We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Vanivola

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Vanivola
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Montlucon, France
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I had the chance to stay for 10 nights at the Vanivola hotel in May 2016. It was a lovely experience, more especially because of the great kindness and efficient service of the whole hotel staff, efficiently managed by Joan. Tough to find on the island such a good quality value hotel! I'm glad I did!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retired10110
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff, good location, good food. Rooms are very clean and the best was massage, really relaxing. Finally we were unhappy to leave this place. It is a nice place to rest and discover all island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Õnne L
Luxembourg
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

The bungalows were kind of noisy. You could hear cars passing by all day/night long. The bungalows were a bit pricy, we paid 80€ for the ultimate bungalow with the sea view. Bungalows were nice and functional but we would have expect better. We would recommend an air extractor in bathroom to avoid black spots on the wall and evacuate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atahiana
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in one of the upstairs rooms in the main building (room 108). Rooms are basic but spacious and clean with a lovely large balcony overlooking the sea. Non-bungalow rooms don't have air conditioning and we needed to request extra fans as it was so hot - which the staff happily obliged with. Only small niggle was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soz11
Jacques B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Vanivola, responded to this review
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour ce merveilleux commentaire. Malgré les petits bémols que vous avez rencontré, nous sommes heureux de savoir...

Sydney
Reviewed 27 October 2014 via mobile

Vanivola is a pleasant resort with very friendly & accommodating staff. Our bungalow was clean & a 3 star quality standard. The beds were quite hard & pillows a bit lumpy. The shower head was handheld only. Our air con didn't work however they did offer to move us after they tried to fix it. Good location, close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JackieS85
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vanivola, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripavisor.com We are delighted to know that you could enjoy your stay with us despite the inconvenience you may have encountered. See you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

I write this review to warn potential guests about the very serious risk of being robbed in this hotel, especially if you are in a bungalow. Unfortunately I speak from experience having just been relieved of my new camera, and, more importantly its memory card. I feel most strongly that this was an "inside job" and that it won't be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kim d
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vanivola, responded to this review

We're really sorry this happened to you. The investigation is ongoing, but it is difficult because there is no break-ins ... Moreover, the fact that we do not know the brand of the camera to limit searches. Upon receipt of the invoice of the aircraft, we will ask our insurance reimbursement. By cons, it is unfortunate that you consider selfless...

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at Vanivola for 2 nights in a basic room. The room was clean and the bed was ok. Even though the room was not expensive, you will be able to find better places for the same price in Saint Marie. Staff were not very hospitable. The food from the restaurant was poor. The prices are the same as in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jos F
Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We also stayed here as the last stop on a tour and had a pleasant stay. We had a room in the main building with its own balcony and views over the pool and beach. The room itself was a good size but the adjoining bathroom was very small with just an open shower and toilet. There was no room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKW479
Staunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was the last hotel that we stayed in as part of an organised tour to Madagascar. The rooms (we had a bungalow) have views overlooking the sea and are well proportioned and clean. The bed however, was disappointing, as it was extremely hard. In addition, the shower did not have a curtain and so the bathroom tended to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceri74
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent a couple of wonderful days at the Vanivola on Ile Sainte Marie. We had a spacious comfortable and clean room in the main building with a nice veranda and view of the sea. Breakfast and dinner was mainly served outdoors and with sea view. The beach however is not suitable for swimming. We found the service and staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maja T

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
6.0 km away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
150 reviews
20.6 km away
Hotel Soanambo
Hotel Soanambo
#5 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
107 reviews
23.1 km away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
73 reviews
3.0 km away
Masoandro Lodge
Masoandro Lodge
#10 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
49 reviews
25.2 km away
Hotel Maningory
Hotel Maningory
#11 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming Hotel *** located in the south west of the island of Sainte Marie. Infinity pool, WiFi, BC. Bar Restaurant. 9 Air-conditioned bungalows facing the ocean. 10 Rooms including 5 with all terrace with ventilation. Bilingual staff. Many activities. Minibus 14 seats for transfers. 8M20 boat for fishing, whale safari and excursions. Location: 3 km from the city center and 7 km from the airport. Massage and beauty treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vanivola

Address: Mahavelou, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Price Range: ₹ 2,580 - ₹ 4,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vanivola 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vanivola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vanivola Madagascar/Nosy Boraha
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vanivola staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible check out a selection of rooms if you are staying in the main building and pick the one best for you”
 of 5 bubbles JKW479, 28 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Main building with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles MajaT640, 2 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Choose a bungalow with AC... rooms come with small fans.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterPanGlobe, 27 Dec 2012 | Read review
“take bangalo no 3”
 of 5 bubbles AbdulrahmanA653, 23 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Bungalow number one the most secludied”
 of 5 bubbles CliveH376, 21 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay