We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Perhentian Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Perhentian Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Perhentian Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the premium beach front room for 4nights. My husband and me like snorkeling very much, so we were looking for beautiful coral beach. This beach was the one that we found. There are many fish(including NEMO), coral,turtle,babyshark,stingray,etc. If you like the beautiful sea you will surely love this place.And this hotel has very kind staff. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALICECHRI
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Alice, Thank you for staying with us recently and am sure you found our newly refurbished beachfront room comfortable. Perhentian Island Resort is sandwiched with marine life at the front and interesting wildlife at the back, making it a wonderful resort destination. I have shared your comments to the team and Lokman and the Housekeeping team were delighted to...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Our reservation was not honored, it was our honeymoon and we had pre-booked a sea view room (over 6 months in advance) but on arrival we were told it had been given to someone else, no explanation as to why. We should have left there and then but it was late.. Breakfast is awful, loud music as well as a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobbysocks76
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Our sincere apologies for unable to accommodate your booking recently due to unforeseen circumstances. As you are aware, we had arranged various alternatives in which I personally attended to you. We fully understand your predicament and had extended our fullest assistance to you during the time. We emphasize on our customer satisfaction and will always do whatever we...

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Traveled with kids aged 4 and 5 years old. Great location and awesome beach!! Amazing views towards Kecil. The resort is way overpriced unfortunately. The is a major drawback. The restaurant menus really need more specialties and varieties. Chill out on the beach is free as the beach is as you would expect from a paradise! Best beach on Besar....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gøran M
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Goran, Thank you for staying with us and had a wonderful time exploring the Perhentian Islands. It is indeed a paradise here and we at the resort always emphasize the conservation and protection program for the island, thus initiated various community projects including beach and underwater clean up on a regular basis together with the local authorities and volunteers....

Reviewed 9 August 2016

PIR is the best location in our opinion in Perhentian Besar. We went over to the other side of the beach, the wave is strong and the beach is not so clean. Many resorts there share the same beach. More privacy and peaceful in PIR. Great place for snorkeling under the Jetty...shallow and calm water. Only suggestion they should change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wh T
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi ! Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are glad to thoroughly had a good time here and appreciated the beauty of our resort. Your comment on the food has been well noted and we will continue to enhance our variety to cater to all our guests from different corners of the world. Thank you once more and...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We just had lunch there with my friend, and it was way too expensive for the quality. My friend didnt enjoy her rice and my salad was really tiny! There are much better restaurants after coral view resort on the other side (10 min walk only).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adeline j
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Adeline, Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for not meeting up with your expectation. Your comment had been shared with our team and action has been taken to ensure a better portioning of our food served to all our guests. Thank you again for letting us know as we are constantly seeking ways of improvement for both...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 August 2016

They really have nice beach compare to the rest of the hotels and I've been in early July when it was a peak period as it was a public holiday. Although the crowd wasn't as many, they surely have a very nice beach view. However it was kinda over rated with their rooms as it was not a modern style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherlin t
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sherlin, Thank you for your feedback which we valued very much. We view your feedback seriously and will definitely further improve areas mentioned. For your information, our rooms refurbishment program is about 80% completed and hopefully the rest will be ready very soon. Our new rooms definitely very tastefully furnished and have been receiving compliments from our guests. Our...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed only for a night. On arrival we were given welcome drinks. The staff were warm and friendly. They assisted us with the luggage and also allowed a late check-out without extra charges. We were given a sea-view room which is very nice and tidy. The only thing which is not provided is a telephone to the receptionist, whereby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikshahidah
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shahidah ! It is sad to have you with us for only a night. I'm sure your next trip will be much longer to really appreciate and enjoy the beauty of Perhentian Island. Your feedback is highly appreciated and just for your information, our upgrading exercise is currently on-going, including the installation of telephone in our guest rooms. We...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Beach is very beautiful but still with many rubbish. Service are terribly bad all staff are like dreaming, whatever we ask they will say don't know. Never tend to welcome and brief the guests on the activities. Rooms are old, toilet are so dirty, looks like never wash at all. Ground arrangement are bad too, waited 45 minutes at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jlow2000
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ching, Thank you for spending your recent holiday here with us and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting up with your expectation. We have noted on your feedback and taken steps to improve these shortcomings. Thank you and best regards. SS Tan Resort Manager

Burlingame, California
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stayed here for 5 days with our 2 daughters age 12 and 10. This is a very good resort for families because the beach is very calm and shallow, but you can see lots of fish and even huge turtles. The restaurant serves both western and malay food. From the beach you can take water taxis to other beaches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimandShiva
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jimand, It was our honor to have you and your family enjoying your vacation here. Perhentian Island Resort is surely a perfect destination for families with its white and fine sandy beaches and crystal clear water. It is also highly recommended for those who prefer a quiet vacation, away from all the loud music blasting throughout the night. With...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Location of the Resort is nice, with clean rooms and friendly staffs. Need to change and provide better quality of mattress and pillows. We are a bit disappointed with the quality of buffet food served and seafood for barbeque not fresh. The Resort also have spa but with less experience staff. Water activities are good and great. Beach area well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TengkuFatimahH
sstan2016, Manager at Perhentian Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tengku, Thank you for spending your holiday with us. We have taken note of your comments and have highlighted these shortcomings with our team members. We appreciate much on your feedback and will continue to seek ways for improvement. Thank you again and wishing you a pleasant weekend ! Best regards SS Tan Resort Manager

1,172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (942)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (215)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (405)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Aframe (14)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Beach (35)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Semi Suite (28)
Viewed
Super Deluxe Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.4 km away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
587 reviews
0.6 km away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
238 reviews
1.1 km away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
604 reviews
2.4 km away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
182 reviews
1.3 km away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perhentian Island Resort is an ideal beach resort for a leisurely family vacation in Malaysia. Surrounded by lush greenery, facing white sandy beaches and a warm blue sea, Perhentian Island is a holiday paradise not to be missed. Perhentian Island, or Pulau Perhentian as the locals call it, is well known as a marine paradise and forms a parts of the National Marine Park of Malaysia. In the surrounding areas of Perhentian Island Resort, you will find many things to see and do. Take a jungle trek up the hills under a canopy of large trees, and you might see wild magpies, giant fruit bats or the Nicobar pigeon. Perhentian Island lies along the flight path of this migratory bird. You might also see the harmless monitor lizard or even the unique lutong monkey species. The nearest jungle trail is less than 100 metres away from our resort. Or gather your family and head to the inviting sea for a swim. For those who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving, the Resort is strategically located, fronting a coral-rich bay. The marine ecosystem of this area is well documented and held in high regards by snorkellers and scuba divers. If you come between June and September, you might get lucky and see giant green turtles laying eggs along the beach. Enjoy your next family holiday at this paradise beach resort, where reality is like a dream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Perhentian Island Resort

Address: | Daerah Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: ₹ 5,613 - ₹ 8,954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perhentian Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Perhentian Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Perhentian Island Pulau Besar
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Perhentian Island Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
2 days ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Perhentian Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach front rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles Lyn19591006577, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seaview was worth the extra price”
 of 5 bubbles kirstym301, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Front Beach / Seaview. If not you have to walk so far.”
 of 5 bubbles zafrya, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the Premier rooms - it's newly refurbished and most of the rooms are sea facing, very nice rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Vivian513, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are very similar. Worth requesting a beach front room just in case, but most are anyways.”
 of 5 bubbles dongall, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5