We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4910 Civic Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022-7820
Lowest prices for your stay
$97
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Expedia.com$97
Travelocity$97
Agoda.com$109
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)

About

#2 of 11 hotels in Bessemer
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
WELCOME TO HAMILTON INN BESSEMER Southern hospitality in the heart of Dixie. Hamilton Inn Bessemer/Birmingham is located off Highway 11 in historic Bessemer, Alabama, next to the Bessemer Civic Center. Explore the National Historic District in downtown Bessemer and stop for lunch or dinner at Alabama's oldest restaurant, The Bright Star. Savor Greek-style snapper or tenderloin while having a cocktail at the horseshoe-shaped bar with unique decor, almost unchanged since moving to its current location in 1914. Visit the Mercedes Visitors Center and see exhibits of Mercedes from the past as well as concept cars and multimedia exhibits or reserve a tee time at one of the courses on the Robert Trent Jones Trail. See the largest cast iron statue in the U.S. at Vulcan Park and Museum or learn about Birmingham's history at the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Take the kids on a wild ride at Splash Adventure Waterpark or check out a sporting event at the Birmingham CrossPlex or Hoover Spor
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
407Reviews2Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 103
  • 38
  • 40
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Teirre M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
First room was muggy, musty and smelled horrible! No ice on any floor except 2. No sign saying ice machines weren’t working! Nasty dirty wet rag left on nightstand!! No phone in room. Hole in ceiling of lobby!! And on baseboards!! No pool; it was dirty and nasty as well!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
srd wrote a review Jun 2022
College Station, Texas1 contribution
The room we stayed in for 6 (six) nights was the dirtiest and most disgusting room we’ve ever stayed in. The painted walls are stained and never have been wiped down. The clothes closet mirror was cracked down on the bottom right panel. The rail on the bottom of the closet door was so dirty that the bifold door couldn’t close. The lamp shades were all stained and cracked. The light fixture covering in the entry was missing. The bath tub is rusted along the base line the bathroom sconces are rusted. The wallpaper in the room and bathroom is stained and peeling away at the seams. The fridge has a cracked shelf. The dead bolt on the entry door lock would get stuck. The carpet in the hallway to the guest rooms is frayed, stained, and dirty. The pool evidentially was covered with a pool cover at one time but the cover is now split and exposes nasty water and decaying leaves(don’t know how this would pass health and safety procedures)! The exit door by the pool was propped open with a rock for the our entire stay(guest safety in jeopardy). The night staff and the check-out clerk all said they were sorry that our room had not been cleaned but never offered to clean it themselves or issue a discount upon checking out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
THogs wrote a review Nov 2021
9 contributions
+1
First, the name is NOT Hampton Inn. The similar name and hotel pictures might lead you to believe it is. I was not disappointed when we arrived in the lobby. The room was another story. For the price I paid, I would have expected much more. The room smelled okay and not bad. Once we started settling in, I noticed all the metal décor looked like it had been in a flood or water damaged. It was rusty. The alarm clock was so dirty, I did not dare touch it. The bathroom door would not stay shut because the door bolt was stuck and would not spring out. The shower wall and shower head were dirty with a black slime. There were no USB ports for charging. I had to borrow a plug from the front desk. The TV stopped receiving the DirecTV signal. I called the front desk and she just said, “It does that sometimes.” I had to ask for someone to check it. The air conditioning and fridge worked. The bed was comfortable and linens clean. We stayed, due to location convenience. When we checked out, I told the clerk about the lack of cleanliness in the room and all she said was, “I’ll let them know.” Such a good location and close to food and shopping, it has a lot of potential to be better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BJM wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The manager was most excellent and professional. The staff except for the young night clerk was terrible beyond explanation. The rooms simply not inspected nor clean. The manager did all that could be done to rectify the terrible situation her staff created but they all should be fired. No hospitality or kindness only the manager and the one young night clerk. Because of the managers sincerity in trying to help we will give it another try when we return to Alabama.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve Y wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
This IS NOT a Hampton Inn! They are mispresenting themselves on purpose. Easily the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life! I’ve had better experiences at Motel 6’s and cheap hotels overseas. Staff very curt and unprofessional in their demeanor. They demanded I give them a $150 cash deposit to get the room, I didn’t. Once I opened the door to our room, smell of bleach overpowered my senses. Yes, it was that strong! So I thought “well at least the room is clean”. How wrong I was! My wife took a hand towel from the bathroom, dampened it in the sink, and proceeded to wipe down the nightstands, table, and the bathroom counter. When she had finished, the towel was stained black! We were both horrified! The two nightstand lamps were rusty(!) and when we tried to plug something into the bases of the lamps, the outlets were so loose our plugs just fell out. There was a large brown water stain in an otherwise white ceiling in this room. Two out of three days there did not receive requested wake-up calls. When I confronted the manager she actually told me it was “my word against her employee’s words” that I had requested them. The carpet in the room was damp, dingy, and smelled foul. During our stay, after walking around the room a little, the bottoms of my socks were stained black. This also applies to the bottoms of our feet when we were barefoot. In hindsight, it was probably black mold. The shower drain did not work very well. By the time we finished our showers, we were standing in dirty water up above our ankles. Add washing the black bottoms of our feet, the tub was really nasty after it finally drained! After showering, we didn’t really feel clean at all. The hotel has a pool, but it was haphazardly covered with a tarp and obviously out of service. We paid extra for a room with a Jacuzzi. Based on the sheer filthiness of this hotel, we made a conscious decision not to use it. Wrote a long letter to the General Manager of this hotel, they’ve ignored me. Beware!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary B wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The carpet was sticky and damp. Dirt and hair stuck to my feet. I washed them in the bathtub and it made the washcloth black and gray. I had to wear my shoes in the room the whole time, even when going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. The front desk was unprofessional and charged one of my credit cards unauthorized. I was charged for the room twice. I was told there was breakfast included but there was not. Unless you consider a packaged muffin that. I asked to speak to the owner of the hotel chain. But the lady said she didn't know what a chain was. Just not good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't do it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cathy P wrote a review May 2021
Martins Ferry, Ohio17 contributions6 helpful votes
They don't advertise it but they charge a $150 hold fee that they "refund" the next day ( if cash,) and ???? if card. What!? Can't pay the fee; can't stay. We had just driven 12hrs so I very reluctantly paid the fee. 1st room on a non smoking floor smelled like a smokers break room. The 2nd room had a cracked mirror (1/4 of the bathroom mirror) and s cracked closet door mirror, a commode that wouldn't always flush, and a sticky floor. I booked a room with 2 queen beds, got a king and a sofa bed that my granddaughter couldn't sleep on. We folded it back up and she slept on the sofa. The clerk tried but some things were beyond her control. Will be speaking with the manager tomorrow. Today just disgusted.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Weary Traveller wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Made a reservation with a credit card for our family. When we got their they had "given our room away because someone else needed it." Offered us a room with a king for a family of four. We left. Would avoid like the plague.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
WorldTraveler36605 wrote a review Apr 2021
Mobile, Alabama4 contributions2 helpful votes
Spent 1 night Easter weekend to visit family who was new to the area. Our room was given away despite credit card info on file and room already paid for. Given key to occupied room after the attempt to charge me 2x the rate I paid. We refused of course so we were given one at the rate we paid. Upon entering the room we realized it was occupied and I immediately returned to the desk. Upon being given another room we were there about 30 minutes and someone attempted to enter our room with a keycard. The whole fourth floor smelled of marijuana. Nothing staying again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hamilton Inn Bessemer
Responded 12 Apr 2021
so sorry that you had to endure such a stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Najee C wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions
We booked two rooms for three nights. When we got to the hotel, one of the reservations was canceled due to overbooking (I was never notified by phone or email). The guy at the front desk was nice about it, I could tell there was nothing he could do and had run into this problem before. The place smelled like smoke. The room was dirty. I guess you get what you pay for. If you're looking for a cheap room without any frills (and don't mind a little mustiness) this is the place. Just call and confirm your reservation. Since this hotel is no longer under the Hilton umbrella, there's no corporate office to call when things go awry.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hamilton Inn Bessemer
Responded 12 Apr 2021
so sorry that you had a bad stay here and no we are not a hilton property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn bessemer, bessemer hampton inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hamilton Inn
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaBessemer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HAMILTON INN BESSEMER - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hamilton Inn Bessemer
Which popular attractions are close to Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Nearby attractions include Bessemer Civic Center (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant, Cracker Barrel, and Ruby Tuesday.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hamilton Inn Bessemer offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hamilton Inn Bessemer?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Bessemer Hall of History Museum (5.7 km).
Is Hamilton Inn Bessemer accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.