We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a one-night stay for a concert in town. The location is great. You can walk to several nearby restaurants. Plus, the concert venue was within walking distance. It's a fine hotel. It's older and it shows, but the room was clean and comfortable. Front desk check-in was smooth and we received a warm cookie with our stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peachstt04
Management response:

Thanks for sharing your review with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your night at Doubletree by Hilton Birmingham. I’m happy to know that everything went smoothly and that you enjoyed our bath products, comfortable rooms, and our warm cookies, which we hope set the tone of your welcoming stay. We would love to have you back...

Mississippi
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This was a pretty nice hotel, but it is showing age. Our air conditioner quit working in the night. We were sweating when we woke up. It was 76 degrees. The air conditioner was fixed, but no compensation was offered. The manager said that they are about to replace all of the units. It was mostly clean. They do offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceMississippi
Management response:

It was a pleasure to accommodate you while you were in town and I hope you’ll accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort that you endured during your stay. We never want our guests to deal with inconveniences, especially in the middle of the night. Offering the highest quality is our commitment to you and we hope you’ll allow us...

Cumming, United States
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The staff was great and the food good. The rooms small, bathroom tiny and the hotel in need of an update. When we were there only one elevator out of three was working, a real problem that wasn't resolved the entire weekend. Overall though visibly in good repair and clean. Good onsite parking for $10 a night. Not bad place...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
Management response:

While we appreciate the recognition of our great customer service and food quality, we do regret that you encountered a few challenges while with us. We aim to make each guest’s stay as comfortable and convenient as possible and can certainly understand your frustration when only one elevator was working at the time of your visit. We want to assure...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Do not go to this hotel if you have a choice. The quality of the room was poor and we had to be moved twice. We had so many problems with things in the room not working and we paid way too much for the room! The staff was friendly.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristinam68
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the challenges that you faced while with us. It’s disappointing that your room was not at its best for you and we apologize that you had to be moved twice, which most likely caused unnecessary frustration during your trip. We would like another chance to welcome you back to...

Huntsville
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

3 elevators and 12 floors and only 1 working elevator. What a nightmare. I rate this hotel as poor for several reasons. 1. The rooms are so small. Outdated with old looking furniture. The beds were comfortable. Nice sized television. Major problem with the plugs on the light fixtures. Tried to charge my phone by plugging into the light fixture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. Your feedback is appreciated and we sincerely regret your stay with us was not as you anticipated. I will have our team look into your comments so we may address any concerns as necessary. Our team is always available to assist and I am confident we would have been able...

Dothan, Alabama
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Accommodation at this hotel were very nice. It was nice having room service available because I was staying with my 5 month old. It is few blocks away from the children's hospital we were going to. Would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K4168ZXjenniferb
Management response:

It was great to welcome you and we appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We know traveling with an infant can be difficult and I am pleased to read that you found our in room dining option was perfect for your visit. Thank you for your kind remarks. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back...

Montgomery, United States
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Great location and excellent service. Would highly recommend. Bar was pricey but will stay there on my next visit to Birmingham. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Was able to check in early before my conference started. Plenty of parking. Overall no complaints except BAR was pricey.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 887allenh
Management response:

Thank you for letting us know your stay with us was excellent. We cannot thank you enough for your glowing reviews. Your feedback is appreciated as it helps us to further improve upon our guests' experiences here. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton Birmingham the next time you are...

Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Hotel was old and outdated. There was no valet parking. Carpet was terrible. The digital key did not work. The desk staff were like robots. The only good experience was with the bar tender at the bar.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 943tracyk
Management response:

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced while here. We clearly fell short of our usual standards, which are extremely high. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate managers to review areas that need our attention. Should you visit with us again, and we hope that you do, we will...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Short two day stay. Parking not included. Hotel needs a makeover and maybe a spin bike in the workout room. Could hear people in the hallway. Otherwise clean hotel, nice staff, comfy beds other than for the pillows.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhiloTfarnsworth
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your overall business stay with us and found your bed comfortable and our staff friendly. Our goal is to ensure that you have a home away from home with us, so I must apologize if we missed the mark with certain aspects of your...

Canyon, Texas
Reviewed 9 February 2017

It is a beautiful hotel in the downtown area of Birmingham. Everyone we spoke with was incredibly nice and helpful. The gave us a free cookie upon check-in for a warm welcome. :) Parking was only $10. When I told them I had never stayed in Birmingham before they gave me a top floor room with a view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathi806
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel and your room with a view. Our goal is to ensure that we provide top notch service to ensure that you have a comfortable and convenient stay. We’re also happy that you enjoyed your free cookie at check-in! We look forward to hopefully having you back...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 8,279 - ₹ 14,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a nice view of the city from our room. We faced 20th street.”
 of 5 bubbles peachstt04, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floors have great views of downtown”
 of 5 bubbles kathi806, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Heater was loud when fan clicked on and off. We were on 6th floor, view of parking garage. Pretty quiet otherwise.”
 of 5 bubbles diannm2013, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get on the 14th floor if you are an HHonors member.”
 of 5 bubbles GuyFromAtlanta_GA, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“14th floor”
 of 5 bubbles jodythecat, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5