We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rio Othon Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

615 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Benenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This hotel for the room is amazing value and the hotel location is superb however the prices they charge for food and wine is very expensive which is sad. The breakfast was having to watch a bun fight which put you off eating anything. Lastly if u have a late flight you are not given an option of a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r2dd
Marbella, Spain
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

When i stayed at the Rio Othon Palace on Copacabana, the only thing i was thinking all the time was , how did this hotel obtain 5 stars, it's not fair to the real 5 star hotels in rio like the copacabana palace and the fasano.In my opion the Othon needs to be downgraded at least a star to give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardLVDV
Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

A top place for Copacabana but is a 5star hotell. May be 2,5 -3 but never 4. Sloppy staff, no top cleaning, leakage in the roof, no respons on claiming. OK bar, Nice staff there but too high prices ? The standards have been degrading.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been coming to Rio for many years and this hotel has always been here so it must be over 35 years old. I also have stayed here years ago so it wasn't my first time, I was familiar with the hotel. I chose this hotel for the 2016/2017 New Year eve timeframe because it had a good price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobH15
RioOthonPalace, Public Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. BobH15, Thank you for your comments and at the same time we regret what happened on the beach. Thank you for letting us know about the events. We are retransmitting your comments to our security manager, responsible for the beach service, who will take appropriate action. We would like to inform you that we are modernizing the elevators....

New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is pretty good, comfortable beds and pillows, all smell good and clean. I already came prepared for st noise as I request front view, but I was there to party, so I didn't care one time I wasn't there to sleep. We had 2 rooms, both in good standing, beds king in one room and 2 queen in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Criscriscam
RioOthonPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Criscriscam, Thank you for the beautiful words. In your next visit to Rio we are available, waiting for you. Best rgds, Guest Relations

Marlborough
Reviewed 1 week ago

Top Shelf hotel with gorgeous facilities, right in the heart of Rio. For upscale Europeans primarily, but all types were welcome. Ice cold beer with a panoramic view in their bar. Loved it. Intend on coming back here again during Carnival!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skysoldier4life
RioOthonPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr./Mrs. Skysoldier4life, Thank you for the words. We are waiting for you at Carnival! Best rgds, Guest Relations

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long trip from Australia, we were hot and tired and straight away our much anticipated trip was off to a bad start with worse to come. We arrived via taxi from the airport and we had to drag our luggage up the ramp into the hot and steamy reception area as there was no one to direct or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sahara123446
RioOthonPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Sahara123446 We are sorry and at the same time thank you for giving us your impression of the hotel. We are in contact with all the departments mentioned, who have attended to you so that we can take the necessary measures. Our employees are trained to a high standard of care. On your next visit to...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent 4 nights, including New Year's Eve, at this hotel with my family. The list of problems we had is long, and tainted what was supposed to be an unforgettable experience for a stay costing more than US$ 1,000 per night. Hotel was full, and clearly understaffed and not ready for it. We never, ever got through reception by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agj60
RioOthonPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Agj60, We are sorry and at the same time thank you for giving us your impression of the hotel. We are in contact with all the departments mentioned, who have attended to you so we can take the necessary measures. On your next visit to Rio, contact our hosting manager, Vera Reis, who will give you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rio in late December is 32°c rooms air conditioner is not working tried to change room reception said no rooms available really shame on a 5 star hotel , had to move from hotel ! The technician left a note for me !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPPILOT21
RioOthonPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.JPPilot, We regret the inconvenience, however we would like to clarify that the letter left in your room was from the Reception Supervisor stating that the technician had gone into your room and left the air conditioner running at maximum. If it was still not good for you to contact the front desk they would arrange to move you...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at Rio Othon about 5 times and I have always experienced a great service during my check in and check out. The hotel is across from the beach and near(walking distance) lots of restaurant and markets and very quiet during the evening. I sleep with my windows open!!! The staff goes above and beyond to make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
RioOthonPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Rio Othon Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Allan G, Thank you for the comments. We were very happy to read it. We are relaying your praises to the Othon Business personnel , which will serve as an incentive to maintain the quality of their services. We will look foward to see you again to our Rio Othon Palace. Thank you! Guest Relations

619 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (242)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#47 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,094 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,722 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#23 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#28 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,280 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,164 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#79 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Rio Othon Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 3264, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: ₹ 8,918 - ₹ 21,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Othon Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 554
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Rio Othon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Rio Othon Palace De Janeiro
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#43 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Othon Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
St Albans, United Kingdom
Ness City, Kansas

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Rio Othon Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you can book on either side of the building, however, the best view is the ocean front room. Do not book in the rear of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles AllanG961, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Understand the wood issue, it will help you understand the room design.”
  • Inspection
  • Inspection
 of 5 bubbles 253odede, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room facing east”
 of 5 bubbles 624jurekb, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think that the view to Corcovado is the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles ricardocosta2015, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best is the view from the rooftop pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Z5523VOjackm, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay