We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baia do Joao Pousada

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Baia do Joao Pousada
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Baia do Joao Pousada
See the most recent reviews
Showing 25: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Baia do Joao is not the worst hotel we have stayed at but to be fair to all the other hotels around the world we have reviewed on Tripadvsior it can only get 1 star as the quality is so far out of proportion with the price. It is basically a B&B charging 5 star prices. Even if they reduced...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank joaozinho
MARIAGERENTE, Manager at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

We always welcome well-intentioned criticism from travellers like yourself, however I must inform you that in our country a 5-star hotel tariff is at least three times higher than ours. We believe all your demands were quickly met from the moment you checked-in, albeit without having seen your room or become aware of our services, until just before you left....

uk
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Nice friendly place, very helpful staff eager to assist with restaurant bookings etc Hotel is secure and seems to have staff available at all times. I would definitely stay here again. Recommend to get a seaview room, I had no. 2 and it was great, I think any on the same floor would be equally good. The views across the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank j100_99
New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed here in September 2008 and had a wonderful experience. Years later and its still one of my fondest travel memories. The rooms were clean, spacious, airy, and overlooked the sea below. Hammocks on the balcony added an extra element of tranquility. The owner was a sweatheart and the staff was very attentive. If I come back to Buzios,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gvoyagesatwordpress
MARIAGERENTE, Manager at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

Thank you for commentary, it helps us alot to improve our service. We will be very glad to hear from you very soon.

Columbus, OH
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I were visiting our friends in Rio for about 9 days, and the 4 of us took a short trip to Buzios for 2 days while we were there. It's not a bad trip, about 2 hours from Rio, and pretty easy on the highway. Each couple stayed in a Superior, Sea-View room on the 2nd floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zippyincolumbus
MARIAGERENTE, Manager at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

Your comment give us a push to improve evrey day. We were honored to have you here.

washington, dc
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We did a lot of homework and shopping around before our two week stay in Buzios, including the most highly rated of the Trip Advisor pousadas. We found this one on Buzios online under "moderate" pousadas, were taken by the stunning pictures, and found it priced at levels of pousadas without anything special to recommend them. To say we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friquent_traveler
MARIAGERENTE, Manager at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

Your hole family satisfaction is the best feedback for our work. Thanks alot for your comments.

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Baia do Joao is a great place to stay. When we got there we were overwhelmed by the enthusiasm, hospitality and great seaview of this “little paradise”in Busios. After a short chat, we directly got a refreshing drink, because we travelled for a while and the hill where Baia do Jaoa is situated on is quite uphill. After that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valentijn14672
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We picked this inn based on other good reviews and were not disappointed. It was perfect and better than the pictures! The room was simple but perfectly fine in every way, it lacked nothing. The lobby/bar and breakfast area was sunny & pleasant with spectacular views over the pool/patio area-- impossible to beat! This location is absolutely perfect! We read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cocokelly
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This place is a gem! The view to the beach and to the ocean is so beautiful! The room was simple but clean, the patio with a nice hammock was really big. The location was perfect at least for us, it's on a peaceful spot on the hill but within easy walking distance to the town. The closest restaurants start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYCtra
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 16 December 2010

This is not a hotel-boutique, and not your place, if you are looking for sofistication. It is a simple, clean, confortable and familiar inn. Very well located, in a peaceful region, silent nights, but it´s not too far from the buzy Rua das Pedras, wich ones can reach into a 30 minute walk. And its worthy each cent I payed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jotamarcos
New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Do not belive what you see on those pictures YOU will not get those. The logo in the reception says "If we dont have it you dont need this" and they mean it. First, it is not a hotel, it is a wrothen house with the mold all over the rooms and full of mascitos and insects. The word of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank relbas
MARIAGERENTE, Gerente at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which we have acknowledged. We regret not to have been able to offer an up-grade as we did with the other couple that accompanied you. However, we would like to strongly stress that throughout all these years hundreds are the American travellers that vouch for our services and installations! You certainly do not represent the...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.2 km away
Vila Shalimar
Vila Shalimar
#54 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
80 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ville La Plage
Hotel Ville La Plage
#30 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
450 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#9 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
507 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pousada Aguazul
Hotel Pousada Aguazul
#38 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
312 reviews
0.3 km away
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
#43 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a highly privileged position less than 100 yards above the "Joao Fernandes Beach", with a fine panoramic view of the area. Offers one of the best accommodations in town, benefit from a full direct ocean view and balcony-terrace. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baia do Joao Pousada

Address: Rua das Palmeiras 32 | Praia de João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: ₹ 5,838 - ₹ 14,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baia do Joao Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Baia do Joao Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia De Joao Pousada Buzios
Baia Do Joao Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baia do Joao Pousada staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Baia do Joao Pousada staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only get the room with sea view if you must stay here”
CHHisbad, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Go for the top floor with a view!”
ElanaT1, 23 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Bring comfortable walking shoes if you don't bring a car. It is not far from the beach but the hill is steep, that's what gives you the great view.”
Heatha1177, 13 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Spend a little more, get the sea view rooms on second floor”
Chicagofoodies, 7 Jan 2013 | Read review
“All the front rooms have good seaviews. However we had a garden room with private terrace and still some seaview!”
ballenabay, 23 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5