We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Windsor Guanabara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

A middle of the road hotel with everything average ... in a terrible location. You are 'downtown' and whilst there are hints at this in daylight, do NOT under any circumstances feel free to wander around after, and that means in groups as well. Even standing outside trying to flag a taxi at night is a dangerous excursion. But as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe W
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This is your average hotel in downtown area, away from the tourists area and crowds. The room we stayed in was very clean, and had the amenities we expected for this kind of hotel. The area, where the hotel is located, is very business centric, and has a lot of stores, where you will find a lot of locals shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant-Jun
Windsor G, Gerente at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for rate us. We are happy to had attended your expectations. We hope to see you again. Best Regards, Thiago Murcia Food and Beverage Manager

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

My partner and I travelled to Rio De Janeiro for the Carnival to celebrate our 50th birthdays. We found some of the staff at the hotel extremely helpful and pleasant, however, not all. The facilities were ok, however, coffee making in the room would have been nice. Unfortunately, despite being one of the biggest producers of coffee in the world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoubieLou66
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, congratulation for your 50th birthdays. Thanks for comment here and give us the opportunity to know your perspective about our Hotel. Carnival in Rio is a very intense experience. The people stay at the street for all day and many streets and comercial places have to be blocked. We understand probably you was expecting something different. We were...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

This hotel was okay and for the price it was good. It said there was a bar on the top floor but actually it's just some tables, so that was a shame. There was a lot of construction work going on out side of the hotel which is to be accepted, so unfortunately this did make my room very noisy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for rate us. We have bar service and waiters 7am till 11pm on the top floor. Our guests can use the tables or the pool area to enjoy their drinks or any kind of meal. Currently we have some contructions around us, but we have antinoise windsows, and the sound should not pass trough inside. Thanks to...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 February 2016

On our way back from Salvador, we stayed our last night in Brazil at Windsor Guanabara Hotel in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a nice hotel with a very nice view. The staff were helpful and professional. We did not have much time to do anything, but the rooms are comfortable and clean. We have no complaints about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bijanirani
Windsor G, Owner at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for rate and choose us as your Hotel in Rio. Will be pleasure to have you here again. We hope next time you expend more days with us! Best Regards, Thiago Murcia Food and Beverage Manager

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We arrived on rio last February 6 then we checked in at Windsor guanabara. I'm writing this because I was very disappointed with one of the hotel staff named LEANDRO. He was very impolite and extremely rude to me when I asked him where is the lobby toilet. He pretends as if he didn't know how to speak english. He...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank C
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are pretty sure that what happened was unfortunate mistake. Leandro works in this company for many years and we hear only good words about him. When you were here, we had a big French group who couldn't speak english in a Hotel. He confused you as being part of this group and tried to speak French to...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Staff pleasant enough, rooms clean and comfortable. Try not to get one next to a lift shaft, as the noise can be annoying. The food is standard Brazillian. No thrills. Swimming pool on roof terrace always kept clean tidy as is the whole hotel in general.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CptGHopkins
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for rate us! Its very important for us to know your opinion about our services. Thanks for help us to make Windsor Guanabara Hotel be even better. Best Regards, Thiago Murcia Food and Beverage Manager

Gdynia, Poland
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This hotel is placed almost in the centre. Old-fasion building , with narrow corridors. Rooms are nice and quied. Breakfast was very tasty and everyone might find soemthing for himself. Very nice stay. Unfortunately, swiming pool is not for swimming - just for relax...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michal T
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for comment us. We are glad to receive your good experience in our Hotel, specially talking about the breakfast and rooms. We are sorry if the swimming pool is not so big as you expected, but we hope you had relaxed and enjoyed the view. Best Regards, Thiago Murcia Food and Beverage Manager

Guaruja, SP
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Big hotel, good English spoken at reception, But come on...the prices of the mini bar are extortionate and no shops open on Sunday's for your own supplies. The view I had was at the back and awful. But big room and clean. Walking in the streets felt uneasy on a deserted Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericward2013
Windsor G, Gerente at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments about our hotel and its services. Very helps us to make improvements and develop new services to learn the points highlighted by our customers. We are located in a business área, and the most part of the shops are close on Sundays, but our area is passing through a remaking with new transports, museums...

midlands
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Huge room, nice helpful staff and very good food in the hotel. It was a block booking for a business trip therefore not my choice, but it was good. It is close to a group of eateries, one of which was Michelin starred, but I didn't feel very safe walking out of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lotsofholsMidlands
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for rate us. We are very glad to receive your positive comment because as you said, wasn't your first choice. It's very gratifying when you surprises a guest in a positive way. We are very happy to know your opinion about our staff and food. We hope next time you choose stay with us and we will...

793 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (474)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (201)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (48)
Viewed
Double Superior Room (40)
Viewed
Executive Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Twin Standard Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#45 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
640 reviews
Windsor Florida Hotel
#33 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,004 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#110 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#73 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
252 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#93 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
518 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#111 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighbourhood Profile
Centro
Downtown Rio is the place where this city was born. With modern skyscrapers sharing space with historical buildings and landmarks, this neighbourhood is living proof that the old and the new can live together harmoniously. As you would expect, downtown is where all major companies house their offices. However, the region isn’t restricted to businesses. Gems such like the “Paço Imperial,” which is a cultural centre that used to serve as a residence for governors of Brazil, can be found here. Pedra do Sal, a Monday night street party, is also in this neighbourhood. This landmark is the birthplace of samba and is famous for its “roda de sambas” (“dance circles”). Stop in for one and get closer to discovering where Brazilian happiness comes from.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Address: Avenida Presidente Vargas 392 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Price Range: ₹ 5,836 - ₹ 10,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Guanabara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Windsor Guanabara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guanabara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Guanabara Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Windsor Guanabara Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was for the back of the hotel in the 19th floor. I could hear the bel of the church, but not the traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyo1986, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors insulate you somewhat from the intense street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SanFranciscoGuy, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a corner room, they are larger, and higher is better”
 of 5 bubbles alexandraf435, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great for both business and family trip, nice wifi connection...”
 of 5 bubbles 719mauriciop, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I am only guessing that a room on the upper floor facing away form the street would quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles CactusPatch, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5