We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Watching the black faced monkeys playing in the trees outside your room is amazing. Lots of bird life in the game lodge as well. The rooms are great, service was very good. The African show was a really enjoyable way to relax after the safari. Lots of great game around the area - even saw a white Rhino just outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen255114
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Someone once told me that you will be remembered not so much for what you did but for how you made others feel. Sarova Lion Hill staff didn't just deliver their services to my family, they put their best foot forward and made us feel so special. We cried because they touched our hearts with their exceptional hospitality and genuine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimeu2016
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent one night with my girlfriend on her maiden visit to the Rift Valley. The rooms were very neatly laid. They have a very good menu, the chocolate mousse was simply amazing. After dinner we sat at the bonfire since it was chilly. Then a gentleman came along with a guitar, played our requests, and we danced the night away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilipKN
Ronnie K, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy New year! Thank you for staying with us and giving us feedback on your stay. We are humbled to learn that your stay was great and that you enjoyed the menu offers and our seasoned guitarist. Am glad you did see the various wildlife we have in the park. We look foward to hosting you again. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The buffet is great, the rooms are mediocre. Most importantly - there is no enclosed space (except your room and a small bar) in the hotel where you can hide from pesky mosquitoes. And WiFi doesn't work in the rooms so we had to sit in the bar which had windows open. This is not a big deal but could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visiting lake Nakuru park. The lodge itself is adequate and offers a better quality buffet than some of the other lodges I have visited. There are nice views from the patio and there is also an outdoor pool. The hotel has a tribal dance show at 7pm which was well done and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordana L
Ronnie K, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy new year! Thank you for staying with us and giving us valuable feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed our services despite our room product not exceeding your expectations. However we Have taken your feedback into consideration and will continue to ensure our room product to perfection. Thank you and look foward to hosting you again....

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We WISH we would have stayed here! Great place inside the park. Good food (we had lunch) and amazing views with a very nice ambience! I would like to see if other meals were better. Worth a stop after a dusty day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
Ronnie K, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy new year greetings! Thank you for choosing to visit us for a meal. We are humbled on your feedback. I do note you enjoyed the food and service. We do trust next time you will have the time to stay with us. Thank you and happy new year once again. Kind regards

Mombasa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was staying at the Sarova Lion Hill for a night on Christmas day and we extremely enjoyed our stay. However, i personally think one or two nights is enough, as there is not much activity at the hotel. Its basically all about dining and relaxing. It actually got boring after a while. Food was awesome, and the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imran N
Ronnie K, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy new year greetings and Thank you for visiting us. We much appreciate the feedback and note areas of improvement. However we take note of the pool though not heated, the ambience in this location within a premium park is excellent. We look foward to hosting you again. Kind regards

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Still a nice hotel, with a friendly staff and good buffet. But when you arrive from the Masai Mara, you clearly feel you dropped a star compared to their hotel there. We booked as part of a safari tour so I cant talk of the value for price but still it was overall a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supertramp F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we arrived here directly from the Masai Mara and it's quite an anti climax due to the park-type and atmosphere. The hotel is nice, and if you have limited time it's a good way to see animals in a park, but don't expect a safari-type experience. We did see Rhino and a family of lions feasting on a zebra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brindlg
Ronnie K, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy new year greetings! Thank you for taking time to visit us at Sarova Lionhill Game Lodge. We acknowledge and appreciate your feedback on our property. We are sorry about the terrible traffic from Mara to. Nakuru and back. We look foward to hosting you again. Kind regards

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After the typically Kenyan effusive welcome came the question- "which tour operator are you with?" Er, no, actually we do our own thing. This was after all a Sarova establishment, excusivity for the mass tourist market. Beautiful facilities, good food, everything a tourist would want. Including tribal dancing before dinner, a tribal conga through the restaurant and a particularly persistent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil H
Ronnie K, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sarova Lionhill Game lodge! Thank you for the feedback received. We are always glad to receive feedback that helps us gauge our services. I note in your feedback you liked our food, service , rooms and facilities. We appreciate your feedback and we shall continue to keep our standards high. We look foward to hosting you...

625 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (606)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (165)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (225)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
22.0 km away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
72 reviews
9.0 km away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 15 in Nakuru
52 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
154 reviews
14.9 km away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
76 reviews
15.2 km away
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
Maili Saba Camp - Nakuru
#5 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range: ₹ 10,376 - ₹ 25,804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites over looking the gardens are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles ImranN_11, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles tillysouth, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms Overlooking The Plains”
  • My Room Mate
 of 5 bubbles Kerala2014, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lodges with a view to the lake”
 of 5 bubbles seabreezesal, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ok.”
 of 5 bubbles burnettkilasi, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay