We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. There were no other guests (June) at that time. Our Room was quite big but not really clean. The one in the left corner close to the dining area. Almost no light came in the room trough the windows, because the bushes right in front were so thick. The Bathroom was pretty dirty and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DerBabo
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel lays in the outskirts of the city of Kandy, and you need a tuk-tuk (one-way 300Rs) to get to the center. We booked for 2 nights for 2 people for 4500Rs a night, breakfast included. Wifi didn't work on our tablet (of our whole stay in Sri Lanka this was the only place it didn't work!). We had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nele b

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Town
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Besides the staff being friendly, the rooms were tacky... No bottled water or Wi Fi as advertised except in the entrance hall...The bathrooms were disgusting. Breakfast were the normal eggs, juice, toast and fruit. We were afraid to eat the peeled fruit..it was far out of town and even our driver suggested the place should close down. They had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima786
poissy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spend 2 days in this hotel, the beds are so huge, clean place. We had so much fun here, staff is so friendly, we played cards and pool, it was like in our own family. We were like princess in this place, everybody was so friendly and helpful. Thank you to Isuru the chief, his food is just amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank virginiedub2000
Dauglas S, Manager at Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your stay in sri lanka is as enjoyable More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed for two nights, and I was taken here by the driver who I arranged the tour with. Other places I stayed in Sri Lanka were a bit tatty, so when I arrived here, it looked nice, organised, spacious and clean, with a pool table - wow entertainment! Bath tub was a big plus for me, being a Japanese. Food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carioca500
Dauglas S, Manager at Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ancient Lanka. I will have a meeting with the staff and raise these comments for training purposes. Kind Regards Ancient Lanka team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We tried to stay for a night there but we couldn't. Remote, the bathroom was terrible and the bed with bed bugs. We complained and showed us two more rooms even worse. People were sleeping with the door open, half naked walking around. First time we scared in SL. We left in the middle of the night without paying of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elitsa83
Dauglas S, Manager at Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I regret that I was out of town during your stay. Obviously we do not condone unruly behaviour from other tourist guests, our customer safety is paramount. Our beds have new sprung mattresses and to my knowledge we have never had an incident of bed bugs which would be dealt with very seriously More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My driver knew this hotel so brought me into it. Once i entered the hotet the staff welcomed me nicely and they gave me one of the best rooms in the hotel. I used tge swimming pool too and i liked the view from there at sun set, it was amazingly charming. I recommand it.

Helpful?
Thank Salamoos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I visit Kandy often and at the begining of August I was recommended to stay at Ancient Lanka by a friend. A new manager has taken over the hotel in March 2013 and like all things in Sri Lanka it takes time to sort out old issues. I found the rooms to be clean and extremely comfortable with large sprung... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chilledvibe
Dauglas S, Manager at Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I try and do daily training with the staff and encourage them to practice and improve their english More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed in October 2012 for a night. Booked this through a travel agent in Colombo and cursed him for the recommendation. The location is remote and inaccessible. Our driver Had to make numerous phone calls to trace the place. Its located in the midst of a residential area and far away from market, tourist attractions and the main city. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuhasChakravarthy
Dauglas S, Manager at Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review a year after your stay. I am pleased to inform you that Ancient Lanka has been taken over by new management since March 2013 and custom service as well as renovation has been our main aim. All rooms have king size beds unfortunately in 2 of our rooms this will... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

It's pretty fascinating how dirty a hotel can become. The walls, the tables, the floors. Just good old dirty. The staff is friendly and hospitality is ok, but the hotel is a wore down, dirty tragedy. Breakfast is extremely poor, while the curry they serve for dinner is actually not that bad. Would never have stayed in this hotel of... More 

Helpful?
Thank anarkistix
Dauglas S, Manager at Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we serve a full breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, toast with juice, tea & coffee as well on request we can serve pancakes or coconut roti. More 

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
16.5 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
1.6 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 62 in Kandy
592 reviews
2.8 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 62 in Kandy
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 62 in Kandy
1,690 reviews
1.0 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 62 in Kandy
576 reviews
2.6 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#5 of 62 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy

Address: No 31/3 Riverdale Garden | Aniwaththa, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ancient Lanka Hotel Kandy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“" Stay Away "”
 of 5 bubbles Fatima786, 25 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Try to book a room with windows :)”
 of 5 bubbles syla2, 28 Feb 2013 | Read review
“no room!!!!! avoid this hotel!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Tiina333, 17 Feb 2013 | Read review
3 of 3