We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 963: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is just a quick walk away from Leblon, Ipanema and a longer walk to Copacabana which it's not far. Every single room has a balcony, most of them facing the sea (there are a few ones which don't). The service is great, the consierge knows a lot about the city and its timings and that was very helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour Mr. Daniel, It has been a real pleasure to read your review following your recent stay with us. I thank you for choosing our hotel while in Rio de Janeiro. I am glad that you enjoyed the service as well as the view, the location and the breakfast. I shall pass your comments to the entire team. I look... More 

South Shields
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recent returned from a 5 night business stay and must say the hotel did not meet the expectations I was expecting or experienced for a Sofitel! The rooms are fine and as mentioned in other reviews are in need of a little modernisation. Location couldn't really be faulted and great views from Terrace bar. What did really disappoint me was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Lesley
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour Mr. Chris-Lesley, First of all, we would like to thank you for sending us your feedback. Be assured that your comments have been taken into account and will be shared with the concerned heads of department. I am really sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I hope we will keep your confidence and that we will have the opportunity... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came to meet a colleague this evening. We explained we would have drinks initially. No drinks menu delivered for some time. There is no doubt we were diverted be the view of Cocacabana beach and so didn't notice the delay for a time The third person in our party arrived and they had run out of the local beer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank P R
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour dear guest, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your experience in our hotel was not up to your standards and it did not meet your expectations. I would like also to apologize for any inconvenient at our hotel, be sure I will pass these comments on to the relevant department so this type of situations do not... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been 3 times now due to work colleagues staying here and tonight is the last time. Never again. Drinks are extortionate and the service is all but completely broken. I waited over 30 mins for a drink tonight, asked four times for the drink and never got served. Absolutely disgusting service for a place that THINKS it's something special. Do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jakeyjak3
Sofitel-Rio, General Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour dear guest, First and foremost, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your experience in our hotel was not up to your standards and it did not meet your expectations. Customer service and satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and I appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with us. We hope you can give... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Problems at check-in, our prior request for room with bath not seemingly transmitted. Some negotiation resulted in a free upgrade to a superior room, with sea view. Note: there is no such thing as standard room here. The lowest tier is "Superior Room", which we had requested, thinking it above basic. Room comfortable, but bathroom seriously needs refurbished. The handle... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadDocNI
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the situations you encountered in your room, about the maintenance, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first visit to this hotel and think we wouldn’t return, not because it’s awful because it’s not but it’s very much hit and miss. Pros • Friendly doorman (Alfredo) and good concierges • Great view from breakfast/restaurant area over the beach • Efficient housekeeping • EXTREMELY comfortable bed, like sleeping on a cloud • Great curtains, very dark at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chocarmy
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Characterized by Brazilian cultural influences and a French refinement, the hotel is located on the Copacabana, where the human body is celebrated in all its firm and fleshy glory. It is next to must-see tourist attractions like Ipanema Beach and the Sugarloaf Mountain. The energy around the hotel is infectious, as the kinetic energy of capoeira artists and samba dancers... More 

Helpful?
Thank dminto
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour dear Dminto, It is a great pleasure to receive your comments. We are very glad that your stay overcame your expectations and that you enjoyed our view over Copacabana Beach, our staff and our rooms! It means that our main purpose was reached, which is to provide a memorable stay to our guests. We hope to welcome you back... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So why two stars, Sofitel and this one advertise luxury and charge a hansom price to stay here, for everything a tiny bottle of water is more than $10, but you know it's not going to be cheap when you book so that's ok. The problem is that the hotel is quite tired and the rooms are definitely not luxury... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shantaran
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Bonjour dear Shantaran, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. We have been through a renovation to improve the service we offer to the guests. At Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to... More 

Leuven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Worn out hotel but with friendly staff and spectacular views on the mythic beach of Copacabana, and very convenient to get to Ipanema. Taking breakfast on the terrace with view over Copacabana is just unique.

Helpful?
Thank Yves D
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear Yves, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Our location and view indeed pleases our guests. I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as... More 

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I have stayed here regularly over the last 12 years, and am sad to see this hotel fading away from its former glory. The location is great, service is good, but that is where it stops. The facilities were once superb, especially the executive club floor (Club Millesime) with it's dedicated club lounge with free drinks and snacks and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Azure55
Sofitel-Rio, Operations Manager at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. Customer service and satisfaction is of paramount importance to us and I appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with us. We have been working on a renovation... More 

943 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (866)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (116)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (136)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
View from Room (99)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (295)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,096 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,883 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#33 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#68 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,267 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,384 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
#39 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighbourhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Horse's Neck
Horse's Neck
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Brazilian, South American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: ₹ 11,040 - ₹ 29,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's all about the view, choose a room fronting the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles chocarmy, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the 20s are probably the best in the house.”
 of 5 bubbles jonathong988, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“corner rooms offer a great view .”
 of 5 bubbles P2680ZVmariel, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“view room is best”
 of 5 bubbles 166taran, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Superior. Had I known how bad the view from the "Standard" category is, I would have upgraded to a room with a bettwe view. One night in Rio only, but facing the backyard. Very disappointing.”
 of 5 bubbles MRFleischer, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay