We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Hill Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 347: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Hill Resort
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel on a hill in koh phangan, with very nice and helpful staff, amazing views from the pool, nice food in the restaurant and nice breakfast. The only thing you need, to rent a motorbike or a car to move around the island, but 100 % recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juanmenendezz
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently my daughter and I had the immense pleasure of staying at Sunset Hill Resort for ten days while experiencing the beauty and character of Koh Phangan. It was a memorable chapter in our life book with Sunset Hill giving us a home base - a place to relax, to be quiet, and to regroup before our next adventure. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alisa M
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservation Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Hi Alisa, We cannot thank you enough for your kind words. It truly was a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us and we were sorry to see you leave! We look forward to seeing you both again the next time you come to Thailand :)

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Classy studio's up the hill. Good service from the front desk on arranging hiring scooter etc. If you are looking for a beachfront cabin in the middle of the action, you need to look elsewhere. A scooter and sunset at the infinity pool makes staying here very pleasurable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jurkl
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Yes, we are definitely not in the middle of the action! Sunset Hill offers a serene getaway in the northwest of Phangan. Of course, it is only a 20 minute drive to Baan Tai and a 30 minute drive to Haad Rin, so the action is not far away. It is the perfect place for people that want to relax...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I need to qualify our situation for this review. My wife and I have stayed at Sunset Hill on a number of occasions, the latest of which has been for a three month long stay! We know the property, the owners, the management firm and understand the challenges of operating a Resort in Thailand. Also note that the December 2016/January...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

As always Bruce, it was our pleasure to have you and Pat stay with us. You are more like family than guests and we will anxiously await your return next year. Remember...only 9 full moons away :) :) :) Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other!

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sunset Hill Resort was absolutely gorgeous - a beautiful, jungly property with a beautiful infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Spectacular sunset views (hence the name). The staff was so wonderful; they helped us book taxis, organize travel to and from the island, and more. We ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was really good. The location...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darby2017
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We will pass on these lovely comments to all of our staff. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your recommendation. You are wlecome back again anytime!

Jyväskylä
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good location from which it was easy to visit the various destinations. The room was basic and relatively clean, but a little worn. Breakfast and the pool were excellent. Great view! Very friendly and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjaana G
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much Marjaana. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During our 1-month trip in Thailand with my girlfriend we stopped by Sunset Hell. We booked a Garden View room and we met friends in the shuttle who booked Sea View room so I'm gonna speak about both situations as we spent some time with them. I travel every month and never lived such a hell in any other hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guil F
SunsetHill_Resort, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but some of your comments require clarification. As regards your inbound transfer, you originally called to inform us that you were at Thong Sala pier. The price for pickup from this location is 200 baht per person. After asking you which ferry you were traveling with we realized...

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 March 2017

If you don't have a motorbike, climbing the hill may become a little workout, but otherwise you wouldn't get these amazing sunset views, right? :) the bathroom was a bit too dark, except that I liked everything about this hotel, and especially very helpful staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petro K
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Petro for your 5 star review! We will make sure to pass along your compliments to our staff. Also, thank you for your comments about the bathroom lights. This is easy to fix and we have already replaced the bulb with a higher wattage so the next guest does not have the same issue. Come back again anytime!

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Let's get rid of the not soo good stuff first: 1. The shower was really weak at the warm water. 2. The drainage of the water did not work and I stood in a little pool while showering each day. 3. The smell was really fishy at the bathroom the first 3 days of my stay..then I think maintenance did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grodan2013
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Hi Grodan, We always appreciate well articulated honest reviews. It pleases us that you did enjoy your stay with us and we thank you for clearly letting us know about the issues you had. We will have our team look into these so that the next guest will not have the same issues. We hope to see you again some...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The room did not meet our expectations. The bathroom was moldy and paint was falling off of ceiling. Felt dirty. The staff was exceptionally nice. The outside of the facility was nice looking. The yoga room was very dirty and dusty

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4114QQdianem
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

It is regretful that we did not meet your expectations but we do appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments. We have already addressed these issues with our maintenance department and they are working on renovations now. We apologize that this was not done before your arrival. As for the yoga room, we are still working on...

784 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
4:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (184)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Garden View Studio (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Studio (47)
Viewed
Grand Sea View Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
9.9 km away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
15.2 km away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
324 reviews
0.3 km away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
10.1 km away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,318 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: ₹ 3,501 - ₹ 11,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Hill Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Hill Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from any of the Sea View rooms is outstanding!”
  • Morning view overlooking the Sea of Thailand
BruceH697, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
  • Hospital looking room
  • Dirty ground
58guilf, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in RO1, view was excellent. It was above the restaurant but we were never disturbed by any noise.”
Rose105, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rose building has the best views.”
438sp, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on ground floor. Probably worth a bit more to stay in room with sea view”
joanna1743, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5