We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Pakarina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostal Pakarina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Room was comfortable and clean although left some things to be desired. Staff was wonderful and breakfast started early enough to give you time before heading out to Macchu Picchu. Hot water was spotty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We choose this hostel because it was relatively cheap for Aguas Calientes (although everything there is expensive). We stayed one short night to hike Machu Piccu early the next morning and I wouldn't have stayed another night. The bathroom had mould all over the  place, the room was dirty and the staff was friendly but spoke hardly any English. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank don_maetty
Panama
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

So this is a true budget hostel! It's run down but........ We had the most comfortable king size bed we've slept in since our travels trough Central and South America started 10 months ago! Super soft, clean and comfy down pillows and comforter. They also had Direct TV which had lots of English language channels when you just want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CostaWhyNot
Terrebonne, Canada
Reviewed 2 May 2016

They say that during the mid and high season approximately 2500 people per day come to Machu Picchu. And to get there you have to stay at Aguas Calientes so yes they are waiting for you. Waiting for your money . . . not to have the opportunity to give you quality services. So renting a room in a hostal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michel20958
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Reviewed 24 April 2016

So the place isn't out of this world, but it's not going to be for what you pay. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, and the staff were very helpful. Lots of blankets for when it gets cold at night. It is quite far up the hill though! Also very helpful with getting me hot water for some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily L
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

I was expecting a great place, for the value we paid. Initially we booked a 4 bed private room and when we got there they said it was under maintenance and put us in two two bed rooms. When we got to the rooms they were dirty, the toilet was filthy and it had minimal toilet paper. Both rooms had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Constanza C
Almeria, Spain
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Hostel is quite dirty. Towels and sheets completely broken and many holes. When requested at reception to change room, the offered one in same conditions. Couldn't even stay one night. Just really cheap place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Botasviajeras
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for average, this is your place. The bathroom was clean and the room was Spartan. It's a good choice if you're staying for a couple of nights, but I wouldn't prolong my stay there unnecessarily. We could hear some noise through the walls, so don't plan on total silence. This is the view from the window.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamusHikaru
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We arrived in Aguas calientes and we were taken to another hotel seemingly because the room we reserved was not available. The replacement hote is on a noisy street and was not up to the same standard and we felt quite deceived by this whole affair .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmanshoven
Freddy c, Gerente at Hostal Pakarina, responded to this review

I am so sorry, but our hotel was experiencing water problems. It is very common in the village of Machu Picchu. we offered to carry a other hotel, same category. we prepare sanwinch and store your luggage for free. the pickup and transfer was bad, becouse the tourism agencyand tour guide don´t wait at train station, which does not belong...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here after leaving another hotel in Aguas Calientes that was horrendous. Maybe it was because I was on the heels of that bad experience, but Pakarina was very comfortable (we had a king bed) and quiet. Breakfast was just average, but the price, comfort, host, and location were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jasmine W

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 km away
Hostal Sol de Oro
Hostal Sol de Oro
#7 of 40 in Aguas Calientes
168 reviews
0.0 km away
Sinchi Roca
Sinchi Roca
#10 of 40 in Aguas Calientes
12 reviews
0.1 km away
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
Pirwa Hostel Machu Picchu
#11 of 41 in Aguas Calientes
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
Hostal New Day Machupicchu
#23 of 40 in Aguas Calientes
33 reviews
0.3 km away
Eco Machu Picchu Pueblo
Eco Machu Picchu Pueblo
#26 of 40 in Aguas Calientes
93 reviews
0.3 km away
Ecopackers Machupicchu
Ecopackers Machupicchu
#3 of 41 in Aguas Calientes
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pakarina Hostel is it in Pachacuteq Ave. Only five minutes walking from train station an bus station is a good near to Hot Spring. The hostal Pakarina is located in the heart of the town of Machupicchu good location, have a restaurants, bar, spa, market, near to hostel. Al rooms have a bathroom and free wifi, the price included breackfast. We are waiting all time for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Pakarina

Address: Pachacuteq Ave | Near to Hot Spring, Aguas Calientes cusc 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Price Range: ₹ 2,240 - ₹ 2,715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Pakarina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Pakarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Pakarina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Pakarina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor preferably.”
  • Two beds was cool
  • Nice for the price
 of 5 bubbles Michel20958, 2 May 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay