We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritance Kandalama

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Kandalama
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Kandalama
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,854: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I loved this hotel. It's in the perfect location to see Sigiriya, to do an Elephant Safari and to visit Polonnaruwa. The views from the hotel are breath taking. The rooms are great, buffet is fantastic and staff are helpful. I stayed here at the start of my trip and was able to totally relax here. My only criticism of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Durkles
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the midst of the most historical getaways of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful review regarding your holiday experience in Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Great location overlooking the beautiful lake. This hotel has it all…. five star treatment, exceptional staff, fantastic buffets, and rooms with incredible views. There is a lot to do and see in and around the hotel. The staff keep the place tidy and inviting. The rooms are small but very comfortable. And the view from my balcony overlooking the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a h
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the midst of the most historical getaways of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful review regarding your holiday experience in Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the...

Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 March 2015

This hotel is so large!, but you don't notice it. It is really one of the masterpieces of architect Jeffrey Bawa. The hotel 900m long hotel and 7 floors high hotel is entirely build in the jungle and the plants are growing over it. You have a great few on the Kandalama tank with on the other site of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DionysNL
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred holiday destination in Sri Lanka and for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer...

Alexandria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Just back from Sri Lanka on our 10th trip. Once again we stayed at the Heritance Hotel Kandalama. 3rd time now. Such a great place in a lovely location. Views are amazing, infinity pool has an amazing view. Staff were lovely and very attentive. They couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent. We chose to stay there as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MARYM M
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the midst of the most historical getaways of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful review regarding your holiday experience in Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 7 March 2015

The Design is great, but it's poorly maintained. Rooms were not clean especially the bathrooms, the rolling shade was full of dead bugs and have a very bad smell. The staff were not very friendly in front of house but the guys doing breakfast were great. The pool attendant was the most unhappy individual ever and barely acknowledged our presence...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter C
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

First and foremost, we most sincerely thank you for your visit to us with the family and more importantly taking time off to make your experience and observations known. Before we proceed from this point, we offer our apologies to you and rest of your family for the unpleasant experience you had at Heritance Kandalama. I have extensively discussed your...

Reviewed 6 March 2015

We had the pleasure of staying here for four nights! This is by far one of the best hotels that we have stayed at in our travels. We have visited over 30 countries, including Peru, Brazil, UAE, Thailand, Singapore, Japan, UK, France, Germany, Italy, Australia and New Zealand, so we know what great accommodations are all about!! Upon arrival, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the midst of the most historical getaways of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful review regarding your holiday experience in Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This is a extremely overdue review for an online reservation experience I made, well over a year ago. It was reserved as a gift for my friend and her husband, to help them sooth their minds after a personal tragedy they had just passed at the time. Heritance deserved much credit in this endeavor, therefore, I'm following the "better late...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShamiJ
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable review regarding your holiday experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are much obliged to know that your experience with the online booking...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Fabulous and unusual hotel, unlike any other we have stayed in. Location is amazing with plenty of wildlife to see in the hotel grounds. Room was beautiful, spacious and well appointed - there can't be many places you can shower with only the monkeys able to look in! Food was great with plenty of choice. Especially helpful staff who rose...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RooQ
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable review regarding your holiday experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance,...

Harleston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This hotel came recommended for its location and it is wonderful, nestled into the rock with great views, and is a Sri Lankan design icon. The rooms were spacious with all facilities (but perhaps could do with a 'touch up') and had all the usual niceties (but no robes). We were disappointed to find the infinity pool was half cordoned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCandG
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

We thank you for making it to Heritance Kandalama all the way. However, we offer our apologies for the shortcomings which had interfered with your stay at Heritance Kandalama seemingly due to sub-standard communication. Our Priority No 1, Priority No 2 and Priority No 3 are our guests and the hotel policy encourages the guests to seek the advice of...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

If you can afford it stay here for at least a couple of nights. The hotel is actually in the jungle, monkeys will visit your balcony. It is almost a kilometre in length so everyone gets a view but it is worth asking for an upper floor room to get the best view. This is a very special place and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John T
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred honeymoon destination in Sri Lanka and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer...

3,262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3236)
Viewed
Room/Suite (342)
Viewed
Bathroom (141)
Viewed
View from Room (250)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (288)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (803)
Viewed
Dining (138)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (1239)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
5.1 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,503 reviews
6.7 km away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,409 reviews
2.4 km away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#3 of 15 in Dambulla
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
59 reviews
18.7 km away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
9.1 km away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Price Range: ₹ 9,594 - ₹ 19,772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the Sigirya wing has wonderful views of the lake and Sigiriya beyond.”
ABDBtravels, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We got an upgrade without asking for it - nice surprise.”
swissmiss3, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“New section high floor overlooking the Lake”
Mick0072013, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Breath taking views, Excellent food, Excellent Service, Value for money”
cecilratnayake, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have the view of "Sigiriya Rock Fortress"”
TheCalculus, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5