We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oceanana Family Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oceanana Family Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Cascade, Virginia
Reviewed 4 November 2016

The rooms are nice and very clean. People are very nice and friendly. I loved staying there. The pier is right there, if you don't want to fish all day go to room and rest. Just a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huntcascade
North Carolina
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The first place my family and I have always came every year and just a Great place!! Has eveything you need!! Just come and relax and enjoy!! You will want to go back year after year!! Just take plenty of pictures!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna T
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Yes, please take plenty of pictures! Children grow up too fast. Thank you for leaving such a positive review, we genuinely appreciate serving our regulars year after year.

Washington, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Everything was fine. People were very friendly. I enjoyed walking on beach and pier and we even saw a sea turtle it was very relaxing. They had breakfast by the pool and then we could continue on and walk and look and enjoy our trip. I really enjoyed my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajichardison
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for us. Sea turtles love our beach, we're glad you were able to catch a glimpse of one here. We always appreciate it when our guests enjoy their stays with us. We hope you return soon!

Manteo, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I just recently stayed at Oceana Family Resort during the NC Seafood Festival. My husband and I received a two double bed room (which I might add and I joked about were clearly glorified twin beds). My husband is only 6 foot 1 inch and his feet hung off the end of the bed. The beds were rock hard and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy M
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, Chrissy M. I'm sorry you and your husband were unsatisfied with your room. If you ever decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact the front desk if the beds are uncomfortable. We're here 24 hours a day to make sure our guests are satisfied with their rooms. You may have...

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

A lot has changed since I was a kid at this place. The area has grown so much. We had an awesome time. Kids loved the pool, playground, and the beach area. The rooms were very clean. Ready to go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your return to the Oceanana, Johnny C. Next time you and your family visit, be sure to stop by the front desk for some discount tickets to the NC Aquarium in Pine Knoll Shores. Fort Macon has been updated quite a bit, as well. Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us, we...

Newport, Tennessee
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Anytime we want to take a vacation to the beach, we will always go here. the staff is very friendly and will help you in any way you need. one of the employees even asked me if I caught anything while we was fishing. we did have to leave a day earlier due to a illness. the staff was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrandinSteve710
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we hope our guest is feeling better. Next time you go fishing, just let us know so we can freeze and store your fish for you. Thanks again for the feedback!

Chocowinity, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night. But it's a great place to stay at. If you want to go fishing or lay on beach. Or just hang at the pool. Rooms are nice. It's not the holiday Inn, but for the money you can't beat being only steps away from the pier, pool or the beach. Will definitely stay here again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ldsowens
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us, we always appreciate feedback from our guests! We're looking forward to serving you again next year, hopefully for more than just one night. We offer specials and free pier fishing passes during the off seasons. You can make your 2017 reservations as early as February 1st. Thank you again.

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

stayed 1 night..older but place was clean and people friendly, fishing pass included with the rate however it was raining when we were there so didnt fish.. the hotel is in great location close to everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twila C
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, Twila C. We're sorry you weren't able to fish due to the rain, but if there is anything else we could have improved to make your stay enjoyable, please feel free to send us an e-mail. We hope you decide to stay with us again when the weather is better.

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

My 6 year old scratched his butt on the slide room is disgusting I have only been here 3 1/2 hours most have been in the pool. Asked for a refund so I could leave and go some where more decent and she shows me another room that is just about as bad as the one I am in. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelli Y
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Kelli Y, We searched the slide and found nothing that would harm anyone. Maybe a seashell that had stuck to your son, perhaps? Regardless, we welcomed you to remain in your room and even use all of our facilities until you had secured different accommodations. Upon checkout, I personally processed a full refund back to you. I felt we had...

Reviewed 19 August 2016

I grew up going to this place every summer. Now that I have kids of my own we decided to give it a try for old times sake. WOW....its nothing like you remember it. The rooms are at best decent if you get a renovated one. The beds are horrible and mine and my wife's back were killing us every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott M
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, Scott M. I'm sorry you had such a negative experience. Did you happen to let our 24-hour front desk staff know of your complaints? I'm sure we would have done everything we could to make your stay more pleasant. We will take the appropriate measures to fix these issues right away. Here at the...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
1.3 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
234 reviews
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Clam Digger Inn
Clam Digger Inn
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
345 reviews
2.6 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
149 reviews
1.8 km away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Address: 700 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5424
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Price Range: ₹ 3,847 - ₹ 11,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oceanana Family Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Oceanana Family Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At least get a down east renovated room. I can't imagine what the others would be like.”
 of 5 bubbles scottmW9512LB, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second floor, a lot of children on first floor...”
 of 5 bubbles taking50, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“no ocean view, floors nasty, carpet was torn and had spills all over it, tub nasty but pier house food was great”
 of 5 bubbles bem61755, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are newly renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles 405tammyc, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Down East Building if you like it quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GGSTOYS, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5