We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Civic Plaza Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Civic Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Civic Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
florida
Reviewed 27 July 2007

The staff was not cortious at the check in, the room was durty..I had two rooms but I left that place in 10 minutes. Now,I'm expecting a compensation from Priceline.Even do not get closer to that hotel if you do care about the sanitary..

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mustafalogoglu
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center. I am sorry that you did not find what you had expected and decided to leave. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: 1) Staff members received additional training concerning...

texas
Reviewed 13 July 2007

This place was dirty and somewhat scary. My room was at the back and upstairs. There was a party going on downstairs with a bunch of guys cooking on a grill in the parking lot. This is the first place I have ever stayed that did not have a security chain or lock on the door and I wedged a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barb1496
Amarillo, Tx.
Reviewed 4 April 2007

I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. I have never, ever stayed in a place this dirty and sloppy. The carpet was covered with spots and spills, the window blinds were extremely dirty and dust billowed up when I tried to raise them-they wouldn't raise, the lampshades were torn and dirty, only two lamps in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank terriJAmarillo
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: 1) Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our...

Right here.
Reviewed 2 April 2007

We never got to stay there. We gave a credit card number to reserve a room, they put us down for the week BEFORE the date we gave them. They said we were a no-show so they charged the card anyway!! The hotel put us down for the wrong date. Now we are having to find another hotel. The person...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hemihead
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hemihead, Thank you for your attempt to stay at Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center. I am so sorry that things didn’t work out as you had intended. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: 1) Registration staff received additional training...

A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

We stayed at this "hotel" while attending a friend's wedding. What a nightmare! On a side note, all other hotels were completely booked because of two other events the wedding couple neglected to tell their guests about, but we found this hotel in an online search and their website looked great. (---). We thought the only reason it had rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken: 1) The management was appraised of your opinion that the room needed repairs. 2) The management...

Dallas, TX
Reviewed 7 March 2006

I tried to make a last minute reservation for a Friday evening in Abilene, and almost every hotel in town was booked due to an ACU function. Looking at the reviews on the Quality Inn, I was not looking forward to the stay. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel must have been remodeled since the 2004 comments. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bjmcmah
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights in Jan. The rooms are clean and the staff is curtious. I would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2004

The hotel sits in the class of Budget inn,Relax inn,Truckers inn. The hotel is a run down Quality Inn.I did not experience any problems with the staff.The rooms are very dated and smell like an old hotel room.Nothing Offensive just the old musty hotel room.(I pack air freshner). The rate i paid was like $66.00...Way to high for this property....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center. I am pleased that you considered the TV’s in the rooms to be great. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway...

A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2004

I have stayed at the Civic Center Hotel numerous times and I have always enjoyed my stay. Clean rooms and curteous staff. This place is an easy recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Worth, Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2004

I stayed at the Civic Center Hotel and had a great experience. I recommend!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Abilene - North College Area
4.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
4.2 km away
Comfort Suites University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Abilene Inn & Suites
4.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University
6.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Civic Plaza Hotel

Address: 505 Pine St, Abilene, TX 79601-5109
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Civic Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Abilene
Abilene Knights Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Civic Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tips to share for a good room”
163MaryM163, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“DONT ever book here”
lal1943, 2 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Want a good room? Stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!!”
lemado, 30 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
Momof3pks, 31 Mar 2012 | Read review
“Run from this room fast, its scary, nasty and the area was very sketchy!”
  • STAINED BATH TUB DRAIN
Loredova, 14 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Elvoline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates