We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chinnapalam Vilpatti Tvs Road Vilpatti, OldTVS Road, Kodaikanal 624101 India
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$95
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (18)
Videos (1)

About

#18 of 242 Specialty lodging in Kodaikanal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Xanadu Meghadhootam is the perfect getaway to spend ‘quality time’ with your loved ones away from overcrowded holiday destinations and the boredom of hotels. Our tagline says it all – ‘Check in. Breathe out.’ The villa is tucked away in an unspoilt and tranquil part of Kodaikanal, just 4 kms from the lake and overlooks a lovely valley and rolling hills. The large pear orchard behind the villa is the perfect place for a mini trek or even a picnic. The villa has 2 Family Suites and 2 Double rooms. These are available separately or can be booked together. The Family Suite has 1 Double room, 1 Twin room and a shared bathroom between the 2 rooms. There is Common Games room with a TT table, Board games and books. The Xanadu Meghadhootam has a Vegetarian kitchen and can cater to Jain food too. We however do serve non-vegetarian food cooked in another kitchen. The Xanadu offers you exclusivity, privacy and allows you to enjoy your holiday in the way and pace you want to.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil
16Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kannan S wrote a review Sep 2021
Chennai (Madras), India8 contributions6 helpful votes
We spent 6 nights - including a week end. The week end was spent at the villa instead of going to the crowded town. The views from the patio/ lawn are great and when the clouds roll in, you are on cloud nine (literally)! When it is sunny, sitting on the lawn with a book and gazing faraway is my idea of a holiday. Not having mobile connectivity is a bliss (though WhatsApp works thanks to WiFi). The resort staff are great in accommodating your requests and making sure your stay is comfortable - always with a smile and always on time. The resort is not being maintained well. The furniture and fixtures as well as furnishing have seen better days. I don't thing they employ a gardener; the lawn and bushes are overgrown. Small things like torn table cloth, unmatched crockery/ cutlery could be avoided. The menu is limited. There are no other food options like eat out/ take away or delivery nearby. The food cooked is mild but lacks taste. Warning: The approach to the resort is through narrow roads and a very steep climb. The resort parking is a bit tricky due to a hairpin bend and a scooter always parked there. So, practise if you are self driving. Over week ends, the neighbouring viilas are occupied/ crowded - this could lead to noise levels being high.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better in terms of view but WiFi may be an issue; plus you have to climb down
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu Meghadhootam
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Dear Kannan S, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the view and the hospitality of our team during your stay at The Xanadu Meghadhootam. Since your stay we have renovated the villa and have painted the interiors as well as repaired the fixtures and fittings. We also have a gardener in place. We have also briefed the staff regarding the food. We look forward to hosting you again at Kodaikanal or one of our other villas. Best regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SagarVS wrote a review Jul 2021
India2557 contributions861 helpful votes
Spent a miserable 3 nights at this place. Don’t let the brand Xanadu or the photos fool you. This place has serious problems. We had taken four rooms and things were breaking down constantly. The lounge where we spent most of the time was cold and not heated. The room heaters, water heater, kettle and so many other things were malfunctioning one after the other. The toilet flush would not work and I had to shift to another block. Location wise you will feel strongly discouraged to venture into town ( too steep up a windy road). No restaurants nearby and you are forced to eat at the resort. The cook is excellent and serves delicious food. However, they mess up the orders and are super expensive. Just an example we were about 12 people ( including 5 kids) and for dinner we were charged Rs.8000 for Idlis and chicken curry ! Also we got a small portion of mushrooms that we purchased from the market. No Dessert ! They explained that they charged idlis by the plate. The rooms are cold and the worn out heater struggles to cope up. The staff dry very hard to please us but how much can they compensate in a resort that is pathetically maintained ? Food was delayed on all all days beyond acceptable levels. One night food was served at 9.30 instead of the agreed 7.30 pm. I soon found the reason – a small kitchen and no helpers for the cook !. There are about 2 or 3 people here who do everything in the resort. Please avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu Meghadhootam
Responded 31 Jul 2021
Dear VS Sagar, Thank you for taking time out to review The Xanadu Meghadhootam. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, during your stay, it was raining and windy leading to swinging electric lines which led to power fluctuation/ low voltage. This was the reason that the electric appliances did not function properly. We have 100% power back up and my sincere apologise for the error made by our team in not switching over to the generator to combat this issue. I also apologise that the food got delayed during your stay and it should not have happened. I am however surprised to read your review. During your stay Vidya had spoken to me about the toilet flush not working and I had immediately changed your room to the adjoining villa which is just a few steps away. Later, when I had called Vidya, she did not bring up any of these problems (except the flush issue) and in fact told me that everything was fine. It is hence surprising to read your review. Regarding your feedback on food, yes, your dinner bill was Rs. 8000 (for 12 adults). Your statement that there were ‘5 kids’ is totally misleading as they were all ‘adult kids’ as evinced by Vidya’s WA message of 3rd July giving the composition of your group. Apart from idlis and chicken curry that you mention in your review, your group also had 4 Barbecue chicken, 4 Barbecue paneer and 31 dosas and curd. Your statement that we charge idlis by the plate is bizzare…doesn’t every restaurant charge idli by the plate? If you did think that we had overcharged why would you not bring it up at that point or even at check out. With regard to staffing we have a Property In-charge, a service boy, a cook and a housekeeper and additional help is called in when required. That makes it 4 fulltime staff for 8 rooms. I apologise for the delay in service and the staff have been counselled accordingly so that this does not repeat. I think it is unfair to review us in this manner on TripAdvisor and make it so scathing when you did not bring up these matters even once during your stay. You have brought up things like steep windy road to the property as a disqualifier but forget that this is the hills! Also, regarding the distance of 4 km from town this is a USP for most of our guests as they want to be far away from the crowds. We always go a step ahead in ensuring our guests have a memorable holiday. We would have taken immediate corrective action had we known about it in time. We can assure you that this is not our usual standard and hope you will give us another opportunity. Best regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajavel K wrote a review Jul 2021
Tiruchirappalli, India1 contribution
Its one of the best place if ur looking for a holiday trip away from the routine hotels of kodai! Wonderful isolated property but with all amenities including good wifi! No mobile network is a blessing in disguise MS Abarna who manages the Xanadu group was precise and prompt to make sure we had a pleasant stay by cont follow up! Yuvraj is there at the resort for anything needed and they made sure we had a comfortable time as a group of Family Friends The TT court and other amenities made kids and us busy! View and the isolation is for what u go there! Enjoy your trips and kudos to Xanadu team!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Approach road is Tricky so better to have a SUV
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu Meghadhootam
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Dear Rajavelk, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you and your family and friends thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at The Xanadu Meghadhootam. It was a pleasure hosting all of you and being able to create a memorable holiday specially in these difficult times. Your review aptly defines our tagline, 'Check in. Breathe Out.'and we are glad that you experienced it! We look forward to welcoming all of you back at one of The Xanadu villas, soon! Best regards, Aparna Bharathan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kumar wrote a review Feb 2021
Bengaluru, India536 contributions106 helpful votes
+1
This is not a resort type property. It appeared to be part of a gated community. The property consists of 1 twin bungalow and 1 standalone bungalow. We had booked the full twin bungalow. The property has a great view of the hills and plantation nearby. The twin bungalow has 2 similar parts with each with a living room, a dining area and 3 bed rooms - one bedroom In the ground floor and two in first floor. Food has to be pre ordered and is served in the villa’s dining. Food quality was good but slightly on the expensive side. The host team also can arrange for camp fire and barbecue. The food menu is fully flexible and you can pre order in advance wherever you want. If you are specific about choice of food-Prawns, Ham, etc. you can pick frozen stuff from shops nearby. The hosts can marinate and cook the way you want. The Villa had TV, Tata sky, Amazon prime and Netflix for entertainment. Pet lovers can have good time as there are three friendly dogs within the community. There are few short trekking spots from here through the plantation. You have to be a bit careful as this is close to the forest area and you can easily bump into the Indian Gaur. We saw Indian Gaurs daily in our early morning walk - loved it. Overall it’s a great place to stay for a friends getaway or for larger families who want privacy in a villa with food. Not recommended if you want to book just one room as you have to share the villa with others. A great place away from crowded resorts...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aparna Bharathan, Owner at The Xanadu Meghadhootam
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Dear Kumararaj, Thank you so much for your detailed review of The Xanadu, Kodaikanal. It was a pleasure to host you. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. Our tagline is, 'Check in. Breathe out.' and we are happy that you were able to experience that during your stay. We look forward to hosting you back at Kodaikanal or one of our other villas, soon. Best regards, Aparna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RANGEET M wrote a review Mar 2020
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India33 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited Meghadootam couple of weeks back from Bangalore, with my family. We had planned a family get together for a longer period. Finally, we all could manage a weekend getaway from Bangalore. It took us roughly 9 hours to reach on our own car. From the moment we entered the premises. We fell in love with the place. Well maintained, great hospitality, amazing food and most importantly the pleasant weather and the lovely view clubbed together for us to have an amazing stay whilst our family get-together. Arjun and Aparna, the host was very welcoming and hospitable in nature. Got to know that they do host at some other locations as well. Would surely like to visit them too soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pooja Tewari wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
I went to Xanadu Kodaikanal with my family and it's a perfect getaway with the amazing view. The villa is quite spacious and well maintained. We enjoyed the customized home made food. The staff was very helpful and polite. Highly recommended place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ami Pahwa wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions
The Xanadu Meghadhootam is such an amazing place. I went with my friends and had a great time! The staff is so humble and cooperative. The views from the property are breathtaking and the food is so delicious! Overall, it was a great experience! Definitely gonna visit again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shreya nigam wrote a review Mar 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
I visited Xanadu with my friends and kids in the month of January. it is a great place to visit with amazing location and is very well maintained. It was my first trip to Xanadu- Meghadhootam and I must say, it's been worthwhile. We all had great time and memories.The Staff is really very polite and humble and always ready to help any way possible.. Highly recommended to visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anita wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions
This is such a perfect place for a getaway! Located at upper part of Kodaikanal, the location is very calm and peaceful. We had booked one entire villa, the ground floor has a living room, Kitchen and a room and the first floor has the suite. The villa is quite spacious and can accommodate 6 and also has all major amenities. The staff is very polite and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anish Veigas wrote a review Mar 2020
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India320 contributions4 helpful votes
The Xanadu Meghadootam is located Kodaikanal with beautiful panoramic view of the valley, it's a perfect getaway! The property has two villas, each villa has a suite and one double room. The rooms are fantastic with immaculate white linens. I highly recommend them for group travel. The view point perched hight above the villa offers a beautiful view! Food is also very good and it is recommended you order at the property itself.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduDindigul DistrictKodaikanal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE XANADU MEGHADHOOTAM (Kodaikanal) - Villa Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Xanadu Meghadhootam
Which popular attractions are close to The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
Nearby attractions include Poombarai Village View (7.8 km), Kodaikanal Lake (2.5 km), and Berijam Lake (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pastry Corner, Cloud Street, and Tava Vegetarian Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Xanadu Meghadhootam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.