We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pousada Caminho do Ouro

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Pousada Caminho do Ouro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
baltimore
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Excellent little Posada run by a couple; a Frenchman and a Brazilian.....so you have access to excellent French cuisine (infused in the breakfast) and warm braziilian hospitality. Only few rooms (four I think); Caretakers are multilingual and speak decent English. Very nicely stylish decorated rooms and ambience and beautiful deck overlooking river on the backend of the Posada. Pleasantly surprising...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HMSSantaMaria
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's true the website (Decolar.com) does not give us your e-mail. We tried to send you a message to confirm some informations but no response. We do not accept kids, for example, but apparently you didn't know about this and we decided...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful find! The location was breathtaking, whereby they served amazing morning breakfast along the veranda overlooking the river. The rooms are charming, clean and very comfortable. We sensed the owners love what they do as all the little details made our stay most delightful. We hope to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kubaman
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Jason, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at Caminho do Ouro and we're very happy that you enjoyed you short visit to Paraty. We look forward to seeing you again maybe in the future. Our very best regards, Adriana & Christophe Legond

Fortaleza, CE
Reviewed 23 August 2015

If you're looking for a nice and pleasant stay in Paraty, the Pousada Caminho de Ouro offers exactly what you need. Clean and cozy room, amazing breakfast, and a very gentle staff. It's not in a posh area of Paraty, so if location is a "must" for you, please choose another b&b in the city center. This one is located...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cjgmoreno
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Carlos, Muito obrigada por dividir sua experiência com outros usuários do TripAdvisor. Ficamos felizes que tenham apreciado sua estada...

Ellijay, Georgia
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Exceptionally well maintained posada perched on the side of a beautiful riverside. We arrived just before dinner and what a surprise we discovered. The French chef/owner creates a world class dining experience. It is no surprise the restaurant has Been cited previously for the great meals he prepares. Additionally, the breakfast was a meal for immense as well as very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc122
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Marc, Thank you for your visit and greetings. We do everything to please our guests, so we are very happy when they feel satisfeids. When we return to Paraty, come to visit us again. It will be a pleasure to see you! Au revoir! Adriana & Christophe Legond

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Certainly the greatest discovery of our trip to Brazil. My friends and I booked 3 rooms right after Christmas and wanted a change from the classic near beach accomodations to something a bit more special or exclusive. We opted for Caminho do Ouro as it seemed more in touch with the local culture and located just outside central Paraty which...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ismail C
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Smail, What a delightful words to read! We do thank you for the friendly visit that you and friends made us in last December. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We know you are on the other side of the Atlantic, but if one day you come back to Brazil, think of to visit us again....

Reviewed 28 September 2014

We choose this B&B because of the great tripadvisor ratings. Maybe that's why we were a little disappointed. Positive points The accommodation was nice, if a little basic. The breakfast area was on a wooden deck above the secluded leafy edge of a river and the breakfast was good and very satisfying. The restaurant (usually weekends only) is highly rated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nigel B
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Nigel, Thanks for your comments, even though not all of them are as good as we would appreciate hearing or that we do not fully agree with your views. In fact, we regret that you did not understand our proposal and have been led to believe that you would find here some kind of therapy (applied by the owners),...

Reviewed 19 August 2014

It was a magical weekend. Calm and comfortable place. The French restaurant is magnificent. Highlight for the excellent care given by the owners. Recommend for couples seeking tranquility and good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EDUARDO V
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Eduardo, Thanking you so much for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure having you stay with us and we're so pleased you enjoyed Pousada Caminho do Ouro. We hope see you again soon. Our best wishes, Adriana & Christophe Legond

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My experience: A quiet and charming place. The water river sound embrace your sleep. The warm and simpatetic welcome of the owners was completed by the delicious meal offered by the Cheff of the Le Bistrô. Voilà.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juarez F
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Prezado Juarez, Obrigada por sua visita e, também, por esta gentil avaliação. Foi um prazer ter recebido vocês em nossa...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I went there last weekend with my husband, and everything was perfect. Marvelous place, perfect food, and best treatment by owners. And Paraty is very close, and very easy to leave your car in a parking area, so you can stay there, and enjoy your stay, and will not be a problem to go to downtown. The restaurant was amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giovana2202
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Giovana, It was very nice meeting you at last week-end. Thanks for you visit and also for this kind review. We hope to have another chance to welcome you into our home one day. It will be a pleasure! Kind regards, Adriana & Christophe Legond

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My partner and I spent two nights during the week between Christmas and New Years. The poussada has four rooms, all nicely decorated. The gracious and very helpful owners are a husband and wife, and their niece helps out and showed us our room. The café da manha is excellent with fruit, homemade pastries and crepes, cheeses, juices, and coffee,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory N
Adriana L, Proprietário at Pousada Caminho do Ouro, responded to this review

Dear Gregory, Thanks for your very kind and extensive review about us. .We are sure future guests will be able to use most of your information as a guideline for future visits. We hope to have another chance to seeing you again at Pousada Caminho do Ouro. It will be a pleasure for us! Best regards, Adriana & Christophe Legond

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (327)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (153)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 26 in Paraty
499 reviews
Chale Recanto da Praia
#7 of 26 in Paraty
183 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#21 of 26 in Paraty
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 26 in Paraty
429 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#5 of 26 in Paraty
389 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#3 of 26 in Paraty
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Caminho do Ouro is located 6 km from Paraty´s historic centre. It features air-conditioned rooms, a French restaurant and a deck overlooking the rapids of a river among exuberant vegetation.The rooms at Pousada Caminho do Ouro have a cosy, rustic décor. They are equipped with queen beds, satellite TV and minibar. Accommodation includes free Wi-fi access and free parking.Served on the deck, breakfast consists of items like tropical fruit, crepes, madeleines and omelettes. At Voilà Bistrot, guests savour other specialities prepared with truffles, foie gras and game meats.For relaxation, Caminho do Ouro offers balconies with hammocks, massage room, reading kiosk and river beach. Guests can also watch exotic birds in the hotel´s surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Caminho do Ouro

Address: Estrada Paraty-Cunha, KM 4 | Ponte Branca, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Price Range: ₹ 5,717 - ₹ 13,681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Caminho do Ouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Caminho Do Ouro Paraty, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paraty
#3 Family Hotel in Paraty
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada Caminho do Ouro staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pousada Caminho do Ouro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are only 4 rooms and they seem to be similar”
 of 5 bubbles HMSSantaMaria, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the river are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Marc122, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“all rooms are comfortable and calm.”
 of 5 bubbles eduardov715, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“It's not essential but definitely much more convenient to have your own car to get into town and the local attractions. The boat trips from Paraty are touristy but actually really nice and fun, take you to some great beaches. Paraty town is a nightmare if you have a baby buggy. The cobbles are enormous. The waterfalls up the road are worth a visit.”
 of 5 bubbles RafBenN, 25 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay