We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Save
Share
1 Nishi Aburakoji-Cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto 600-8236 Kyoto Prefecture
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (281)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (295)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 21/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Updated 21/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#282 of 598 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
APA Hotel Kyoto-eki Horikawa-Dori is conveniently located within a 10-minute walk of Kyoto Station and a 5-minute drive from Higashi and Nishi Hongan-ji temples. It offers massage services, a restaurant and free WiFi in the whole hotel. Rooms have both air conditioning and heating facilities. They are equipped with an original mattress optimizing weight distribution, a fridge, a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The private bathroom comes with a hairdryer and toiletries. Bath amenities including a toothbrush set are provided. Guests can relax in the public baths or request for a massage. The hotel also provides coin-operated laundry facilities, trouser press services and luggage storage at its 24-hour front desk. Guests can purchase beverages from the drinks vending machine on site. The Kyoto Ginyuba Restaurant offers a buffet breakfast daily for guests’ convenience. Shimogyo Ward is a great choice for travelers interested in temples, sightseeing and history.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Restaurant
Spa
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Full body massage
Massage
Open-air bath
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
906Reviews13Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 376
  • 294
  • 101
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
francisphang wrote a review Dec 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia678 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
Very clean hotel, staff are very polite. We booked 3 rooms, room rate are expensive during the peak season, maple leave (24th-28th Nov 2019). Room are very small not much space to move around, however we spent most of the time outside and return to the hotel at night. There is also a SPA at the top floor for hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All room window are sound proof.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 10 Dec 2019
Thank you for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawa-dori. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip to Kyoto. The autumn leaves of Kyoto are the most beautiful time now. Because many Japanese and foreigners visit Kyoto, hotel prices are high. Please understand. APA Hotel promotes eco activities. As part of these activities, the hotel has a compact room design and operates the hotel with consideration for the environment. It may be difficult to move around in the room, but the bed uses a spacious original bed mat to create a space where you can relax. There is a public bath on the top floor, and there is a sauna and an open-air bath. You can relax and enjoy bathing, so please use it. Please use this hotel again when you travel to Kyoto.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deefa1965 wrote a review Nov 2019
Sydney, Australia44 contributions47 helpful votes
I have now stayed in 2 of the APA hotels in Kyoto - one of which I have previously reviewed. This visit, I stayed in the APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori. Much like the Ekimae hotel the room was TINY. This time, I was forced to put my suitcase under the bed, as there was no other space (apart from directly behind the door) for my luggage. There was enough hanging space for about 5 shirts and one pair of pants. Decor of this hotel is an improvement on the Ekimae Hotel. Unfortunately, the fridge in the room was turned off when I arrived. I read something in the room that indicated that the hotel would prefer me to use the vending machine, but the vending machine didn't dispense the items that I wanted, so I purchased them from the "7-11" next door. Bed was comfortable (apart from being a little small), and the pillows were good. I am a smoker the the room included and air purifying device, which seemed to work reasonably well. There are 3 lifts in this hotel, so access to the lobby was not really an issue. Free WiFi in this hotel was not very good for Japanese standards, but it was functional. Staff were friendly. Location is good relative to Kyoto Station. Took me about 13 minutes to walk to the train platform each morning. There is a good Ramen restaurant and coffee shop less than 1 minute walk from the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 宿泊 A, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 26 Nov 2019
Thank you for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawa-dori. You stayed in front of Kyoto Station. The hotel is close to Kyoto Station and there is a convenience store next to it. It is in a convenient location for shopping. APA Hotel promotes eco activities. The room is designed to be compact. This makes the air conditioner more efficient. In addition, the refrigerator is turned on and off by the user to save electricity. If you cooperate with the no-cleaning of the sheets, you will receive mineral water. Apa Hotel offers original bed mats to make your sleep more comfortable. There are also low and high pillows. There is a public bath on the top floor of the hotel. It is possible to relax in a large bath. If you come to Kyoto, please use this hotel. We look forward to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DipaM wrote a review Aug 2019
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg121 contributions85 helpful votes
This is a business hotel within 5 minute walking distance from Kyoto station - so it's very convenient to go in and out of Kyoto. It's also super easy to get taxis in the area. There are also some great shopping malls nearby and you have access to lots of restaurants inside the Kyoto station area. The room was however the smallest of all my hotel rooms in Japan (which in general has very small hotel rooms).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Thank you for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawa-dori. The hotel is a 6-minute walk from Kyoto Station and is very convenient for transportation. Taxi is also easy to catch. If you wish, the hotel front desk will make a taxi reservation. There are many shops around the hotel, such as AEON MALL, electronics stores, department stores, souvenirs, and restaurants. It is very convenient when you want to purchase Japanese products. APA Hotel rooms are compactly designed. Since there is a room centering on the bed, there is not much free space. Please understand that the structure is eco-conscious. It is a small room, but you can relax. There is also a public bath, so be sure to warm it up in a large bath. If you are looking for an affordable hotel in Kyoto, please come to the hotel. I am waiting for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SomeDudeFromHouston wrote a review Aug 2019
Houston, Texas124 contributions71 helpful votes
One of my best stays in Japan. Walking distance from the train station (trust me, you want that). I did gamble when I booked a hotel with such a low rating, but it paid off. Have not tried the spa, but coin laundry machines where new (it did take 2 hrs to finish washing which included detergent then drying). Next to many convenient stores. I really liked the big screen TV that you can screen cast to it for free.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 4 APA hotels in this area!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 17 Aug 2019
Thank you for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawa-dori. It was our greatest pleasure that you were very pleased. The hotel has a public bath on the 11th floor. There is also a sauna, open-air bath and water bath. In addition, there is a coin laundry on the 11th floor where you can wash clothes. There is no need to bring detergent, it can be fully automatic. There are 5 units in all, but please understand that it is very crowded. The TV is 50-inch and has a mirroring function. You can project and watch videos from your smartphone. There is a convenience store next to our hotel. We have heard from customers that it is very convenient. I think that there is a lot of luggage when traveling from abroad. Depending on the room type, there is a room that can hold a carry case under the bed, so please request it if you wish. If you come to Japan, please stay at this hotel or APA Hotel. I look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yo on wrote a review May 2019
4 contributions3 helpful votes
It's seems like over 130 rooms are facing each other like the picture below. My room was on the highest floor but I could see only beds in other rooms and my bed was visible to others. It's not a hotel but a prison. Staff(Meise?) was incredibly unkind,she seemed to refuse to speak English and didn't inform me about anything that would normally be told at check-in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 16 Jul 2019
Thank you for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawa Dori. There are 516 rooms in the hotel, and a public bath is set on the top floor. The public bath was under renovation until June 13, but it is available now. APA Hotel is a city hotel for short stays. Eco is promoted by designing the rooms to a minimum size and compact. The purpose is to relax and relax around the bed. We were very sorry for the response of our staff. I will instruct you to treat you more kindly. Thank you for pointing out kindly. I am happy to see you again when I come to Kyoto. Thank you for posting while you are busy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DontgoAPA wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution
The room is very dusty and dirty, room cleaning services do not clean up properly and give no attention to the comfort of occupants. Initially, the bed sheet & confortor was stained with blood it was covered with dust. The wall had faded blood stains too right by the bed I sleep in and which I try really hard to ignore. Along the days of accomodation, toilet foot mat, bed sheets, towels are not changed and we need to call them every time to get them changed. Mineral water are often forgotten to be given to each rooms. Furthermore, there were a japanese couple next door that threw things and slammed doors during their fight, this is one of the worst hotel experience so far in my whole life after travelling so often during my stay in different countries. There care towards hospitality is very irresponsible and unprofessional. Please take note not to be tricked by their low price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 6 Apr 2019
Thank you for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawa Dori. The condition of the room is bad and I am sorry to make you feel uncomfortable. We recognize that hygiene control of sheets is important, and we ask that we always check when cleaning. However, it is our fault that we made you feel sorry. Also, the fact that we did not change towels every day also showed that the guidance to the cleaning staff was not well maintained. We put more effort into cleaning and will try to welcome you in better condition. I sincerely apologize. We are working on environmental issues in cleaning. Towels and amenities are changed daily, but sheets are not changed daily. We exchange only once on the 4th, but on the other day we do not change the sheets and just adjust the sheets. By this activity, we avoid the use of a large amount of detergent every day and consider the global environment. Also, if you cooperate further with this initiative, we will present a bottle of mineral water as a thank you. If you want to change the sheets every day, be sure to tell the front desk staff accordingly. And please understand that there are no mineral water presents in that case. We apologize for the noise of the people in the next room. If you are concerned, please let us know so our staff will respond as much as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience. We will make every effort to improve our service by making the most of the advice from our customers. I will continue to work on it so that I can fully relax in a beautiful room. Thank you for posting while you are busy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dmitry K wrote a review Feb 2019
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia40 contributions10 helpful votes
It was February, 2019, when I stopped in this hotel. The hotel is notable for excellent location (about 8-10 minutes of slow walking from Kyoto station) and an onsen at the top floor. The staff at the reception was traditionally affable and spoke absolutely understandable English so my check in / check out procedures went absolutely flawless. The first impression matched my expectations pretty well. Small single bed room typical for 3* Japanese hotels with full set of essential accessories and standard bathroom, quite a big TV-set with limited free local channels and rather narrow writing-table where I could barely accommodate my small laptop. The hotel itself looked not very new but interiors and rooms wasn't worn out at all. WiFi service worked well everywhere in the hotel, I experienced no problems accessing the Internet. Now about some not numerous though a bit annoying problems that I experienced. The soundproof was rather average if not bad. I could hear not only the noise coming from the corridor but also from the neighbouring room right through the wall. Thanks God my neighbours were quiet enough. :-) Despite announced, the cleaning was taking place not between 11am - 1pm, it started much earlier. Another trouble I stumbled upon was high humidity and the condensate coming out on the wall faced out the street. It was due to poor thermo-insulation, I guess, and it's not a big problem unless you place your things near the wall. Be warned if you travel in winter. And last little trouble to be meant was slightly forgetful room staff. They once forgot to leave me a complimentary bottle of water. :-) All in all the hotel was not bad for his value. If you are not searching for an extra comfort and don't want to spend much money - you have my recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, お客様担当マネージャー at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 2 Mar 2019
Thank you for staying at our hotel. The hotel is about 6 minutes on foot from Kyoto Station, so you can easily walk and arrive with big baggage. And since the top floor is on the 11th floor, you can enjoy the scenery in Kyoto where the view is nice. There is a public bath on the 11th floor, and there is sauna and outdoor bath there. Our hotel has English speaking staff. If you can not speak Japanese, you can stay safely. We are making our hotel rooms small. Because it is more environmentally friendly because it can adjust air conditioning more efficiently. And you can operate various things with small movements, making it easy to do something even if you are lying on the bed. In our hotel room, bed, table, TV, various amenities are installed. The table has enough space to hold a laptop computer, so it can be connected to a LAN cable or Free WiFi. Inside the hotel, you can connect to WiFi freely anywhere. Soundproofing in the room may not be enough, but it is made to think about sleep. However, I am very sorry that the cleaning staff did not keep time. We promise to quite quiet when they act. Also, when cooperating with ecology cleaning, we will not forget to give free water as gifts. Condensate of water in the window of the room appears when the temperature is greatly different inside and outside the room. Because humidity is high in Japan, the season is likely to occur in summer and winter. Please be assured that the phenomenon is natural. However, please be careful as it may get wet if you place things near the window. Currently, our hotel is renovating. This construction is due to be completed around July 2019. In the meantime, with the old room and the new room mixed, we are sorry for the inconvenience to our customers. I would be happy if you visit the reborn hotel again. Thank you for writing this report as you might be busy. Let's meet again in Kyoto. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris J wrote a review Aug 2018
Kyoto, Japan67 contributions10 helpful votes
Within walking distance of Kyoto station so it's very convenient. As per most Japanese city hotels in this price range the rooms are tiny, ok for single travellers but no room to move if there are 2 of you with luggage. Despite the limited floor space there's a big bed, 32" flat screen TV, upmarket toiletries and off course a heated toilet seat. There's a spa/big bathroom on the 11th floor if you don't mind going naked with the locals, there's also a washing machine and vending machines as well as a convenience store next door. Good buffet western & Japanese breakfasts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, 担当 at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 7 Dec 2018
This time, thank you very much for staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawa dori>. We would like to thank you for your continued satisfaction of our breakfast buffet during your stay. We have breakfast buffet at our hotel, but we have a good selection of Japanese and international dishes such as Yuba and Yuko Tofu, which are unique to Kyoto. It seems that you could enjoy the outdoor bath in the public bath and I am very happy. I am fortunate if you feel relieved even a little tired of traveling. Moreover, I am sorry truly that I could not be satisfied with the size of the room etc. The hotel's rooms are eco-friendly with consideration for the environment, and we are offering high-quality and high-quality services. We will continue to aim for customers who are more satisfied, and thank you for your continued patronage. Thank you very much for your valuable opinion this time フロント 明瀬
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shamwari1954 wrote a review Aug 2018
Gold Coast, Australia17 contributions
I stayed there three nights From 20th it was great ,close to Kyoto train station. A short walk. But, there is another APA hotel before there Horikawadori. Facilities are good. With Onsen style on roof. Restaurant attached. Seven Eleven right next door. Close to temples and buses to sites further away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, 担当 at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 7 Dec 2018
Thank you very much for always staying at APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawa Matsuri. It was a great honor to have your impression that it was very good. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from Kyoto Station, so we are pleased to use it for business as well as for sightseeing. Also, the public bath is the only APA Hotel in Kyoto, and it is located in the hotel, and people who have been on a business trip or traveling have been very popular. I am glad that I am satisfied with the customer. In case In addition, we would be pleased if we could choose our hotel when coming to Kyoto. We are waiting for your visit from the bottom of my heart. フロント 明瀬
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark G wrote a review Jul 2018
28 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel is clean and the staff are very nice. The rooms are ok but small, however there is no real external light (opening the windows just gives you a view of the opposite wall). The western breakfast is very restricted (the Japanese selection seems a little better).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Global811235, フロント at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Responded 7 Dec 2018
Thank you very much for using APA Hotel Kyoto Station Horikawadori this time. It seems that you are satisfied with this stay and I am very happy. I will continue to work for making a better hotel in the future and thank you for your consideration. Thank you for your contribution during your busy schedule this time. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again. front
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
apa hotel kyoto
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyo-ku / Kyoto Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
516
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Which popular attractions are close to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Nearby attractions include Kyoto Station Building (0.5 km), Aeon Mall Kyoto (0.4 km), and Kyoto Ramen koji (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tajimaya Aeon Mall Kyoto, Kyochabana Minami-Shinmachi, and Kurasu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine (2.8 km), Kiyomizu-dera Temple (3.0 km), and Sanjusangendo Temple (1.7 km).
Is APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.