We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sabah Hotel Sandakan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Nice hotel surrounded by greenery. You could spot an eagle flying if you are lucky. The hotel room is huge with HBO channel. Bathroom with bathtub and fully equipt. The restaurant downstairs service is extremely slow but food is good. There are no restaurants or shops nearby. Power cut happens quite frequent in Sandakan. So pack your torchlight.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tinamaureen
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear Tinamaureen, Thank you for your review. Indeed, our unique selling points are our generously spaced room, and our lush greenery surrounding. We are glad that you liked our food, and we regret for not meeting your dining expectation. We have taken note of your comment and rest assured that we hope to welcome you again in the not so...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A family of four, we stayed in the junior suite and found it on the whole a great experience. IN fact, we stayed an extra night! The hotel is a little dated, but nothing to complain about. We were on a non smoking floor which was fine- from experience in Asia usually a fresher feel than the smoking levels. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dene s
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear Dene S, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. As you have correctly mentioned, our Junior Suites are always in demand because of the generous size and the private balcony that overlooks the swimming pool and the infinite greenery. We hope we have served you well. Do...

Melbourne Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is fine. We stayed in a suite that was clean although very musty. The food in the hotel was very average and you are best going to the Nak Hotel and their amazing roof top bar for food and drinks. There was a pool which apparently no other hotel in Sandakan has which was good to break up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Purplepanda17
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and used it as a base for Sepilok, Kinabatang River cruise and then on to Turtle Island. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Sure it's not ultra modern and hasn't been renovated for a while, but it's pleasant and good value for money. It's also got a bit of local personality and a relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MandyMeerkat
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review

Dear MandyMeerkat, Thank you for your review. We are glad that our spacious room and soul soothing swimming pool are to your liking. Our swimming pool has been and will always be the centre of our attraction, as nothing beats a cool dip after a long day in the jungle with sore muscles. We hope to welcome you again in...

Malta
Reviewed 12 July 2012

we stayed here for a couple of nights and was good, it is not central but a taxi is cheap approx 2-3 euro. there isn't much in the centre so might as well stay in the only hotel with a pool. the hotel needs some refurbishment but food and service were good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waniii
Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel has a very pleasant lobby and bar area with a swimming pool that is a real oasis, a perfect to escape from the heat and humidity of the tropics. The rooms are big and you can see that it was built with very good quality furnitures and amenities. The only problem is that it has never been renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Massza
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I went for an escapade and yes i really enjoy and rest myself here. The view from my bedroom window was so wonderful at night. I love this place. Food was ok as well. Value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cintame
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed in a SUPERIOR-ROOM during February 23, 2012, to 27, 2012 4 Nights with my child. The hotel has large room size with good bed and clean atmosphere. My child play around in the room and at the large good swimming pool. The breakfast is basic and having this 4 days is boring. To go to city center, need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeganarayanan
Mukah, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 June 2012

this hotel set my mind peace and make me so happy with the food and drink ,,,, a harmony view make me feel so happiness

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zientiong
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We really liked this hotel - open, spacious lobby, fine pool, large comfortable rooms and all at a reasonable price. However the carpet in our room was seriously stained and need to be replaced - pity but it lowered our opinion. The dinner in the Plantation Restaurant was ok but not great - Beef Randang was very very tough. But...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beahive

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (252)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
4:28
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
1.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
18.4 km away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
562 reviews
18.4 km away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
314 reviews
1.8 km away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
62 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Address: Km 1 Jalan Utara, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: ₹ 2,198 - ₹ 3,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabah Hotel Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabah Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sabah Hotel Sandakan staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sabah Hotel Sandakan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floor with pool view gives you view of gardens.”
248AnneM, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the pool is nice”
UrbanDrifter, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose deluxe rooms, they have a pool view.”
erikapelles, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for one with a pool side view”
Ketts2012, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Maybe go for a pool view room”
tezzaBrisbane, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5