We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here after a long day exploring he city. Safe to say we were thirsty. The drink menu was 75% unavailable! We stayed for dinner after the thunderstorm and were not impressed by the food either. It was just tasteless. Too bad because the place has potential.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Réda L
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking time to review us about your experience at the hotel.We take note of the above comments, and after a thorough investigation we had the mango juice which you had requested was not available due to the non season period.The Lassy juice which you had requested was not done up to standard for which...

gurgaon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed there for one night the Ambience, the service, food, room and the bathrooms were all very good. A fantastic experience. Wish we had stayed longer to enjoy the location and the beautiful grounds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sudha30
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your experience at the hotel.We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and the amenities on offer.The staff at the hotel do welcome you back to spend more memorable nights and enjoy varieties of food on your next visit to the country. Thank you. Best regards,

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location is excellent. The de lux rooms were quite comfortable. Food (for the Sri Lankan palate) was tasteless and bland. Rice and Curry did not have any flavour. Possibly because its cooked with foreigners in mind. The staff (what little there were) were friendly and obliging but overworked. The place is seriously understaffed. We felt that there was probably...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NavinSM
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking time to post your comments after your recent stay at the Sanctuary at Tissawewa. Naturally we would have liked your stay with us to have been more enjoyable but appreciate the trouble taken to provide us constructive criticism which is most valuable for us. We do make a special point to ensure our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

he only nice thing is the building, which has had it's best time. The food took forever (even for Sri Lankan standards) and was tasteless. We got our mains with our starters and we were shooed out of the restaurant as soon as we took our last bite. They turned the wifi off at 10 sharp (in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hanselchen
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking time to write about your stay at our hotel in Trip Advisor. We are most concerned to note that in many ways you found our service and facilities wanting. We apologize for these omissions as it is our aim to ensure utmost guest satisfaction for which we have trained our staff. We are...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights and always ate at the restaurant. This place is splendid, an ancient colonial house with a big garden full of flowers and trees. It is very close to the archaeological site (yet I would advise you take a tuk tuk from the hotel to tour the ruins). The food was delicious, sometimes service would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fa77
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay & the amenities that were on offer. At times when the restaurant is crowded, the service is a bit slow for which we apologize to it.But we make sure and try our best to give the requested meal quickly. And at all times we see that the...

Shrewsbury
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We broke up our days cycling to have lunch at The Sanctuary. Fantastic service and lovely food in a relaxing and calm atmosphere. The hotel and restaurant is aptly named. Look out for the Grey Langur monkeys playing on the lawn.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StephWill
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your meal at this hotel.We do welcome you back to spend a few nights and enjoy sumptuous food on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Thank you. Best regards,

sydney,australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Set amidst lush gardens this serene hotel exudes the charm of years gone by.The verandas are very inviting and a wonderful place to relax. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. Our room upstairs (no. 1) was very spacious and nicely decorated with interesting pieces of old dark wood furnishings.It also had an ante room with a single bed in it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hamilstra
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay & the amenities that were on offer. It was nice to hear that you had enjoyed your meal ,and taking note of the review above, certain fruits are available only oftenly . but we do hope on your next visit you could spend more nights and enjoy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

This hotel is in a good location for siteseeing around the old town.lovely old colonial building very characterful The rooms were adequate . The staff were not all that helpful and we had some difficulty with the restaurant head man, who was difficult and almost rude on occasions! Food was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan_byrne54
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We thank you for your comment about your stay with us at the Sanctuary at Tissawewa recently. Whilst we note you enjoyed the ambience of our special property, we are deeply concerned about the problems you encountered with our restaurant staff which we are investigating. Customer care is a key part of the service we offer and this...

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Food and setting were both superb. The old colonial building provides wonderful shade during the midday sun and food is wonderful. The service was excellent. Definitely worth a trip for lunch if you're exploring Anuradhapura.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike W
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit to this hotel.The staff at the hotel are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your meals and that you were happy with the service.We do welcome you back on your next visit to Anuradhapura to spend a few nights with us and enjoy some...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We stayed in this hotel surrounded by nature and quiet serene atmosphere. The best vegetarian food we had for a long time. The services were excellent classy and the meals were just cooked and well prepared at the time with many variations to chose. It was very close to prominent archaeological Buddhist sites and very good location to drive. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anurajay
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay & the amenities that were on offer.All the staff at the hotel were glad to hear that you were satisfied with the the service and meals e.t.c and we do welcome you back to spend more nights in this beautiful heritage colonial property. Thank you. Best regards,

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
2.5 km away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 14 in Anuradhapura
404 reviews
2.1 km away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 14 in Anuradhapura
404 reviews
2.8 km away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#13 of 14 in Anuradhapura
135 reviews
2.7 km away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#11 of 14 in Anuradhapura
109 reviews
5.8 km away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#4 of 14 in Anuradhapura
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming Colonial hotel dating back to 1907, Built with luxury, the only hotel within the Sacred city of Anuradhapura. nestled in a 14 acre block of land which is a home to many species of birds and not forgetting the monkeys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

Address: Old Puttalam Road, Old Town, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tissawewa Resthouse)
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Price Range: ₹ 7,075 - ₹ 12,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sanctuary At Tissawewa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sanctuary At Tissawewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissawewa Resthouse Anuradhapura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sanctuary At Tissawewa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pack mosquito repellant if you want to enjoy the beautiful grounds of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles sudha30, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors would be better for ventilation and natural atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles anurajay, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Select a room in the upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles MithilaNRishi, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles dodan2016, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms a re the same”
 of 5 bubbles traceymQ1424GY, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates