We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westin Birmingham

PricelineUS$ 387*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 387*
Great Deal
US$ 391*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Westin Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 421: English reviews
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 October 2016

The hotel location downtown is very convenient for business travelers. The hotel is a little bit spread out, but the restaurant has a great layout with plenty of windows, tv's and draught beer. Breakfast buffet is one of the better ones I have had. The gym is ok, and would be better with more aerobic machines and weights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parkerw2014
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello parkerw2014, Thank you for sharing. Looking forward to having you visit with us again. Be Well, Jose Pereira

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night during an extended road trip. The good news is that it's a new hotel, the staff is friendly, the pillows are comfortable and the room is clean and nice. It's a convention hotel located near the convention center as well as adjacent to a strip of newly built restaurants in "Uptown". Room service was also delivered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AJB830
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Had a couple of issues at check-in and they were quickly resolved. The staff made accommodations for us to eat breakfast despite being 10 minutes late. Went upstairs to shower and the cold water didn't work - only BLAZING hot. From phone call to fix was less than 15 minutes. Bartender was attentive and great. Room isn't frilly and is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTopher81
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello CTopher81, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that we were able to resolve some of your inconveniences in a timely matter. We hope to see you again in the future. Be Well, Jose Periera Dir. of Ops

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The Westin Hotels used to be a very good hotel chain, but I have noticed in the past few stays at different locations that the quality of the hotel is definitely going down hill... This one was no different. The room is very tired. The bed sheets are very yellow from overuse/wash. The pillows don't even fit in the pillowcases...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catjavabean
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello catjavabean, Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I would like to extend a sincere apology to you and your husband for your less than satisfactory visit. We pride ourselves on providing each of our guest with pleasant memorable experiences. We hope you choose to give the Westin brand another try. Thank you for...

Ooltewah
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Service was great, valet as well as front attendant. Room was very clean and inviting. I love the design of the lobby and the details. I would definitely stay there in the future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamekia B
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello Tamekia B, Thank you for your kind words and for staying at The Westin Birmingham. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit. Be Well, Jose Periera Dir. of Ops

Reviewed 8 September 2016

I've stayed at the Westin before, but I will not again. Check in was fine. I ordered room service around 4:45pm and was told my order would arrive in 15 mins to 30mins. At 6pm, my order had still not arrived. I called guest services to find out that the in-room dining agent who took my order not only failed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Channika
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello Channika, Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. I would first like to extend a sincere apology for the negligence on my staff's part. We take pride in showcasing our ability to wow and provide each of our guest with exceptional service and it looks like we did not follow through during your stay. I will be sure...

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I love all that is Starwood, especially when I can stay at a Westin. I have been a Starwood Preferred Guest for 12+ years. The showers and incomparably comfortable beds at Westins are truly amazing! I have been in a committed relationship with Starwood however, after this stay, I am having reservations – pun intended. Driving from southeast Florida to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annielouwho10
sheswithstarwood, Dir. of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello annielouwho10, I would first like to thank you for your patronage to the Starwood brand...12+ years is awesome! I also would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is feedback like yours that helps us improve guest satisfaction and helps us identify our areas of opportunity. I apologize for your inconveniences and I will be...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, super clean, great place to sleep, employees really care but.... However, housekeeping doesn't quite get the fact they need to make the room up everyday or do not disturb sign means you don't wake the guest up to see if they are checking out when they are staying 3 more days. Also their kitchen had a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Businessalways
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello Businessalways, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I do apologize for your inconveniences and please know that I will address your concerns with my staff. We hope you come back and give us another try. Be Well, Jose Pereira Dir. of Ops

Trussville, Alabama
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a conference I was attending. All of the public meeting spaces were clean and modern looking and that all worked very well. The food was quite good too. Unfortunately, the room itself smelled like mildew. Everything looked nice, but the paint on the ceiling of the bathroom was peeling and my wife and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dadoftheyear2016
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello Dadoftheyear2016, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and it seems we may have some areas of opportunity. I will be sure to discuss your concerns with my team. We would love to have you and your family visit...

Mobile
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We love staying at the Westin when visiting family in Birmingham. The rooms are large and very clean. There are lots of restaurant choices near the hotel and we love the pool. We will return and I recommend the Westin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phrunk
sheswithstarwood, Director of Operations at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review

Hello phrunk, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Birmingham. Be Well, Jose Pereira

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (253)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
King Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.8 km away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 km away
Sheraton Birmingham
Sheraton Birmingham
#34 of 79 in Birmingham
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
5.3 km away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
16.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203-1103
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 13,282 - ₹ 22,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Birmingham staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Location was pretty good”
Mumtaz400, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Review entire posting before booking, you need to know what you are getting.”
812841, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are nice with a view of the Uptown area”
onewestwood, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are spacious and offer good view of the surroundings to scope the Uptown area.”
Bullzfanzclan, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is live music in the dining room on some nights. I was on 2nd floor right over that and could hear it very well- too well.”
SunDogandCompany, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 387* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 391
Booking.com
TripAdvisorUS$ 387
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates