We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theva Residency

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Theva Residency
See the most recent reviews
Showing 439: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We stayed at Theva during our Honey Moon at Sri Lanka. We took the Penthouse for one night and the standard room for the second night. We never had such a non-value-for-money expiriece. We payed almost 600$ for 2 nights, 1 poor dinner and snacks at the pool. I would never recommend anyone to go there. Penthouse doesnt worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Moshe C
dheeshana a, Manager at Theva Residency, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was so disappointing. You did have the penthouse and we have never had any complaints about the bed. We have had guest staying there all through the month and in fact had many great and wonderful things to say about the stunning experience from that room which has a...

Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

We've been to theva during our honey moon. We booked the penthouse-the most expensive room- and the bed was the worst we have ever sleep to. The service is bad, The food is not good at all and very very expensive. When we complain to the front desk they told us that the manager is not here and they are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 222Galhoch
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

I do not have one bad word to.write about the hotel. It is pure luxury Arrived and was greeted by several people Check in and was given a delicious welcome juice The view from our room was out of the world and pictures could not show how amazing it is The room and bathroom were top and all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauralouxx
United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 night stay here. Great views and our Asst Manager (Abey) was so helpful and nice. The evening meals are good and well priced. The rooms are as you see on the Website. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snakey2001
Kortrijk, Belgium
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We enjoyed a nice stay in the small but stylish hotel with great view over the hills around Kandy. The staff was very friendly, the rooms are ok, there's a small but nice pool where you can relax and the best of all is the restaurant that is very much recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline E
Reviewed 26 August 2015

The most spectacular location for a hotel the views are awesome and the rooms clean and beautifully laid out. Lovely staff as well. Best place for a cocktail at sundown in the world. Short trip downhill into town....great food too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Theva, a short drive from downtown, up in the hills, is a unique, contemporary, boutique hotel that's perfect for a visit to Kandy. The staff are extremely hospitable and the meals were delicious. Well done guys! Oh yes, the sundowners on the terrace and dip in the infinity pool were welcomed treats at the end of each day. The view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Delighted with my stay at Theva was very blissful. Theva is a unique contemporary boutique hide away nestled amongst the Hantana hills, is a truly special place to be. The views are spectacular, the service unquestionably fantastic, and the place is very unique. A serene delight and an almost magical place to truly appreciate the beauty around. I only wish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thushara s
Reviewed 19 August 2015

another stylish boutique that I wish I could have spent more time at. There's a great rooftop restaurant overlooking the valley, with Kandy beyond. (I ordered the crab, which was messy and delicious!) The rooms are very nice, though they were queen beds, so a little too small for sharing with a friend. (We got separate rooms.) But they had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NYCwanderlust123
Muscat, Oman
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

I have to say that this hotel is just wonderful. We had a very relaxing stay enjoying the lovely food prepared by world class chief. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely come back. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Altayeb A

596 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe (22)
Viewed
Deluxe (Alternative) (20)
Viewed
Penthouse (30)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
Superior Ground (23)
Viewed
Superior Mount (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
16.3 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
3.8 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#7 of 62 in Kandy
1,691 reviews
1.6 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 62 in Kandy
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 62 in Kandy
268 reviews
4.3 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 62 in Kandy
437 reviews
2.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 62 in Kandy
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A slice of Heaven… Nestled in the Hantana Hills Theva sits overlooking Kandy town. As you drive through the windy roads up the Hantana hills one can see the ethereal glistening of small city lights filling the night sky. An undoubtedly magical entrance to this boutique hotel. The food is divine and prepared with the utmost devotion and attention to detail. The Chef and his team have really been able to bring world-class food to this remote location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Theva Residency

Address: 11 / B5 / 10 - 1, 6th Lane | off Upper Tank Rd, off Circular 2 Rd, Hantanna, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: ₹ 8,650 - ₹ 22,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Theva Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Theva Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theva Residency Hotel Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Theva Residency staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Theva Residency staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the higher floors to enjoy the stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles fbricard, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have excellent views. Delux rooms have a private balcony which is quite nice...”
 of 5 bubbles Crishantha, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The upper levels overlooking the Hatana Ranges give spectacular views.”
 of 5 bubbles MirisProducts, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Penthouse is great value, it's an enormous suite with a wall of glass giving stunning views”
  • View from the penthouse window
  • View from the room
 of 5 bubbles DanG616, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“What ever room you choose be prepared to climb stairs”
 of 5 bubbles yapaw2016, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay