We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riad Baraka

Hostelworld.comUS$ 23*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Riad Baraka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riad Baraka
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Morocco
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We only stayed one night unfortunately, but this was a great hostel, friendly, safe and clean, located close to the old town square. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, we felt at home straight away. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to meet some nice folk and chill Out on the terrace.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Millimollymandy
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review happy you enjoyed our place!

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Our stay was absolutely perfect. The room are cheap but cosy, breakfast is excellent, the terrace is great and everybody is SO nice. The location is perfect, in the medina. You must stay there, that is for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AudreeArchambault
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we are a Budget hostel but try to of a more Boutique style experience thanks again .

BELGRADE, SERBIA
Reviewed 4 December 2014 via mobile

Now i see that a lot of travelers share my opinion about the hostel owner, British lady Emma. She really IS very rude and totally not helpful. As a hostel owner i kindly ask her for discount and i did not get any answer. We had to pay extra for keeping my small bag for few hours ( totally nonsense)....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank BOJANA-BELGRADE
joechaouen, Manager at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Dear Bojana, It's totally fine to ask for a discount but it is a different thing to demand one and be upset and rude if you don't get it. And to be honest, we don't really see the point in giving a discount for a one night stay in a dorm at 68MDH (6.20€) per bed. As you mentioned correctly...

Butler, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Great place to stay, very relaxed environment. As previously reviewed, fantastic terrace on the rooftop with nice views of the town and mountains. Anne made sure our stay was comfortable (we booked two days but liked it so well that we stayed for a third day, missing our extra day in Fes... but well worth it!)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank greggums
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and Complementing my mums hospitality ! Cheers Joe !

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Our group stayed here for one night and that's enough. The lady owner was rude, arrogant and lots of don'ts in this hostel treating this hostel like an university hostel. Practically no facilities provided. Even though they have a small kitchen, it's out of bound. Private use only. Practically no space to move around and the rooms are so small,...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Unseonsinable
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

To be honest we were so glad you only stayed one night as you took over the place and tried to use it as your groups personnel doss house with no consideration for other guests and the signs, are for Groups exactly like yours ! The tax is levied by the Morocan tourism board and not us, in fact we...

Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

We loved this place!! The views, atmosphere, staff, cleanliness, rooms, food - everything was amazing. This is a have-to-stay destination in Marrakech. also male sure that you book - a lot of travellers had tp find other accommodation as Anne was fully booked, and understandably so. The only negative was that Anne had a full-on confrontation with one of her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iamfree28
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and appreciating my mums hospitality but she has high standards and best wishes for the place genuinely sorry you saw a Staff argument Mohamed(8 years) Hananan 2.5 yrs) and Monsif (3yrs) were family and a team and yes we have fallen out in the past but as you can see the vast Majority of reviews say...

Desford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2014

one would not of thought of finding a little bit of great Britain in a muslim country .. great views from the roof top ,a proper place to sit and drink a cold one.. breakfast is a good size for the price, a real treat seeing your in a back packers hostel, more like a small hotel .... so all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kevin h
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks great review and for recognising my mum and the rest of the teams effort in providing more than just a room! Cheers mate.

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Great place, was a little difficult to find at first, but we had a great stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms were clean, bathrooms clean, lovely rooftop terrace with loads of space to hang out. Breakfast was really good and cheap as well. Great wifi! All the staff was great, we had a great time with Anne,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shannon G
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and complementing my mum she gets up every day to make yours more enjoyable! Thanks !

Washington D.C Metro Area
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Not only the rooms are extremely clean but also the people there are fantastic!!The wifi, and the map drawn on the wall made everything so easy! Plus Chaouen is such a lovely blue town! I even met an American couple who stayed there a couple of years ago and now revisited the riad again!! I love the sweet butter bread...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BigpandaGrace
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

Thank you my idea of the perfect review . Cheers mate!

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Best hostel in all of Morocco! If you go, make sure to bring some chewing tobacco for Anne ;) The roof terrace and decks give you incredible views of the mountains, and Anne is honestly the best person in the world. She will protect you from the hagglers and give advice for all the things to do in the city!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jimmy A
joechaouen, Owner at Riad Baraka, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed the Baraka and thanks for complementing my Mum treat my mum with manners and she will move mountains literally ! Cheers Joe

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
153 reviews
0.2 km away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
459 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
112 reviews
51.0 km away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
231 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostel Souika
Hostel Souika
#13 of 31 in Chefchaouen
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dar el Baraka sits just 70 meters from the Medina's main gate, centrally located to explore Chaouen’s ancient Medina. Dar el Baraka is an original six hundred year old riad converted into a comfortable guest house with six rooms, four bathrooms, various common areas and a stunning blue terrace. There are many corners in the riad to curl up in to watch satellite TV, read, talk, or simply daydream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riad Baraka

Address: 12 Derb | Ben Yakoub, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Price Range: ₹ 726 - ₹ 1,524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Baraka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riad Baraka staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Riad Baraka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the main floor if possible, you can't sleep in past 8am because breakfast is served right outside the dorm room's doors!”
KirstenRoche, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room number 1 is an 8-bed dorm right off the lounge area. I didn't stay in this room, however, I imagine it would be a little noisy at times”
  • 4 bed dorm
Tily_Travels, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“for couples the nice twobedrooms are very comfortable and romantic, the dorm has lockers, really good beds and nice blancets!”
rh659, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“just be nice, and not loud”
162kevinh, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“In the dorms, top bunks don't have rails so take the bottom if you're a roller :)”
564jeremyd, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 23* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates