We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lohagarh Fort, Bharatpur 321001 India
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (13)

About

#11 of 45 hotels in Bharatpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bharatpur – The “Eastern Gateway to Rajasthan”, and Lohagarh Fort were built by Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733 A.D. The Lohagarh Fort, true to its name stood solidly in the face of many British attacks, frosted them to ends. It faced the British onslaught four times and after a long siege they had to withdraw. During the British empire, the state covered an area of 5,123 sq. km. Its rulers enjoyed a salute of 17 guns. The state acceded unto the domination of India 1947A.D. Mahalkhas Palace is situated in the middle of Lohagarh Fort. The palace is a fine blend of Mughal and Rajput architecture built in 1826 by Maharaja Balwant Singh who was a successor to great Jat ruler Maharaja Suraj mal. It had been residential palace of Bharatpur rulers up to 1965. Now it has been converted into a heritage hotel. It has a huge courtyards, beautiful wall paintings and marvelous carvings on sand stone. In its fine dining restaurant, we do serve Indian, continental and Chinese food. All 12 rooms are en suit with ornate pierced stone windows (Jharokas) and have all new amenities. The stay at Mahal Khas Palace will take you in a royal era.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
62Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 15
  • 8
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Anita535783 wrote a review Jan 2020
New Delhi, India3 contributions
We had hired 3 rooms and owner has boasted in the email it is a very good place and very neat and clean bathrooms. We paid huge amount for each room. Rooms are not well maintained. None of the staff was having any experience at least during our stay. Service was poor though the food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mridu M wrote a review Jul 2019
New Delhi, India7 contributions5 helpful votes
Bookings.com canceled our bookings to some other property and this was the only place we could find booking for online. Please dont fall for the fradulent angle picture on sites ,this hotel is not under construction it it a faded palce which will never be repaired. We were first given a room with a dirty bathroom and a celigin which was shedding cement , later we were shifted to a slightly better room . Yes the manager does try to compensate for the highly overpriced khandar . One day we were returning to our rooms and some goon type people were sitting in the reception area .. that is not how you provide luxury to your guest. Surprisingly all online sites have no option of giving review of this place except this one . Please avoid .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 11 Jul 2019
Dear Sir Please show a proof of your stay at Mahal Khas Palace as we are unable to track when did you stay with us because all the pictures of palace are real and as you said this palace is a Khandar and can't be renovated ever is seems a malicious statement. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex S wrote a review Mar 2019
Cambridge, United Kingdom31 contributions18 helpful votes
We spent three delightful nights at what rightly bears the label heritage hotel. The atmosphere is truly authentic, making it easy to sense how this palace worked over the centuries. History echoes across the rooms and courtyard. There are many original features, which mercifully haven’t been tarted up to pander to modern tastes, or to compete with stereotypical international hotels. The nightly shows of live music also enhance the atmosphere. As for the food, the chef excelled himself every night - absolute delicious. The staff are charming, and the owners are on hand to offer advice. We took the advice to travel to Deeg, where the palace (albeit needing much attention) has a stunning Islamic garden. The walking tour of Bharatpur was excellent, and of course the bird sanctuary is unique. All in all, an excellent stay, and at very reasonable prices. We shall return, and strongly recommend this hotel to travellers keen to immerse themselves in a soulful institution. Tourists looking for acres of marble and brass will be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 11 Jul 2019
Dear Sir Greetings!!!! Thank you so much for your valuable comments for Mahal Khas. We were delighted to host you for three nights and it is our pleasure that we could meet your expectations. We would really love to host you again. With warm regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
abra-da-dabra wrote a review Feb 2019
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India6 contributions3 helpful votes
The only thing true to the description of the place is that it's a heritage property. A real old Mahal. What is a huge miss is that they haven't moved it to making it a hospitable place to stay. It is unkept, not clean, rooms have broken fitting and to my horror, really poor bed linen. Even understaffed; no proper housekeeping, slowest pace for any and everything. Receptionist doing everything. To be fair to the receptionist Saurabh, he was the only person acknowedging the misses and doing his bit gracefully. Place has potential but the owners need to understand they are far from opening it to guests till they don't set it up and bad experiences will ever get people back. What was also shocking was how the owners of the property who were also there while we stayed were so indifferent and actually avoiding getting any feedback the dismal upkeep of the place Besides the real poor place to stay they charge like any ready property which is a shame because they are far from it. stay even though they are not ready is what the owners are attempting to make quick bucks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Dear Sir It's really miserable you were demanding huge discount and when we denied to give discount you threaten to put negative comments on Trip Advisor and atlast you did it. You booked for 4 pax on MAPAI and you were 5 pax when you had to pay for extra bed and extra meal you threaten us. It's really pathetic to use this type of platform to make unnecessary pressure on hoteliers to get huge discount.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aditi K wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
We were there for two nights and this place can be a decent stay if its managed well. Its owned by a couple with very low staff (atleast when we were there). Apparently it was someone's wedding and whole staff had taken off including their cook which they didn't inform us about . This place is not run by professionals hence lacks a lot of basic stuff that you would expect from a hotel. Not enough towels in the room, no fridge in case you travel with kids. The service is extremely slow . The breakfast is not served as a buffet but depending on what you want which is great but there are barely any options. I owuld say, think twice before you book this place especially if you are travelling with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Dear Ma'am Greetings!!! We are really very sorry for all inconvenience caused by us during your stay with us. We would really love to host you once again and would try our best to make your stay memorable. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rbeighton wrote a review Jan 2019
New Delhi, India4 contributions3 helpful votes
There are a lot of contradictory reviews of this hotel so please read carefully - if you want to stay in a fascinating (though faded) old palace, with huge rooms full of character and friendly staff then please stay hear and you will love it. In winter we needed our jumpers - especially when they laid up our dinner (get it included if you can) in the courtyard. But then we got our flaming brazier which completed the ambiance for an unforgettable night. The food was excellent and nicely served. Convenient for the amazing Deeg Palace and 2km from the wonderful bird park. If you are looking for five-star luxury then you may agree more with the negative reviews of this hotel - but if you want a glimpse of life as it used to be and are prepared to put up with some rough edges in return for a chance to live in a wonderful palace (inside the city walls) for a night then please, please come!! (but do bring jumpers in winter)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The suite is huge and did not cost much more (tho the balcony is not usable and has a view over...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Dear Ma'am Greetings!!!! Thank you so much for the valuable time you give us to write about Mahal Khas. This is the best comment on Trip Advisor which described Mahal Khas Palace so authentically. We would really love to host you again. With warm regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rishi R wrote a review Jan 2019
4 contributions
My name is Rishi. In November 2018 i traveled to India. I wish to share an experience unlike any other. To the brave and adventurous ! to those open to new experiences, i direct this to you ! the Mahal Khas Hotel is a preservation monument - a castle of past kings. It is nestled safely at the center of Bharatpur, protected by the monumental fort walls and surrounded by a moat. While you may choose to stay outside of the fort on your travels, I wish to tell you of my experience. The Mahal Khas is an introspective of wondrous splendor delving into a past spanning almost 300 years. A truly authentic style unlike any other. I lived here, and embraced the old style of living. While there are modern amenities for your convenience, the essence of the castle has been preserved to offer you a true Rajastani Royal experience. This hotel promises, to those that dare to open their minds to peek into yester year, a true old style of living. A magnificent menu and a truly amazing staff. But more so ... the time of the ages creeps in as you enjoy the quiet echoes of the castles rich and undefeated history. The doors to the rooms are 350 year old solid wood with a chain as a lock. There are no escalators or elevators - so to those unable to climb steep stairs i caution you but implore you to engage with this. The Mahal Khas is a 300 year old past standing proud, strong and undefeated for those with the mind to imagine and forgive - to embrace it. The museum nearby is a must along with the daily prayer at the temple. No beggars, free to walk safely anywhere. I can only express my sincere gratitude to the staff at the Mahal khas for the immense effort taken to make my stay as amazing as it has been.' Experience the life of past kings at the Mahal Khas. Embrace the cuisine and live the history. To those reading this, I humbly request that you allow yourself the experience of being able to live inside a preservation monument supported by the best people i have met. I trust you find your travels filled with love, respect, humility and a patient forgiving heart.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Greetings from Mahal Khas Palace!!! We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a nice review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Mahal Khas Palace. Looking forward to serving you again in future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juls5293 wrote a review Dec 2018
Savoie, France93 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
It’s a cute nice place to be discovered inside of old city , no foreign tourist at all. The hotel is operational on first floor only , ground goes to reception and dinning / rest area , by putting more money into it. It may become amazing destination for foreign tourists, one minus little far from delhi, spécial thanks to managing team who tried to make it feel like a home
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback. We are very grateful to you for your valuable comments. We would be very pleased to host you again. With regards Manager Mahal Khas Palace Lohagarh Fort Bharatpur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L.Reed wrote a review Oct 2018
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
We booked the Kings suite with a balcony view which was a load of brick rubbish and old chairs . The TV did not work ( given some story monkeys ate the line ) the shower did not work properly and was a trickle in a bucket. The Internet only worked in the courtyard. The food was OK but waited 45 min for a soup and an Omelette and all our food came at different times so we never ate our food together. It is described as having an international restaurant and bar which i have never seen such a sad excuse for a bar so devoid of experience they didnt even know how to serve a glass of wine. On our arrival it soon became apparent that we were the only guests staying and after spending a couple of hours we were not surprised. Having being booked in for two nights we left after the first night not even bothering to have breakfast feeling totally mislead. The staff of 6 were friendly but totally out of there depth trying to run a hotel. Now I know why they insist on payment up front as we checked out the next day early with no offer of a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask to pay at the end of your stay .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at Mahalkhas Palace, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the customer service and overall quality of stay has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action. Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incidence and may I urge you to not let this be an indelible perception. We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance, look forward to regaining faith and confidence in the brand and I hope will grant us an opportunity to serve you with renewed focus and enthusiasm. Look forward to meet you during your next trip. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightseer818088 wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We went to the property trusting the online images and reviews. On our arrival, we were stopped at the gate and asked us if we are locals or not, we had parked our car nearby and had to walk to this place due to bad roads, they assumed we are locals and have come here just for a stroll. Instead of taking us to the reception or asking anything else, they told us that 'This place is only for Videshis', we asked can they atleast take us to the reception or let me talk to the manager, he said No, Sahab will be angry, he dialled some number, went inside and came out saying No you can't stay here. This is the most insulting experience ever for travellers like us who were travelling from Delhi and wanted to have a good experience by spending good money, We searched online, went to the place and upon entering, had the most embarrassing experience ever. I felt like crying that in a state which markets its tourism saying Padhaaro Mahro Des has least respect for Guests, Videshis are the real guests!! Left the place embarrassed and in poor taste. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Dear Sir We welcome everyone. If it has happened with you we are extremely sorry for that but believe us we never do discrimination on any basis. We would love to host you. With regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanBharatpur DistrictBharatpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAHAL KHAS PALACE (Bharatpur, Rajasthan) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mahal Khas Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Mahal Khas Palace?
Nearby attractions include Keoladeo National Park (4.4 km), Government Museum Bharatpur (0.4 km), and Keoladeo Shiva temple (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahal Khas Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mahal Khas Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahal Khas Palace?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahal Khas Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include City Spice, Gulmohar Restaurant at The Bagh Resort, and Celebration's.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mahal Khas Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.