We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carabao

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Carabao
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carabao
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

Room was a good value, clean and big. Nice if you are attending the dive school below. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning, but luckily the room opened up to a nice balcony to allow a breeze inside. The only downfall to the room I had was it was directly next to/above of the bar. The music and loud people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duhrowthee
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I have spent 6 days in Carabao dormitory. It was the WORST PLACE I have slept in All Asia. The firsts days the toilets and the showers did not work so they opened a private room for us to be able to shower and go to toilet. The days after there was a flooding in the bathroom. Really poor facilities,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Moumou P
Carabao Diving K, Manager at Carabao, responded to this review

The dormitory is open for a little more than one year, so not too old I would say, it is, however sometimes hard to keep it spotlessly clean all the time with backpacks all over the place and guests walking in and out all day and night. The reason of the problems with the shower facilities is that people disposing... More 

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

mexborugh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We booked Carabao through a travel agency in Bangkok without knowing much about the place, we looked online and were initially pretty sceptical. But the place definitely surpassed expectations, we stayed in a triple room which, all in all was to a good standard, although the bathrooms were in need of renovation. The view from the room was incredible!! With... More 

Helpful?
Thank james_stacey
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great place to stay... Good bar, nice food and fantastic staff! Also has a nice secluded beach, and our scuba diving course was nicely varied! Xav was a brilliant instructor, thank you! Also not far from the main beach and pier.

Helpful?
Thank Jwraight29
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this though a travel agents in Bangkok, and it was brilliant, we got the best view with our room with aircon and a fan, the staff were great the atmosphere was fun and the diving school was awesome! I had never been diving before and Xav and Julian made it so easy to learn and enjoy the open... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bexxxy22
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely staff! Set on a gorgeous hidden away beach. Local 7/11 shop. I stayed in a dorm, clean, comfy and air con at night. Bathroom and toilet dirty. Staff lovely and trusting. Food ok. One piece of advice.. If your going for a open water dive then be aware that you get some nights free with the diving licence course..... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel88girl
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Owners are terrible people!! they cheated us with 1000 bhats! people in charge are very rude as well. rooms are acceptable but toilets are always completely dirty. be careful if you go to that place. I don´t recommend that place at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro R
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This place was recommended by a travel agency in Bangkok and seemed like a good budget choice at the time. We stayed three nights with no AC (fan room), and for the quality of the room seemed to be paying to much money. The room seemed to have hopping bugs which I am guessing was some sort of sand flea,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Passionfortravel658
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spartan rooms, loud music well into the night, congested grounds and shoreline. Not a great beach for swimming. Key deposit of 3,000 bhat cash was a surprise, and can only be returned after 9am - a problem if you are catching an early ferry. Not a happy stay.

Helpful?
Thank PapaDil
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I don't know if their diving school is good, but the accommodation is horrible! First of all, the woman in Mae Haad pier told us they have bungalows as well, but they are not available at the moment as it was peak season. We though it might be a nice resort then if it has got bungalows and rooms. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ThailandIsTheBest

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 km away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
395 reviews
0.0 km away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,863 reviews
0.0 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
917 reviews
0.0 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,131 reviews
0.0 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Carabao

Address: 50/1 Moo 3 Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Price Range: ₹ 682 - ₹ 750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Carabao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carabao staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a south facing room on a higher level floor for a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles leahshoosha, 2 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms near the sea are also near the bar. Rooms away from the sea look at other buildings. In short, no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles PapaDil, 17 Jan 2014 | Read review
“not facing the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles mariep952, 7 Apr 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay