We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahal Khas Palace

Save
Share
Lohagarh Fort, Bharatpur 321001 India
StayForLong
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (8)

About

#11 of 37 hotels in Bharatpur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bharatpur – The “Eastern Gateway to Rajasthan”, and Lohagarh Fort were built by Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733 A.D. The Lohagarh Fort, true to its name stood solidly in the face of many British attacks, frosted them to ends. It faced the British onslaught four times and after a long siege they had to withdraw. During the British empire, the state covered an area of 5,123 sq. km. Its rulers enjoyed a salute of 17 guns. The state acceded unto the domination of India 1947A.D. Mahalkhas Palace is situated in the middle of Lohagarh Fort. The palace is a fine blend of Mughal and Rajput architecture built in 1826 by Maharaja Balwant Singh who was a successor to great Jat ruler Maharaja Suraj mal. It had been residential palace of Bharatpur rulers up to 1965. Now it has been converted into a heritage hotel. It has a huge courtyards, beautiful wall paintings and marvelous carvings on sand stone. In its fine dining restaurant, we do serve Indian, continental and Chinese food. All 12 rooms are en suit with ornate pierced stone windows (Jharokas) and have all new amenities. The stay at Mahal Khas Palace will take you in a royal era.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Iron
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
62Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 15
  • 8
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Anita535783 wrote a review Jan 2020
New Delhi, India3 contributions
We had hired 3 rooms and owner has boasted in the email it is a very good place and very neat and clean bathrooms. We paid huge amount for each room. Rooms are not well maintained. None of the staff was having any experience at least during our stay. Service was poor though the food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
kaf126 wrote a review Jul 2019
New Delhi, India7 contributions5 helpful votes
Bookings.com canceled our bookings to some other property and this was the only place we could find booking for online. Please dont fall for the fradulent angle picture on sites ,this hotel is not under construction it it a faded palce which will never be repaired. We were first given a room with a dirty bathroom and a celigin which was shedding cement , later we were shifted to a slightly better room . Yes the manager does try to compensate for the highly overpriced khandar . One day we were returning to our rooms and some goon type people were sitting in the reception area .. that is not how you provide luxury to your guest. Surprisingly all online sites have no option of giving review of this place except this one . Please avoid .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 11 Jul 2019
Dear Sir Please show a proof of your stay at Mahal Khas Palace as we are unable to track when did you stay with us because all the pictures of palace are real and as you said this palace is a Khandar and can't be renovated ever is seems a malicious statement. Regards
Read more
Alex S wrote a review Mar 2019
Cambridge, United Kingdom29 contributions14 helpful votes
We spent three delightful nights at what rightly bears the label heritage hotel. The atmosphere is truly authentic, making it easy to sense how this palace worked over the centuries. History echoes across the rooms and courtyard. There are many original features, which mercifully haven’t been tarted up to pander to modern tastes, or to compete with stereotypical international hotels. The nightly shows of live music also enhance the atmosphere. As for the food, the chef excelled himself every night - absolute delicious. The staff are charming, and the owners are on hand to offer advice. We took the advice to travel to Deeg, where the palace (albeit needing much attention) has a stunning Islamic garden. The walking tour of Bharatpur was excellent, and of course the bird sanctuary is unique. All in all, an excellent stay, and at very reasonable prices. We shall return, and strongly recommend this hotel to travellers keen to immerse themselves in a soulful institution. Tourists looking for acres of marble and brass will be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 11 Jul 2019
Dear Sir Greetings!!!! Thank you so much for your valuable comments for Mahal Khas. We were delighted to host you for three nights and it is our pleasure that we could meet your expectations. We would really love to host you again. With warm regards
Read more
abra-da-dabra wrote a review Feb 2019
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India6 contributions3 helpful votes
The only thing true to the description of the place is that it's a heritage property. A real old Mahal. What is a huge miss is that they haven't moved it to making it a hospitable place to stay. It is unkept, not clean, rooms have broken fitting and to my horror, really poor bed linen. Even understaffed; no proper housekeeping, slowest pace for any and everything. Receptionist doing everything. To be fair to the receptionist Saurabh, he was the only person acknowedging the misses and doing his bit gracefully. Place has potential but the owners need to understand they are far from opening it to guests till they don't set it up and bad experiences will ever get people back. What was also shocking was how the owners of the property who were also there while we stayed were so indifferent and actually avoiding getting any feedback the dismal upkeep of the place Besides the real poor place to stay they charge like any ready property which is a shame because they are far from it. stay even though they are not ready is what the owners are attempting to make quick bucks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Dear Sir It's really miserable you were demanding huge discount and when we denied to give discount you threaten to put negative comments on Trip Advisor and atlast you did it. You booked for 4 pax on MAPAI and you were 5 pax when you had to pay for extra bed and extra meal you threaten us. It's really pathetic to use this type of platform to make unnecessary pressure on hoteliers to get huge discount.
Read more
Aditi K wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
We were there for two nights and this place can be a decent stay if its managed well. Its owned by a couple with very low staff (atleast when we were there). Apparently it was someone's wedding and whole staff had taken off including their cook which they didn't inform us about . This place is not run by professionals hence lacks a lot of basic stuff that you would expect from a hotel. Not enough towels in the room, no fridge in case you travel with kids. The service is extremely slow . The breakfast is not served as a buffet but depending on what you want which is great but there are barely any options. I owuld say, think twice before you book this place especially if you are travelling with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mahalkhas, Manager at Mahal Khas Palace
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Dear Ma'am Greetings!!! We are really very sorry for all inconvenience caused by us during your stay with us. We would really love to host you once again and would try our best to make your stay memorable. Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaRajasthanBharatpur DistrictBharatpur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mahal Khas Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Mahal Khas Palace?
Nearby attractions include Keoladeo National Park (4.4 km), Government Museum Bharatpur (0.4 km), and Keoladeo Shiva temple (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahal Khas Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mahal Khas Palace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahal Khas Palace?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahal Khas Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include City Spice, Celebration's, and Gulmohar Restaurant at The Bagh Resort.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mahal Khas Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.