We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

The Federal Palace Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Federal Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Federal Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Benin City, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is my second time here with my family, enjoyed it so much the first time my kids wanted to come back. However this time around they were very disappointed the children's pool was not working which really killed their fun. We complained was told they were working on it, but till we left it didn't work. The breakfast is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jude I
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jude I Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to read about your unhappiness regarding the baby pool, particularly as we have no record of the non-availability of the baby pool. In addition 26 December is traditionally one of our peak attendance days and consequently the Pool Club receives our full management attention. Perhaps you would like to... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The entire staff at the Federal Palace were friendly and accomodating. Very good customer service. It turned out to be a relaxing nice weekend getaway. Will stay here again. My only complaints are the room service and ironing: food delivery took a while and there are no irons or ironing boards in the room.

Helpful?
Thank jensees
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenms27 Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel & Casino. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Your comment regarding the provision of an iron and ironing board has been noted. We deem this to this to be a safety risk in an environment where emergency services are limited and... More 

Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The rooms are nice and spacious. The breakfast buffet is well laid out. Specially like the Chinese spread of stir fried noodles. The only improvement that I would like to see in the room, is the provision of having Iron and Iron board so that business travelers like me can get the clothes ironed out before leaving for the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank ayan_mukherji
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Havaki Thank you for your review after your December stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. We are glad that you found the hotel services and facilities to your liking. As hotel focused on business travellers, we understand the importance of fast reliable internet and have invested heavily in infrastructure and staff to ensure just that. I look forward to... More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

In November 2013 I spent 3 nights at the Federal Palace Hotel. I visit Lagos regularly for work and stayed in two other hotels before. Of the three hotels this is the best. Very pleasant staff, an excellent breakfast, small but very practical rooms, free and fast Wifi, located near my work location (important for me, but not for everybody... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Havaki
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hayaki Thank you for completing a Tripadvisor review following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. We were delighted to read your ratings of the hotel and the service, particularly the quality of the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal palace on your next visit to Lagos. Kind regards David Kliegl General Manager... More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a week at Federal Palace during the month of October 2013. I only have compliments for both the staff and the management. The rooms are spacious and are beautifully maintained. Excellent free wifi, with great speed and quality. I was able to work from the hotel with no issues. The food, excellent quality and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chene M
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chene M Thank you for completing a Tripadvisor review following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel, and for your very complimentary comments. We are particularly pleased that not only have you found our facilities, food and service at a high level of quality, but you have also enjoyed the feeling of safety and being secure as a... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the federal for 5 nights at the end of September 2013 and we have stayed there over the years. To sum it up. Room 8/10 facilities 9/10 service 8/10 Overall it was the a wonderful relaxing time we really like the federal, but for a while the food has been very disappointing because of that we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank caladoc
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caladoc Thank you for completing a Tripadvisor review following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the disappointing food. We would like to discuss the food issues in more detail, as your review comment was very generic. Please would you be so kind as to email me with the details of the poor... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I traveled to Lagos on work and stayed at the Federal Palace. The hotel is a fine business hotel. The wi-fi connection is excellent. The rooms, though a little on the smaller side are comfortable. I had a sea facing room, which afforded nice views of the harbour. The staff is polite and helpful. The breakfast spread was large, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anas W
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anas W Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Federal Palace Hotel. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy breakfast during your stay, as our breakfast is highly rated and we normally receive many compliments for it. Please would you be so kind as to email me with the details... More 

florence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had the pleasure to spend nearly a month at Federal Palace while in Lagos for business, and I can only say good things about the hotel. Very nice appointed rooms, with big windows facing either the city or the busy harbor, and most importantly the rooms are spotless clean. Very good free wifi also, with great speed and quality,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lenifi
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lenifi Thank you for posting a review of the Federal Palace following your recent stay. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor we were delighted with your evaluation of the service and facilities of the Federal Palace Hotel, particularly the safety aspect as female travelling alone and the cleanliness of our rooms. We all look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Chennai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed for two days as a business traveller. Hotel is modern with comfortable rooms. Good responsive staff. Breakfast is okay, nothing great. Dinner buffet is bad, avoid it and order something from the a la carte or eat outside.

Helpful?
Thank coolseenu
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Coolseenu Thank you for your review of the Federal Palace Hotel following your recent stay. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our popular Businessman’s Dinner served in Ancestors Bar. The items on offer include a number of traditional Nigerian dishes, which my not suit all palettes. We do hope that you enjoyed your meal... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Travelled for business to Lagos and stayed at the Federal Palace for the first time. I have stayed in another Hotel in Lagos but was really blown away by the friendly staff and hands on management to ensure that my stay is pleasant. I would definately recommend it for a change of scenery and superb customer service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronell V
david_kliegl, General Manager at The Federal Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronell V Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay. We are delighted with your recommendation to stay at the Federal Palace Hotel for superb customer service and hands on management. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Federal palace on your next visit to Lagos. Kind regards David Kliegl More 

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
3.8 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
4.8 km away
The Wheatbaker
The Wheatbaker
#1 of 130 in Lagos
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
333 reviews
3.4 km away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
603 reviews
2.1 km away
Eko Hotels & Suites
Eko Hotels & Suites
#15 of 130 in Lagos
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the commercial hub of Lagos, Nigeria’s Federal Palace Hotel is tailored to international corporate standards. Conduct a boardroom meeting within the walls that witnessed the signing of Nigeria’s Independence Declaration or manage your daily business affairs in the convenience of one of the eight boardrooms. The Federal Palace Hotel caters for corporate travellers who value consistency in excellence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Federal Palace Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Ahmadu Bello Way, Lagos, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Price Range: ₹ 11,728 - ₹ 16,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Federal Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Federal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Federal Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
New Glasgow, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Federal Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lagoon Facing - 4th -5th floor”
 of 5 bubbles 658ralpht, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the Sea”
 of 5 bubbles R9905AYandrewa, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“ocean view rooms have amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles LiyaD28, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you are an international traveler you will need an adapter for charging your devices. Ask the receptionist like I did”
  • My Room+King size bed
 of 5 bubbles iPhiLgreat, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for water view room on higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles josesanty, 27 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay