We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shavers of Abingdon B & B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Shavers of Abingdon B & B
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great Bed and Breakfast. The food was great and a wonderful couple runs the B & B. Nice rooms and great atmosphere. We really enjoyed taking in the small, quiet town and enjoyed the show at the Barter. It was well worth our time and a wonderful, restful weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkimor
Joni66, Owner at Shavers of Abingdon B & B, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay--we hope you will return again! It was a pleasure having you stay with us!

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Joan made an absolute wonderful, homemade breakfast! And we slept so comfy.... beautiful home and we will be back! Doing the Creeper Trail is something we love doing often , and finding a place to stay over and over again makes it all just that much nicer. We will return soon 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe N Lisa K
Joni66, Owner at Shavers of Abingdon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us--hope to seen you again soon.

Cumming, Georgia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfast for the last 20 years and this was definitely the worst. The place needs an entire update. The carpet is stained and dirty. The breakfast consist of 1 Tablespoon of yogurt served in a plastic cup, 1 thin slice cantaloupe, 1 strip of bacon, 1 egg omelet, store bought english muffin, No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally20161947
Joni66, Owner at Shavers of Abingdon B & B, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our B&B, and I would have definitely addressed the issues you mentioned had you spoken to me about them at the time. We had five other guests that weekend who spoke very positively about their accommodations and their breakfasts, and I was unaware that you were unhappy. I...

Thomasville, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Shavers. Nice historic home with wonderful host, Joanne & Mike. Joanne takes pride in her cooking and it shows. We were able to walk to the downtown area. Rooms were clean and quiet. I would recommend this location and B&B to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hemlock07
Joni66, Owner at Shavers of Abingdon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and it was a pleasure to ensure that you had a pleasant stay.

Knoxville, TN
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights and truly enjoyed Shavers of Abingdon. We were in the French room. Both mornings we had a delicious, filling breakfast - local fruit, yogurt and bread, then bacon and either quiche or eggs & cornmeal waffles with choice of syrup or blueberry compote. There was a jug of coffee outside our door at 7:30 (before breakfast)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hhallm
Joni66, Owner at Shavers of Abingdon B & B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our B&B. We appreciate the pictures you have posted as well, showing the type of homemade breakfasts that I serve. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you will return again soon!

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Shavers, but beware the house is extremely old and has an interesting odor about it. We didn't notice it in our room, thankfully. The room is spacious and the bed was comfortable. While you are likely to have a private bath, take note it will be down the hall. Our bathroom was very clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Enjoyed my stay at Shavers of Abingdon B & B. Very clean, comfortable and convenient to Abingdon activities. The Carolina room was roomy, with queen bed, television and beautiful décor. The Inn is a restored Victorian home. The room has a shared bath down the hall with one other room. Being the only guest, this was not an issue but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We came to Abbingdon to go to a play at the Barter theater, we were hoping for a place to stay that had some character and that's what we got! The house is interesting, The rooms were large and comfortable.Our Host, Joan was very helpful, when we were looking for dinner reservations she made several suggestions and the one we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
Nutley, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Shavers of Abingdon. The room was clean and decorated quite nicely. Having a private bathroom down the hall was not an issue considering that they provided you with robes. Having coffee left outside your room in the morning was a nice touch. The breakfast was good, but I thought the portions were small. Joan was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkieJ1216

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
1.6 km away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
395 reviews
1.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
169 reviews
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Abingdon
169 reviews
5.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bed and Breakfast, offering full hot cooked breakfasts with homemade breads and pastries, local eggs and sausage, and seasonal local fruits and vegetables. Check-in snack available by request, soft drinks and bottled water available at all times. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shavers of Abingdon B & B

Address: 619 Colonial Rd SW, Abingdon, VA 24210-3003
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shavers of Abingdon B & B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?