We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Hotels.comUS$ 120*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 245: English reviews
Start your review of Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
 Click to rate
Jarrell, Texas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were looking for an afford place to stay in Austin for one night. It was definitely affordable but the experience was lackluster. The hotel is run down and currently starting renovations. We waited at the front desk for about five minutes while the staff was on the phone. The overall check in took about 15 minutes and the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. Although you liked our location, I am sorry for the inconvenience you faced with the service and the facilities during your stay. As we have fully equipped kitchens with full size refrigerator, we do not have ice machines on our property. Your feedback is important to us, and we hope...

Houston, Texas
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

In Austin for conference @ Radisson, my stay booked from Wednesday 8/3/16 thru Saturday 8/6/16. Ended up checking out around 8am. I must say that this Extended Stay was clean, everything worked in room and the Staff was over the top friendly & helpful! Customer service-mainly Jesse-was a 10+! Super helpful and made me feel like I was at home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EldoradojansuenicLVN
About Hotel's Favourite Review
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience for each of our guests and it is great to read about the service you received from our staff. They will be pleased to hear their efforts are noticed and appreciated by...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay AWAY from this Extended Stay property on Town Lake in Austin. We paid $229 plus tax for a room with dirty sheets and a filthy bathroom (with human hair all over the tub and commode.) One of the lamps did not work. The hallways are dark, and a bit dirty. The hotel smells like tobacco smoke and old greasy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSJ-HoustonTX
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback of your stay. I am very disappointed to see that your feedback referenced the description of our hotel as "filthy". Our promise to our guest includes a commitment to providing a clean, fresh environment and I am very sorry that did not happen when you were here. I am concerned about your experience and have immediately...

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

I came for one night positively- the hotel should be closed. The blonde guy at the reception was totally unfriendly- this was an omen once in the room the WI Fi totally inaccessible despite my calls for assistance- I had legal work to send that was affected- they did not care- the TV was not working- they did not care-...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pagan L
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Pagan, first and foremost, I would like to offer you my apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Our team's first priority is making sure that every guest has a comfortable stay, and this time we really missed the mark. We regret that our staff not able to resolve the issue while you were here....

Reviewed 12 April 2017

When my, baby, and I arrived, there was nobody at the front desk for an extended period of time. There was a sign up with numerous 1st grade level grammatical errors (pictured). Behind the front desk was a large TV screen flashing the word SECURITY. when a housekeeper saw that we were not being helped, she yelled some inappropriate choice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sadoll6360
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

I was so disappointed to read your experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. This is not the type of service our hotel is known for, and I am taking incident this with my team members to check what went wrong and to ensure this never happens again in future. We hope you will give us an...

Cupertino
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Business trip, few minutes walk to Hyatt, close to good restaurants and any destination in Austin heartland about 10 bucks by Lyft or Uber. Excellent night life on Congress Ave by the night and Bats at The Statesman (bridge) is a stone throw away. Positives END there. At check-in desk, there was nobody when I went. Had to wait almost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Murali R
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Murali, thank you for your evaluation. We regret that our hotel and amenities did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a home-like living experience. So we certainly understand why you may have found our facilities different than traditional hotels. Having said that, we apologize for the...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Let me start by saying that I loved my room and the location of the hotel. It is, 5 minutes walk from the spectacular trails along the lake, 5 minutes from the Congress Ave Bridge (bat bridge, 15 minutes walk from the restaurants and bars on 4 west, and 20 minutes walk from 6 east, and right on the edge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NamedePlumes
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Namede, thank you for choosing our hotel. We are pleased to know you loved our convenient location. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards, and we apologize for falling short. We appreciate you letting us know how we can improve as well as what we are doing right. We look forward to seeing you again and have the opportunity...

Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

The price is right but in this case you get what you pay. Run down and a bit dirty. Not terrible but noticeable. Not everything fully functional but ok. All was pretty good till we discovered the cockroach in the bathroom. Wouldn't recommend this facility because of that alone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff K
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Cliff, thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We are working with our Housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated. I will share your feedback with appropriate individuals, as we begin formulating plans for...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The hotel is located within fairly long walking distance of downtown and the capitol area in one direction and of the interesting SoCo (South Congress) area in the other direction, but that's about as much good as we could say. We arrived early and were told we could leave our bags and check in at 2:30, but were given a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank palekh
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing details about your stay. Please know that your experience is not representative of our usual performance, and we truly regret falling short of your expectations. We will discuss the issues you mentioned at our future team meetings and will focus on ways to improve in these areas. On a positive note, we are happy our location...

Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We were scheduled to stay at this property for two nights, arrived, parked the car easily and when we went through the main doors I noticed that the carpet was dirty, the doors needed to be painted and as we approached the front desk, there was a screen announcing that we were being recorded. Is this area not safe? The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaViajera007
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for being our guest and taking the time to share your review! It is obvious from your comments that we didn't live up to your expectations. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced. I will be working with staff diligently so we are more consistent in our service delivery. We encourage you to try us again in...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Hyatt Regency Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Address: 507 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-1207 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: ₹ 7,193 - ₹ 17,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Homestead Suites Austin
Austin Homestead Suites
Homestead Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in another hotel for better rooms.”
MURALIR_13, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The back of the hotel backs on a creek, and is very quiet. The west side of the hotel is on a major street, so I would avoid those rooms.”
NamedePlumes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for kitchen gear before you go to your room--nothing is provided ahead of time!”
LaViajera007, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on ground floor opposite car park and it was fairly quiet, but it was a Monday/Tuesday. Might be noisier on the weekend.”
fmckay, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Preview the room before accepting it?”
464hansp, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 120* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 120
Booking.comUS$ 120
Expedia.comUS$ 120
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates