We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Aiken

Expedia.comUS$ 88*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 90*
US$ 88*
US$ 90*
US$ 90*
US$ 88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Aiken
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is disgusting. The first room I got had peeling paint and wallpaper, cobwebs, and a hole in the ceiling. There were bugs in the bathroom. I asked for a different room, which was slightly better, but still dirty. There were spots on my sheets and a dirty towel left from the last guest. It's an inexpensive hotel, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
Management response:

I'm so sorry we were unable to meet your needs. I will speak with the housekeeping staff about your concerns. Thank You so much and safe travels.

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Hotel Aiken with my family for a two-night stay, with two rooms being booked. We initially had these rooms booked on the ground level due to elderly parents, and hence ended up in the "motel-like" annex across the alley street from the actual inn. Both of our rooms were badly lit and maintained. One room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenWrennie
Management response:

Thank you for your comments. We hope to improve soon.

richmond, VA
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

My three sons and I stayed here for the Masters. We had read the reviews and knew what we were getting into at this hotel. With that said the hotel was pretty much what we expected. Not great by any means but not that bad. Staff was fine. Room, five on a scale of ten. We stayed in the courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubbarichmond
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next year. I'm also glad you weren't disturbed by the bands. We have live bands everyday during Masters. I hope you enjoyed the game.

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 4 nights during Masters Week which is a non-refundable booking. Based on their website it appeared to be a charming old hotel. What a misrepresentation!! When we checked in they gave us a room at the outside "motor coach" section. When I asked to be switched to a room in the main hotel they said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimirutherford
Management response:

I"m sorry your stay was not up to your standards. Yes, you booked an outside room so that what was assigned at your request. We were sold out and couldn't do a room move. Also guests whom book through a 3rd party site, their needs are often not met. When you book through a 3rd party site and you booked...

Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Our room was in their motel section next door to the historic hotel. Next time I'll ask if they have any rooms in the original hotel building. That said, the motel room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The hot cold faucet in the shower was reversed and heard a bit of yelling in the parking lot late at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
Management response:

You are so kind in your review. We read every review and make sure and improve or train on each one. Please visit us again and we will make sure you are in the historical section, where every room is a different layout. Thank you again and happy travels.

Augusta, GA
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

The room left a lot to be desired, no phone and very dim. The Courtyard rooms where I stayed needed renovations at minimum. It would have been nice to at least have had a vending machine somewhere on site for a non alcoholic drink:( I paid at the "Promotion" price of 60+ tax for the room and I felt cheated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer S
Management response:

Thank You for your review we take our reviews very seriously. Our renovations will be taking place soon which should address alot of your issues. Again thank you for letting us know we can only improve from there.

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Nice Room, Friendly People and Clean. Excellent for handicapp people. Helpful with local locations. Close to shopping and restaurants. Beds were soft and comfortable. Separate TV's for kids. liked the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lincarrick3
Management response:

Wow, we are so happy that we were able to please. Thank You so much for your kind words and will most definitely pass this on to my staff. We hope you come see us again soon. Again THANKS Y'ALL.

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 February 2017

It's not The Ritz but I always find great value at Hotel Aiken. I'm there for horse business each February. I go back to Hotel Aiken because of location and price. I stayed in the annex again. Big king room with comfortable bed and walk-out to many nearby bars and restaurants. If noisy weekend nights bother your sleep pattern, look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulie59
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear from repeat guests. Sorry to hear about the TVs we just put in 32 flat screens, not sure what is terrible about them but we will make sure to check them out. Thanks again for the review it can only help us improve.

Reviewed 15 February 2017

I booked Hotel Aiken through a 3rd party hotel site for its proximity to The Masters. Hotel Aiken, through the 3rd party, offered the room to me during Masters week with No Prepayment & Free Cancellation. Great- so I booked! Well shortly after booking, I noticed Hotel Aiken charged my credit card and after reading more negative reviews of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately when guests book through 3rd parties, it is just that. A 3rd party. We manage our own website and over 450 sites access our information and book. There are some 3rd parties that will do anything to book even not tell you about charges or cancels. Our masters golf tournament has always been 60...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 February 2017

My wife and I wanted to spend a weekend in Aiken somewhere that allowed us to walk to anywhere we wanted to go. The hotel is very old. We enjoyed our rides on the elevator as it has to be manually operated by the staff. Hollywood could film a great period movie here! The furniture in the lobby looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty Y
Management response:

Thank You so much for the wonderful review. We do our best with what we have to work with. I'm so glad my staff was able to show you hospitality while you were here. Thank you so much for bringing the blinds to our attention, some things just get by us. We are replacing those blinds today guaranteed. Thank you...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
8.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
111 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
4.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 20 in Aiken
33 reviews
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Ave W, Aiken, SC 29801-3865
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: ₹ 4,347 - ₹ 5,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aiken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dirty, but outside is better than inside”
, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Annex rooms face a noisy bar.”
Paulie59, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 201 is away from the bar noise and has a great view of the city.”
MartyY221, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for what you want - they will do everything they can to accommodate!”
bamafoody, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
  • Peeling wallpaper and mold
  • Peeling wallpaper near the ceiling
483alvind, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 88* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 90
TripAdvisorUS$ 88
PricelineUS$ 90
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates