We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Thilanka

Expedia.comUS$ 87*
View Deal
#12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 167*
US$ 87*
US$ 167*
US$ 87*
US$ 134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 838: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Thilanka
 Click to rate
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. The view was amazing, the beds were very comfortable, the pool was refreshing, the staff were always helpful and friendly, and the dinner and breakfast buffets had a wide range of local and international selections to suit everyone's taste.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WanderingPete91
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived at the hotel with the impression that it was going to be a surreal experience here but we were proved wrong. The food and the scenery on the contrary was quite good, however the service given by the hotel staff was horrible. We were shown a lot of negative attitudes by the hotel kitchen when we ordered food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chamil E
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! The Comments made by you are noted. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you and regret that certain aspects of the service received by you have not met your expectations. Your feedback is already been shared with the team.necessary action will be taken for the betterment of future guests. We are...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Gives such a wonderful view from the top of Kandy city. Really it was nice to be here in last month .i loved this view so much because i expected a calm good place to stay when i travelled to kandy .. Fresh fruits and it offfers overseas and local foods both . Had a really nice time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expertrooms
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Thank you very much you share the comments about us in trip advisor .We love to read that you enjoy all you’re stayed at thilanka.We look forward to your next visit to the thilanka kandy! Thank you, Thanking you

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night whilst touring the cultural triangle, ideally situated just 15 minutes down hill walk from the temple of the tooth and the lake. Room was well appointed, the evening buffet was expansive and had a nice a mix of different Sri Lankan dishes and both Western and Asian choices, make sure you leave room for the wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank addisdas
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! We highly appreciate your review of the Thilanka Kandy. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back Thanking you

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Not the flashiest hotel but certainly adequate. Good food at the buffet for both breakfast & dinner. Rooms were comfortable only downside was the extra bed was a sofa bed and they are never great. Staff were excellent and very helpful overall a good stay in Kandy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayjay349
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Your kind sentiments in respect of our food and service is a source of encouragement to us. It was indeed a pleasure to have had you with us. Thank you very much you share the your comments about us in trip advisor We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Thanking you

Dubai
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, the rooms need upgrading but are functional, however the bathroom had been partially refitted. There is virtually no storage space so don't bother to unpack! We had a problem with the AC one night but they managed to fix it for the second night. The Views from our rooms were lovely but we didn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarriottFamily
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! Your feedback is already been shared with the team to have them closely investigated and necessary action will be taken for the betterment of future guests. we take all feedback seriously and sincerely regarding that we did not meet your expectation. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. Thanking you

Negombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night with family our short holiday this place great view on hill we really enjoyed our stay with friendly staff and food was excellent. We will be back to stay more days for our next holiday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Navodatours
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! We love to read that you enjoy all you’re stayed at thilanka. Because that’s what we want for you and your visitors. Thank you very much you share the your comments about us in trip advisor We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Thanking you

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is clean, well managed and provides good service. It does get large bus groups that can be loud and poorly behaved especially around the buffet. I imagine this happens at most large hotels. The restaurant area is well presented. There is a pool but no umbrellas over the seats so too hot to really spend any time out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jade808558
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear sir The coment maid by you it is noted .Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a truly enjoyable experience and our products and services were meeting your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Thanking you

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the third time I am visiting this beautiful Hotel. With every visit saw big changes been done to improve the service. This time I was offered a Room suitable for a King. The view was beautiful. Room was large and the toilet was excellent condition. It is walking distance to Kandy main City. Specially to Dalada Maligawa. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cecilratnayake
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Ayubowan! Greetings from thilanka kandy ! My pleasure to tell you this .We love to read that you enjoy all you’re stayed at thilanka. continuously you visit thilanka for 3rd time we are truly happy for that. We look forward to your next visit to the thilanka kandy ! thanking you

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Been there for a day and it was awesome. The Room was overall great and clean.And has a nice view.it's very spacious. Lovely food and all the buffets are with a nice variation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Mr.Bandara the executive housekeeper and his team,Mr.Hemantha the restaurant manager and his team & mr.Marcus and his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nilantha P
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this review

Dear guest Greeting from thilanka kandy Ayubowan Your kind sentiments in respect of our food and service is a source of encouragement to us. It was indeed a pleasure to have had you with us.Your feedback is already been shared with the team. thank you for taking time to share your comments about thilanak in trip adviser Thanking you

1,012 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (739)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (71)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (154)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Normal Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Normal Deluxe Room (Alternative) (27)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Suite Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.5 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
4.0 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
712 reviews
1.6 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.8 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
1,913 reviews
2.0 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: ₹ 4,977 - ₹ 15,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Thilanka staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Thilanka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the Kings Rooms they are the best.”
cecilratnayake, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lake Views”
BazH11, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view”
sheilar333, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are many kinds of rooms. Ask to see them before taking.”
Periakka, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Always book a room with a view of City and mountain range”
HDSPat1984, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 87* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 87
Booking.comUS$ 134
AMOMAUS$ 167
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates