However we do look forward to your next visit with us. Warm Regards, Sudha Chandra General...

palo alto, CA
Reviewed 16 March 2015

i have stayed quite a lot at the ashok recently and in fact am writing from one of their rooms now. it's a typical government hotel in that it is built on a massive scale, the rooms are often large and sumptuous, but the maintenance and the service are both indifferent. i stayed once in a suite (free upgrade!) which...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank malabarcoast
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Ashok! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us once again and for sparing your valuable time in sharing your feedback with us on Trip advisor. The Ashok constantly strives to ensure that all the guests get efficient and consistent services. I also thank you for the generous praise and kind words of...

711 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Ashok Suite (64)
Viewed
Basant (36)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (20)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (96)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#456 of 713 in New Delhi
148 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#273 of 713 in New Delhi
95 reviews
4.9 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
3.2 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
2,639 reviews
3.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#35 of 713 in New Delhi
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ashok

Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 5,490 - ₹ 16,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ashok staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Ashok staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay at Ashok hotel delhi. Choose any of the numerous close-by”
GaurAgar, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Check the room before you enter or checkin.”
sjtamal, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there are any good rooms.”
utas2010, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Smoking rooms stink...so stress on non-smoking rooms if possible”
Promit, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book the executive rooms... its a way better option than standard.”
joanth, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 102* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 131
Hotwire.comUS$ 102
Orbitz.comUS$ 102
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates