We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Show Prices
#5 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,856: English reviews
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Okay , if you like nature and nice view , you are in the right place . If you are looking for real fun , activities , hanging out , then you are in the most boring place . The overall hotel is okay , rooms are average however they are clean . The hotel is a kinda isolated with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mohamed S
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that your overall stay was to your satisfaction.It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. We have taken note of your concerns and experiences and it would be looked into. Once again we would like to thank you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wasn't sure what to expect when our driver turned down a narrow country road. I assumed it was a short cut to the hotel but no, the hotel has a superb location high up the valley sides overlooking the river. As such the hotel is terraced which adds to the overall ambience. As with all the other Cinnamon hotels the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cardiboy
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am pleased read that you had such a wonderful time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have a great time with us, and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words and I would share your comments with our team members who helped make your visit a memorable...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a terrible experience staying at the Cinnamon Citadel. A member of staff brought ice to my room. When he established that I was traveling alone he started asking me personal questions. He then offered to give me a massage or foot rub while alone with me in my room which was highly inappropriate. He came to my room...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank clojo9
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We read with concern your review. Please be kind enough to share more details on this incident in order that we may investigate this matter thoroughly. Please contact me on 0094 71 8440 228 or email me on murfad@cinnamonhotels.com Thank you. Murfad Shariff Resident Manager

Estepona, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel, we stayed with my grandfather near by but used this swimming pool for 3 days out of 7. The staff are all friendly, and the club sandwich we had for lunch was delicious. It's a shame they don't offer a price for an afternoon swim only, as one day we only needed 2 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing you experience on Tripadvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. We are happy to note that you enjoyed the culinary and service experiences that we offer .we have also taken not of your concerns for our betterment. We look forward to your next visit. Wish you a pleasant day

buckinghamshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for only one night a few years ago (not long enough)..Heavenly place on the river with elephants and lots of birds flying around ...The food was amazing as were the staff ,so very attentative at all times...We will return one day for sure .Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgoodchild
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. It is such a pleasure to know that your experience has been simply amazing. Naturally, we are delighted that you appreciated our team’s heartfelt hospitality, even more so knowing that we lived up to high expectations. Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The communal veranda / swimming pool area is just amazing. Beautiful views and truly special. Their pina-coladas are amazing, and bizarrely, we had pasta Neapolitan for lunch each day (to save money on lunch) and the pasta was some of the best i have ever had. The rooms were okay. It was clean, but ours felt a bit poky and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xBiancax13
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay.It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. We have taken note of your concerns and it would be looked into. Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Citadel...

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This hotel was situated in the landscape that we were looking for at this stage of our tour,away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. Pleasant room with balcony overlooking the pool and river.Excellent food and restaurant.Staff very attentive and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirkconnell
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay. Wish you a pleasant day.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel was on the road outside Kandy and was much quieter than being in the town. Hotel on several levels with a small pool and pleasant bar. The restaurant was a good size and served magnificent food, we are getting used to the enormous choice including porridge for breakfast. Lots of bird life here as we were right on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. It is such a pleasure to know that your experience has been simply amazing. Naturally, we are delighted that you appreciated our team’s heartfelt hospitality, even more so knowing that we lived up to high expectations. Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next...

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

First of all, it's highly priced..so services not worth the money they charge and the location is not good(it's a seven km stretch in a narrow road) but the hotel overall is good..room service and everything else is good..but buffet breakfast can be improved

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASHWIN S
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us . We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay in our resort and enjoyed all the facilities we had on offer.We also have taken notes of your concerns for our betterment . We look forward...

Deerfield, Illinois
Reviewed 14 March 2017

charming hotel on the river. fabulous room, friendly staff, and super buffet dining - could not really want anything else. Oh, and the pool was terrific. Pity that we only spent one night at the hotel - it really is a great place to unwind after some hectic touring.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manisfeld
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am pleased read that you had such a wonderful time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have the time of their life and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words and I would share your comments with our team members who helped make your visit a memorable...

1,776 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1574)
Viewed
View from Room (130)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (240)
Viewed
Dining (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (294)
Viewed
Room/Suite (217)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (512)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
5.7 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,890 reviews
2.9 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
912 reviews
2.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
2.3 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kandy
942 reviews
2.3 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: ₹ 4,862 - ₹ 14,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book on the Hotel website for best rates”
Sharm77, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river for the view.”
Serrif1, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room”
The-Actuallys, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a river view”
manisfeld, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid basement rooms if you have knee problems. All rooms face the river.”
kalindid_12, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5