We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lakana Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lakana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent staff, so helpful and friendly! When we were at Lakana, the boats to the mainland weren't going for days. The manager arranged a flight for us, just amazing. Beautiful restaurant and rooms right on the water! Would absolutely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank YRoos
Flanders, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've enjoyed our stay in the Lakana Hotel. The staff is very friendly and the kitchen is excellent. The garden is a beautiful presentation of the local trees and flowers and the turtles where a pleasant surprise. The hotel is perfectly located with abreathtaking seaview

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Haya H
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed 5 nights at this wonderful hotel on October 2016. The bungalows in the garden are beautiful, the service is great and the food is amazing. The garden bungalows are a lot better than the over water once ( The over water bungalows don't have adjacent bathrooms ). The fish and seafood in the restaurant are exquisite

Helpful?
Thank iliaflax
LakanaHotel, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review, thanks a lot ! Very pleased to know that you enjoyed ours services, the kitchen and our local food ! We have bungalows over the lagoon water and bungalows inside our botanic garden, to be sure that everyone can find what he looks like. Best regards and hope to you again in Ste Marie ! The... More 

Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We chose the bungalow above the sea ("pilotis"), and we were certainly not disappointed! We were given the one at the far end, which means that you wake up seeing only the sea, which was absoslutely wonderful. The food is good, the staff is very helpful and the service is great. We went whalewatching with CétaMada and the whole experience... More 

Helpful?
Thank MargauxTD
LakanaHotel, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you for your comment. Very pleased to know that you enjoyed the place, our staff and services we proposed. You chose the best bungalow, number 9 ! We hope to see you again one day in Sainte-Marie. Best regards. The Lakana Team More 

London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We based ourselves here for a few days in Ile St Marie. This is a lovely hotel, with bungalows in front of the sea. Beach is not always accessible due to the tides. The rooms were large and the had a seperate toilet!!! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, The food was very good and I thought the prices were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patchs
Lakana M, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you for your comment. It's very important for us to hear from our guests. We are very pleased to know that you had a good experience in the hotel and hope to see you again one day in Sainte-Marie. Unfortunately, the beach has shrunk over the years. When we arrived 30 years ago, the sea level was... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2016

I stayed here in May 2016 for almost a week with family. Location is beautiful, the cottages over water are simple but functional, and you only hear the sound of the waves and the wind. Unfortunately the weather was not great and we had lots of rain and wind. We got there with a boat from Sonierana Ivongo but due... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb8887
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, big and clean Bungalows, beautiful gardens and extremely nice and helpful staff! The manager herself helps you with everything, from calling Boats, scooter rentals, Tuktuk drivers... I've never met a whole team full of such nice people anywhere else in madagascar so far, so this is really special. Great breakfast and good food, a little high prices for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mari S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We really loved this place! The bungalows on the water are super cozy with the best view of the ocean you can imagine. Rova, the manager, is extremely helpful in arranging flights and other activities. The food is also delicious, ask for the special of the day! Highly recommended and the best prize in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Jonas W
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Stayed in the sea bungalow on the water. It was beautiful. Only thing is that the bathrooms are not in the bungalow so you much walk use the restroom. The room was very nice and clean. The staff changed our sheets and put down the mosquito net for us every night. The food was delicious!!! Rova spoke very good english.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inna M
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

I hadn't searched for long before I selected Lakana Hotel for my stay on Sainte Marie, Madagascar but after staying on the island for a week or so I can't imagine tthat I could have made a better choice. The place is just beautiful - just see some of the photos I attach. I particularly recommend bungallows on the lagoon,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piotr W

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
25.9 km away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
150 reviews
2.6 km away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
258 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Soanambo
Hotel Soanambo
#5 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
73 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Libertalia
Hotel Libertalia
#3 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
186 reviews
0.0 km away
La Crique
La Crique
#8 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Lakana Hotel

Address: Andampanangoy , BP 2 | Ile Sainte Marie, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Price Range: ₹ 2,036 - ₹ 2,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lakana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakana Hotel Madagascar/Nosy Boraha
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lakana Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lakana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whale watching, arranged through Lakana was absolutely amazing! We went twice”
 of 5 bubbles YRoos, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All bungalows are beach front, we had one at the end and got to enjoy the pet tortoises”
 of 5 bubbles Patchs, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bungalow over water”
 of 5 bubbles Deb8887, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Sea bungalow has no bathrooms but better views.”
 of 5 bubbles 773innam, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Free wi-fi in the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles 419piotrw, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay