We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westin Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Westin Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 792: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We traveled by train and metro for a long weekend in Alexandria, so this was well located only a 5 minute walk from the King St Metro station. This is also easy to go into DC, $3-4 each way on the Metro. We also liked the location a few blocks away from the hustle of King St. Lobby is impressive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jisabr
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Sear jisabr, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your comments. It sounds like you enjoyed our location with ease to the Metro and DC. Your extensive description of our hotel and amenities is appreciated and I hope you had an opportunity to take advantage of all. My apologies for the Direct TV hickup....

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 October 2013

No complaints, great property. Its a bit of a hike to King Street for any sort of night life, but they do have a shuttle that will take you down there. The shuttle will also take you to the Metro Station if you need to go to D.C. but won't take you directly to the airport. All in all no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Chris B, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. My apologies for the delay in your check in/check out. I was glad to know that you generally enjoyed the hotel and took note to our shuttle service available in and around Old Town and to the Metro. Hopefully you had an opportunity...

Arnold, MD
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at this property for my niece's wedding weekend. The hotel was upscale, clean and lovely. The room and bath were classy and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the parking situation. The only option was valet parking and although the service was attentive it was a bit slow. The wedding reception was held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen616
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Maureen, Thank you for staying with us. I was glad to know you enjoyed your accomodations and our staff and that all went well with wedding reception. We hope to see you back again soon. Rich Casale General Manager

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2013. When I checked in, I immediately went up to my assigned guestroom, and I noticed that the air was not working. I called the front desk who sent a engineer up to my room. The engineer could not fix the problem, so I had to switch my room. Ugh…what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QTPyePop
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear QTPyePop, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your comments. I was glad to know you enjoyed our location and your experience in Trademark. I did want to extend my apologies for the inconviences related to the air not working properly in the room and hope that we extended ourselves enough in the...

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Warm, and inviting hotel, with everything I needed. Clean, modern, quiet. A perfect retreat for my trip to DC. Even though I don't like Starbucks, there was one right around the corner for your coffee fix.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ckings8
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Ckings, Thank you for staying with us. I was glad to know that all went well with your stay and that you were able to find everything you needed. Thanks as well for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Rich Casale General Manager

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great property. Highly recommend. Valet parking only, which is not uncommon around the DC area. You can, however, park on the street as long as you move your vehicle by 8AM. The property appears to be somewhat new which may explain why it look so crisp. I would recommend this property to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank partsguy1942
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear partsguy, Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to comment. I was glad to know that you enjoyed our service and facilties and we will hope to welcome you back soon. Rich Casale General Manager

San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Bed is so comfortable and the service great. Did not like being forced to use Valet parking. Expensive, not worth the cost. Should be allowed to park without charge while staying at hotel. The location was great. Wish the hotel was a little closer to where family lives, but not the hotels fault. Would recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cdrwr1013
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Cdrwr, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. I am glad to know you enjoyed our Heavenly Bed and service in general. Although we do offer only valet parking in the hotel's garage as you mention, there are other less costly options to consider for your next visit in. There is...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 5 September 2013

stayed here multiple times on business trips - excellent service, great fitness center and pool; centrally located between two metro stops with free shuttle to metro. Restaurant is quiet with good food

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cfm8701
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear CFM, Thank you for choosing the Westin Alexandria for your stays when travelling to the area. I was delighted to know that you have stayed with us many times and are enjoying our service, fitness center, restaurant, and location among other things. We look forward to continuing to be of service and please feel free to reach out to...

Corona, New York
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the Labor Day weekend compliments of a vacation ownership presentation. I must say I was thoroughly impressed. Check in was a breeze and so easy. The concierge was very respectful. The room was absolutely amazing, especially for a standard room. Very comfortable king size bed; flat screen TV; work station with enough outlets; mini...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KrazySexyCool007
Thomas P, Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear KrazySexyCool007 Thank you for choosing the Westin Alexandria as your preferred location while visiting Alexandria. I was glad to read you enjoyed your room and the efficiency of our service. Starwood Hotels & Resorts is committed to reduce our carbon footprint with an agressive goal that we call 30/20 by 20 meaning we are committed to reducing our energy...

Mississauga, ON
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We loved our room and the amenities in the hotel. From the lobby to the gym, everything is well appointed. The valet service was quick and all of the attendants were super friendly. The internet was expensive and unreliable, rather unacceptable in 2013. We paid $35 for four days and then could only get a signal in the doorway of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie222
Thomas P, Manager at The Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lizzie222 Thank you for chosing The Westin Alexandria for your accomodations while in Alexandria. I was pleased to read you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay as well as the service we provided. I apologize for the inconsistency with the housekeeping service and I will address this with my team. Your comments concerning the internet cost and reliability...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,254 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#9 of 53 in Alexandria
1,167 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Sq, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: ₹ 8,253 - ₹ 26,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Alexandria staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of the Masonic temple is nice. Long hallways.”
 of 5 bubbles mahmeh, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“our room was on the 8th. floor no view”
 of 5 bubbles Sharoninflorida53, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 505 and the view was spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles RickandJackieC, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“quiet town and quiet neighborhood where located. right across street from US court”
 of 5 bubbles 284christopherj, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“cheaper parking nearby”
 of 5 bubbles Rit4CR, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay