We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 18: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

At first, the way the place looked threw us off. It looked like an old mansion with rooms extending off to the side of it. The teller was unprofessional and couldn't understand what he was saying because he whispered while mumbling. The first room he gave us had such a bad odor I walked directly back out. He then gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel V
JSC1111, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and Thank You for choosing Econo Lodge South, Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience transpired upon arrival to the hotel and your overall stay with us. The staff here at Econo Lodge South takes pride in their everyday work. We are aware that our hotel does look like a...

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel when me and my family where driving back from Indiana to Florida. When we walked to the front entrance it appeared clean, so we decided to get a room non-smoking. The room we got was not only in horrible shape, but there was a horrible smell and cockroaches running around when the light came on. We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank damien s
JSC1111, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

If there was a bed bugs Bites never showed it to front desk upon checkout. When we call to spoke with you, you were clear enough that if the hotel doesn't give you 100% discount then you will post bad reviews on all the sites. We had 10 guest stayed after you on same bed with not bites or any...

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have never stayed in a hotel such as this. Here is a list of the disturbing facts of this establishment: 1.) dirty 2.) outdated 3.) NO pool ( there actually is one, however cannot be used. It's absolutely scary looking) 4.) breakfast consists of a coupon for the Waffle House for a free sausage biscuit or waffle and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly4man
JSC1111, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future

Dunwoody, Georgia
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a friendly and clean hotel. the room was comfortable and had a decent free breakfast.the price was fair & the people were nice. I like the HDTV and that pets are allowed. If we visit Alabama again,we will stay at Econo-lodge. We didn't stay long but enjoyed it. I wish I signed up for rewards program.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
JSC1111, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for your kind compliments of EconoLodge South. Our staff at EconoLodge truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation and I am pleased you were able to experience this first hand. Thank you for choosing the EconoLodge South and I truly hope we may welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Neal

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we noticed much older hotel but had charm. Once in the room we went straight to sleep. 2hours latet woke up to use the restroom and couldn't believe my eyes. Extremely dirty restroom. Wet soiled tiwel hanging from shower. Soiled dirty towel hanging from towel rack. Worst part toilet had pubic hair everywhere. I went immediately ti ftint...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqueline G
JSC1111, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding Housekeeping issues on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Housekeeping manager to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future....

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just wanted a place to stop for the night as we were only be there for a few hours. Given a room on the side of hotel away from the front highway but still could hear traffic and late at night when tavern getting out the parking lot became a raceway. The room was okay --- newer TV and nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cartz95
JSC1111, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cartz95 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. We are so sorry for the incident you experienced at our property. We've addressed our housekeeping staff in regards to your review and the necessary actions have been taken. Again, we apologize for the issues and we hope to have another chance to serve you in...

Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I visited for two nights while on a trip to find investment properties. We needed just a basic hotel and got just that. We heeded another reviewer's recommendation about staying away from the tavern on the premises but missed the other recommendation to stay on the back side away from the highway. While the road noise did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
JSC1111, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your detailed review and share your experience with the TripAdvisor Readership. I was tremendously disappointed to learn about the Issues that you have faced and experienced on your recent visit with us we defiantly could do a lot better. I could see a lot of things did not happen to...

Guntersville, Alabama
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Went to an event at the Birmingham Zoo...and wanted to be close to the Zoo ..I had seen this property for years but had never stayed...I was concerned about the age but was pleasantly surprised with the room , new carpet, new furniture, new flat screen TV, new bedding! The house keeping staff were very nice... Could use some cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TKirkland1956

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#54 of 80 in Birmingham
413 reviews
4.1 km away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#39 of 80 in Birmingham
303 reviews
9.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Hoover-Galleria
6.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great property just minutes away from shopping and attractions. Enjoy free high speed internet, and lounge right on site. Interior and exterior rooms available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1535 Montgomery Hwy, Birmingham, AL 35216-4527
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 3,411 - ₹ 4,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are some rooms on the back side that are probably quieter, but you can't see your car from them (and you might not feel safe).”
 of 5 bubbles janebC1903KG, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here !!! try rooms on LAKE SHORE PARKWAY”
 of 5 bubbles detr0itd, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Away from stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 120timh, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay