We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
madurai, India
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I was told this was property was renovated and can be tried out - i was not disappointed My earlier experience several years back was really disappointing but now they have renovated the place and is now worth trying Food was OK - not great but options in kodai are limited anyway

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdutraveller
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are delighted to know that our renovated resort was able to create an impression on you! It is guests like you that help us to strive for nothing but...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Had an awesome time at the resort and Kodaikannal. My daughter who is 8 years old loved the place and all the entertainment at the resort. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and courteous. Loved our stay. Hamlin and Joydyn cleaned our rooms and took care of us very well. Thanks to all the friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anniesheela2016
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us. We understand that our young aged guests need special attention and care, our in-house amenities and activities...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I have a great weekend in the sterling resort. Wow what a great rooms. The staff was very gentle especially (SUBRAMANI, SARANYA) was they make me happier more than the appearance of the resort. And the food was ok for me. But the single complaint was in my check in time under the bed there was a tissue paper in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hariharish
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you mentioning our staff members. They take great delight in pampering our guests with the best...

Chennai, India
Reviewed 4 August 2016

stayed at the resort with my office team of around 80 in June end. Location - the resort is located a bit far from the city and lake area (it took us 30 minutes to get there by our volvo bus). it is on a hill slope and thus there are ample views and settings to click good photographs. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliviam1710
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. It is always a pleasure to receive such a detailed description from our guests. Such vivid descriptions not only help us to connect more intimately with our guests but also...

Chennai, India
Reviewed 29 July 2016

the place where the hotel is situated is very serene, calm. the office staff were very cordial. a special mention to the house keeping staff Mr.Jaydeep for his excellent service. the food was very good. the arrangements made by the travel desk were good. we appreciate the services rendered by Mr. Gopalan, your company staff for making us feel comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baajisuresh
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Valley. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Our well trained and diligent staff members strive to provide the best in class services to ensure...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent service. Somnath and Kadiravan chefs were outstanding. Service by arun, subramani and manikandan were efficient and very helpful. Made us at home Overall a wonderful time. We only wish they had one more buggy for transport. Its ok for the lean season but if it's crowded...tough luck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radhakrishnan I
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Valley. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. It gives us great joy in knowing that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one in the most superlative manner. Our culinary options are aimed at providing...

Chennai, India
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Like sterling Yercaud,this resort also well renovated and appearing good . The rooms are really neat and clean and room service yet to come to the good standard.Hope it will change during the course of time.The food at restaurant is ok and nothing special to say. Their SPA service is a welcome sign for the tiring guests.Certainly this one resort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramamurthy S
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us ​and enjoyed the facilities at the resort. Our spa is our way of showing that we are...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms were renovated and look good,i was impressed by the battery car that operates in the resort,service was very good when compared to our previous visits. When we checked in one evening, the bathroom was stinking,we complained in the front desk and asked for a change in room bcoz the stinking spread to the room and v couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nandhinikarthickumar
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We hold you as a valued member and welcome your feedback and suggestions. While we are happy to learn that you found the experience better than your past ones, we...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Service provided by the hospitality team was exceptional.Cant expect more than this. Had informed them regarding my parents 27th Wedding Anniversary and they beautifully decorated their room.. thanks to Elizabeth and VIshnu for doing that which made my parents happy and giving them Royal treatment. Room service were quick and were up on the toes whenever you asked for towels,room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vnikhilkumar91
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are honored to be recipients of such kind words. We consider ourselves fortunate to be a part of our customers’ milestones. Our staff members take great delight in ensuring...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Nice resort good food (though slightly expensive , there are very few options other than the resort) Rooms are very nice and quaint, but be prepared for a small sized room (read European size small:)) Beautiful flowers, nice weather , good staff :) Ideal for a short weekend !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chatterbox_86
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ma'am, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to holiday with us at Kodai - By The Lake. We appreciate your taking the time to share your review of our resort. We are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope that that our culinary options have left a lasting impression on your taste buds. We have...

482 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (473)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (35)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (181)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
4.4 km away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.5 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
617 reviews
1.0 km away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 75 in Kodaikanal
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
2.4 km away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
316 reviews
5.1 km away
GRT Nature Trails - Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 44, Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Price Range: ₹ 4,706 - ₹ 11,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Kodaikanal Lake View Hotel Kodaikanal
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kodaikanal
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
4 days ago
5 months ago
3 months ago
chennai
4 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A bit far from the city and going for sight seeing requires more time and higher car hire charges”
 of 5 bubbles Vayu43, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in close vicinity to the Reception area should be preferred for views as well as quick service”
 of 5 bubbles TrishSabby, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if more than 3 guest, ask for double story cottage with 2 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles sajaljain17, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room closer to the lobby if stayed with family.”
 of 5 bubbles Krishna0617, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“opt for suites if you have kids, but the rate is too high”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5