We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manga Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Manga Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed several nights in this hostel. It's a great location in the heart of Lapa. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and spacious, recently renovated. The staff and cleaning people were very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was also good with bread, fruit and juices. We defenetly will stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Gunter A
mangahostel, Recepcionista at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Gunter ! We are happy that you had a good experience with us. Your evaluation is very important to make us improve and develop our services and offer with quality to our guests. We hope to see you soon ! Best regards; Ryan Souza Manga Hostel Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Rio Manga hostel for a week during the Olympics. Overall the hostel is clean, tidy, has friendly staff and breakfast is included in the daily room rate. Something lots of other hostels don't include. Breakfast consists of bread rolls, ham, melon, water melon, biscuits and coffee or cordial drink. I stayed in a dorm of 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Railroadtycoon3
mangahostel, Gerente at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for the review! Your opinion is very important to keep improving our service. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards, Manga hostel Team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The room and the others spaces was clean! the only exception is about the lights of the badrooms... but without that everything was perfect. This hostel has the magic of Rio and the localization is awesome (really near for discos and bars). Also, you can meet people from others countries and cultures. I really recomend it!!

Helpful?
Thank Mireylla S
mangahostel, Gerente at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Mireylla, thank you for the review! Your opinion is very important to us! We hope to have you with us again! Kind regards, Manga Hostel Team More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Pros: - Staff are friendly and always willing to help. They create a relaxed and chill atmosphere. - Located in the Lapa district, outside a police station and less then a minute walk to the main area of Lapa which holds a lot of clubs, bars and good restaurants. - Basic Breakfast was served everyday from 8am to 10am -... More 

Helpful?
Thank danpY1097UJ
mangahostel, Gerente at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Your opinion are very important to keep us on the way, try and make a better service for our guest. We will consider everything mentioned by you. We are also glad that you had a good experience, and hope to see you again. Kind regards, Manga hostel Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Room was small, but perfect. The only thing missing was coat rack or something to put our towels on. Everything was very clean, we saw someone cleaning every day twice a day. Too bad that we couldn't enjoy a hot shower. Breakfast was as it should be (compared to others hostels we've been in, it was very good!). The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lien G
mangahostel, Recepção at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Lien! Thanks so much for your evaluation! Its always so great to know that we are doing a good job! We are really sorry to hear we had a problem with the hot water. our expectations was it to be working just fine. We hope we could have helped with this issue. I'm really happy to have helped you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

The location is good, employes are nice, they have a nice bar with a delicious caipirinha, breakfast isn´t much of a big deal though, very bad juice. Dirty place, lots of mosquitos, they didn´t clean the place before we checked in. The bathroom has no soap for us to wash our hands. The shower is horrible for us girls to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gabriela C
mangahostel, Proprietário at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are truly sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hostel. All rooms are always cleaned before check-in time(at 2pm). I say that because sometimes we check people in earlier so they don´t have to wait but we tell that before 2pm the room will be cleaned if it wasn´t yet. In every bathroom... More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Located in the Lapa district of Rio with lots of night clubs and pubs around the property. My wife and I stayed at the Ipanema room, which was their private room. Only positive point were the staff who were very friendly and helpful. Now the negatives, The floor felt dirty and we had to have flip flops on pretty much... More 

Helpful?
Thank ongkyw
mangahostel, Gerente at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry that you had a bad experience with us. The cleanliness in the dorms happens between 12 and 2pm everyday. Differently, the private rooms are cleaned as the guest requires, so that way wouldn't be uncomfortable to you the schedule of the staff in your room. Mosquitos are a problem that we don't have many options... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

The location is good. The air conditioning is good. The people in the reception know good English ( but unfurtently not very helpful- dont know buses or places to do laundry) The bad things- We were in a room with a double bed, and it was the smallest room I have ever been in! We didnt have any space to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elina S
mangahostel, Gerente at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It's very important to us to have your feedback, and that way we can keeping work to improve our services. However we were surprised to here about our receptionists. They all have a hard training, and buses or laundry are questions that we answer every day. Perhaps during your stay that was a... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights and thought the atmosphere was fab! Everyone got on well together and the staff do a great job!!! The bathroom could do with updating but other than that, good stay! Bedrooms have secure lockers big enough for backpacks! Love that the luggage storeroom is locked also!!

Helpful?
Thank Noelle C
mangahostel, Recepcionista at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Noelle! We loved to hear your feedback! We cherish always to have a good atmosphere and to be a good place to our guests to hang out and have fun! We are really sorry to hear about the bathroom issue and we will make sure to make an improvement on it. Our lockers were made thinking on all of... More 

Europe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The hostel is well managed and the staff is helpful. Our double private room was ok, a bit small but nothing to complain about. The bathrooms were decent, but we did not have hot showers throughout our stay - even though we let the staff know a couple of times. The breakfast was included, which was a positive point. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank EU2020
mangahostel, Proprietário at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, and thank you for the compliments. Our staff is our mainly priority. That's way I got surprised to know that we didn't fix your shower during your stay. Usually, any problem as that is quickly solve. We apologize about that. Thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards, Manga Hostel Team More 

299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Ipanema Room (40)
Viewed
Itacoa Dorm (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Bossa in Rio Hostel
Bossa in Rio Hostel
#9 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
391 reviews
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#5 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
229 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Caipi Hostel
Caipi Hostel
#57 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
251 reviews
Lapa Hostel
#91 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
202 reviews
Hostel in Rio
#30 of 707 in Rio de Janeiro
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
O Manga Hostel foi inaugurado em 26/12/2012. Localizado na esquina mais boêmia do Rio de Janeiro, este albergue oferece um andar inteiro para uso comum dos amantes da Cidade Maravilhosa. O Hostel possui um bar, sinuca, sala de TV e uma grande área externa com churrasqueira, forno a lenha e uma ducha para os dias mais quentes. A decoração é sensacional e faz você se sentir em casa. Todos os ambientes são climatizados com ar condicionado. É clima de montanha em plena Lapa no verão carioca. A recepção tem opções de passeios fora do eixo tradicional que os alberguistas adoram! Nós promovemos pequenas festas semanais exclusivas para os hóspedes e amigos próximos. Não tenha dúvida, você está no melhor albergue do Rio de Janeiro! Seja bem vindo, relaxe e aproveite ao máximo! Até o caroço! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manga Hostel

Address: Rua do Lavradio 186, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230-070, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: ₹ 1,096 - ₹ 5,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manga Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manga Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Manga Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“P.s Don't choose the 23 bedroom room as it gets too packed and they only have 2 bathrooms and 3 showers for those that are in that room.”
 of 5 bubbles danpY1097UJ, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Super friendly staff, always willing to help.”
 of 5 bubbles 296jayz, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The 23 coed room is great if you're not picky about privacy. you meet lots of different people from all over the world.”
 of 5 bubbles 752ceciliam, 13 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Book in to the biggest dorm you can find!”
 of 5 bubbles szko, 29 Oct 2014 | Read review
“They have shared rooms and private rooms. It's up to you and your budget.”
 of 5 bubbles Camila_MC, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay