We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elmina Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Elmina Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elmina Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Elmina Bay Resort met our (high) expectations. Being quit a distance from the 'main-road' the hotel offers complete peace and quiet. The view from the hotel is absolutely spectacular. The beautiful pool and the building layouts around it, right on the beach, makes for a premium feel. In general, the hotel is in good condition, clean and sufficiently maintained. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thoerring
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate and thank you for your comments, and we will continue working to give every guest the same enjoyable experience of Elmina Bay Resort.

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

I lived in Ghana for two years prior to staying here and returned with a group to do humanitarian work in the area. Let me say that this is one of the nicest hotels in the Cape area! The rooms were clean and well kept, the air con worked fine, hot water was good, although one day the water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Maintaining a good water supply for our guests is a high priority for us, and so we occassionally have some challenges, depending on the flows from the Water company. Our pump system usually works to keep up the pressure level. We are approx 2 kilometres from a main road, in an area which is largely...

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

The resort have big property but poorly maintained. The reception staff was rude. Air conditioner was not working. Light was coming and going . Towel not ready . Pool was average and not cleaned . Breakfast was very slow and not choice available . in the name of fruit juice they were giving some local leaf juice. Not much activity...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amit M
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for this review; you were able to make your comments directly to us before your family group left, and we appreciated the chance to speak directly with you. Air conditioners can be a bit unpredictable, and when yours failed, we moved you to another room which was satisfactory. Clearly, everything did not go well with your stay; we...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The rooms are spacious, basic forniture and clean. The location of the hotel is nice, with a swimming pool overlooking the sea. The restaurant in the hotel has a good service (better if you order your dinner before, so you can get it on time). The food is good and the place is peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattytyger
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; because we offer a wide variety of dishes, and we want all of them to be prepared fresh, when you order, preparation times do take longer, but a timed order helps our kitchen to deliver to your wishes. We will keep trying to improve on this part of our service.

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

This is indeed one of my favorite places in Ghana! Isolated from the rest of the world you can find peace and relax! All rooms are ocean view and with terrace. The size is great and bigger than average! Food is nice and fresh, in the morning we could see the chef buying fresh fruit from local producers! One of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8traveler5
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; most guests appreciate the peace and calm of our setting, in a world which gets louder each day. We also try to buy most of our produce locally, as that ensures freshness and I'm not sure that you can beat the pineapples, mangoes and pawpaws grown locally. Thank you for staying at Elmina Bay.

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Peaceful hotel in Elmina coast. Very relaxing in a quite location. Food is superb and the fresh fruit in the breakfast is a good way to start the day. Located in a long beach, you also have the pool to chill out. Rooms are extra size and have all the facilities. 100% Recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigomm
Ben I, Owner at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your appreciation of our location and environment. We are on a beautiful surf-washed coastline, at the very tip of Ghana, and the very edge of West Africa, with nothing between our hotel and Antarctica other than many thousands of miles of ocean. We constructed our guest rooms to keep this natural wonder a focal point for...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The Elmina Bay Resort has many of the ingredients for being an amazing place to stay to tour the Gold Coast of Ghana. The resort is set on a beautiful beach with a crashing surf, and is only around 2 miles to Elmina (St. George's) Castle, and the staff is very friendly and cheerful. However, there were a number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xbl
Ben I, Owner at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us this feedback. We are trying to create a resort which has a serene and pleasant environment for our guests, and overall we did not do well and your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been. The road network is a challenge; it is difficult for a small hotel to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at this relaxing location with breathtaking views. The second-floor room had a spacious balcony overlooking the ocean, and the faint sound of the waves put me to sleep each night. The food was great, and we really appreciated the close vicinity to the castles and Kakum. The rooms were relaxing, spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lkshaw16
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

This was our favourite hotel in Ghana - near to the towns of Elmina and Cape Coast, but very quiet and secluded. The local food was well-prepared (especially the fish), and there was a decent wine list with reasonable prices. All the staff were friendly and helpful, but the proprieter/manager was exceptional. He anticipated our every need, and was hospitable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreyhoundRacer
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We were here with another couple and had a very quiet stay. The rooms were air conditioned and clean, though room service did not come to clean rooms until the evening. The beach is very small and you will likely choose to find another beach nearby. The restaurant food was good though it was very slow to be served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BostonRunner15

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.8 km away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
12.6 km away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cape Coast
92 reviews
3.3 km away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
30 reviews
1.4 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 6 in Elmina
17 reviews
26.1 km away
Biriwa Beach Hotel
Biriwa Beach Hotel
#6 of 23 in Cape Coast
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ocean front hotel with high quality finishes, located in a beautiful setting, but only 10 minutes from historic Elmina Town, and 20 minutes from Cape Coast. All rooms have en-suite showers, TV, wi-fi internet, fridge, dressing area and sea facing balconies. A large and beautiful pool, conference room and gardens provide a serene setting for your getaway, meeting or leisure break.Enjoy balmy ocean breezes, beach side dining, with meals beautifully prepared by our kitchen. Come and enjoy service to make you smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elmina Bay Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim | PO Box EL 325, Elmina, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Price Range: ₹ 7,468 - ₹ 9,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmina Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Elmina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Bay Hotel Elmina
Elmina Bay Resort Ghana, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elmina Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms have sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles rooswilmer, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the second floor away from the restaurant for better views.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoosier_Travel_Nut, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every room is great with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles richards398, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure A/C works well and cools the room”
  • Shower faucet--no hot water
  • Bathroom
  • Decent guest toom
  • Shower faucet up high with no hot water
 of 5 bubbles xbl, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles chimanu2000, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5